We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and perfect Newport getaway for two” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarkeston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarkeston
Ranked #39 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Romantic and perfect Newport getaway for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at The Clarkeston Inn for two nights and didn't want to leave on our last morning. We had excellent service the entire time, starting with a confirmation phone call before we arrived, asking if we preferred our room to be on the warmer or cooler side. We arrived to a very warm welcome from Rick, who gave us our choice of two rooms. We chose the General Rochambeau room, which is decorated beautifully and was nice and toasty, especially since we had a space heater provided for our use. Rick was also very helpful in mentioning a few of the best local places to eat, including an Italian restaurant with a special dinner and wine deal for two. The inn is absolutely beautiful, and the location cannot be better. We parked for free behind the inn and basically left our car there the entire time, as the inn is one block away from Thames Street and Bowen's and Banister's Wharves. It can be tough to navigate the many one way streets and find parking in Newport, so it worked perfectly to be able to leave the car at the inn and walk to everything we wanted to see. We paid $10 per person per morning for a fresh, cooked to order hot breakfast, including eggs, pancakes, french toast and sausages. We thought the quality of the food was excellent for the price. We had fresh towels each day and no problems with a lack of hot water, as a previous review mentioned. We stayed at the inn during the week, which is definitely the way to go if possible. There were only two other couples staying in the building with us, so the quiet and the privacy was lovely. Highly recommend this inn, and will definitely be back to stay here again.

Room Tip: Let the staff know ahead of time if you would like a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    24
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in Room#1 - The Doris Duke Room. Strike #1: Basic needs were not met - room was really cold when we first arrived and it took about 3-4 hours for it to warm up after we found the thermostat in the adjacent dining room which was turned down to 59 degrees. Then we discovered that the bathroom heater was broken and it was ice cold in there! We told them about it early the next day and they brought us a space heater later that evening. It was great to have heat in there at least one of the nights. However, the worst thing was that there was no hot water - 1st morning the shower was warm at first and within a few short minutes, turned COLD! My fiance could not take his shower. Second morning we were both able to took quick showers although water was barely warm. Strike #2: My fiance had a sneezing attack while lying on the bed and had to leave the room and walk around outside for awhile. I removed all the pillows and he was fine after that. Strike# 3: The room was next to the dining room and we were woken up at 7:30 am each morning by the clanking of dishes and voices. To add insult to injury, we were not compensated in any way for the inadequacies and actually had to pay $10 a night extra for that room because we wanted to reserve a bigger room with a fireplace! Room was not even bigger! Bed was bigger, but room very small. Breakfast was fine - just your standard breakfast - nothing special, no homemade breads or anything like that...but we also had to pay extra for the breakfast since we bought a groupon which didn't include breakfast. It deserved 1 star but I gave 2 because the woman cooking breakfast was very sweet and Joe at the desk was also nice and brought us over the space heater that he was using before he went home for the night which allowed us to have heat in the bathroom so we would not freeze our XXXes off (literally) the second night. Other pros were that the room was cute and fireplace nice. Location was great - close to shopping and great restaurants. All-in-all, accommodations were the worst we have ever experienced, however we still had a good time just being with each other because we do not get alot of alone-time together so that part was great!

Room Tip: Stay away from Room #1: Doris Duke room
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hedy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewporter, Owner at The Clarkeston, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Our apologies to our guest who arrived to a cold room. We addressed the situation immediately and left only when the radiator was hot and the guest was satisfied. Staff also delivered a portable, electric heater to further warm the bathroom. We were sorry to hear that our guest did not have enough hot water. This is an unusual complaint for us; however, this was the coldest weekend of the year with temperatures in the single digits and a full house. We do not want this to happen again and are considering alternatives for the future.
We wish the guest would have let us know about their sensitivity to the down pillows, as we regularly provide alternative, hypoallergenic pillows upon request.
We generally include a full breakfast in our room rate; however, the guest purchased a special package under groupon. At the guest's option, we offered a full breakfast for $10 which included made-to-order blueberry pancakes, portugese french toast, omelets, sausage, bacon and beverages.
We thank our guest for their review. We are very happy that they found the room and fireplace to their liking, our staff friendly and our location convenient and that they still enjoyed their weekend in Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ct
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We decided to get away for a weekend in Jnauary when we heard the weather would be warm. We have been to Newport numerous times for day trips but decided to try a Bed and Breakfast. The owner, Rick, was very helpful and assured us we could reserve a room with a fireplace. We were glad there were pictures of each room online to check out. We were on the third floor, room 8, and were pleasantly suprised. We like the old creaky floor boards and antiques. The room was clean and even had a flat screen TV which we rarely see in B&B's. The bed was comfortable, furnishings adequate for a short stay, and the private bath and shower were clean. We were fortunate to have two windows in our room where as the other attic room only had one and seemed dark. Our room had a real fireplace and we found a 3 hour log in it which was fine for us. Breakfast, which was included, was excellent. Monica does a superb job preparing it in cramped quarters under the stairwell. I don't know how she does it. I highly recommend her french toast. She also knows the area well and recommended a great sports bar for us to watch the football playoffs.My husband was thrilled! The location of the Clarkeston House is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The B&B itself is on a very quaint and quiet street. Off season there was not a problem with parking or noise in the house but I cannot say what it must be like during the summer.One drawback was there was not a sitting parlor on the main floor or front porch which many B&B's have. I would not recommend a room on the 1st floor as you literally open your door right in to the foyer entrance of the house. Another recommendation for the room we stayed in would be to have a comfy chair or loveseat. We had no place but the bed to sit on but I noticed other rooms did have chairs. I would prefer a fireplace room in the winter over a jacuzzi. Unfortunately, the weather ended up cloudy and rainy but still warm enough to walk around and enjoy beautiful Newport off season. We would consider staying at the Clarkeston again due to the awesome location and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online first before booking. The third floor was very quiet. This B&B would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CtIslandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

First of all, the location is terrific. Just a block away from Thames Blvd, so no need to use the car for in town entertainment. This B&B is a historic house and one of a group called The Inns of Newport. Check in for the Clarkeston is across the street at the Cleveland House. Checking in takes place in the entry hall and was chaotic when we were there. Four other guests were trying to check in and the two ladies working for the inns were having a hard time keeping it orderly. Maybe a desk or a dedicated check in room would be a lot better. We were given the keys told the time for breakfast and sent on our way. No one showed us to our room or explained any amenities. Mostly because there aren't any. The web site lists a special for the room and dinner. They need to remove that. They don't do it and the explanation why was very confusing.
We had a room on the third floor that was charming because the house is so old (it's listed on the walking tour sign down on the street) But the furnishings were just old and dusty. (I could write a message in the dust!) Our room consisted of a Queen bed, very flat pillows, small tv, armoire, with 4 hangers left over from previous guests, one chair and a tiny bathroom. The bed had two bedside tables and lamps. I had to ask for an iron and the woman who brought it up was a little annoyed that I also needed an ironing board, rather that use the bed like she suggested. Also, getting ice every night was a hassle. Why couldn't they just have an ice maker in the building and ice buckets in the rooms? And real glasses instead of wrapped plastic cups? Bathroom was tiny, barely enough room for turning around and the shower stall could use some Tilex. It did have two shower heads, which was nice, but odd. Towels and bath products were good quality. The window ac was pretty quiet, but windows are nailed shut, so no chance for fresh air.
There is a parking lot behind the inn, but spaces are tight, as was evident when we checked out and noticed a big ding in our door from the car that had been parked next to us. Don't bring your large SUV or van or you'll have a heck of a time getting in and out. Breakfast was very nice. Although, there is a sign up sheet that we weren't told about at check in. The breakfast room has four tables and sign ups begin at 8:00 until 10:30. The young lady serving was doing a very good job, considering all the running around she had to do. Kudos to her. Every morning there was a fruit bowl, english muffins, toast, jelly, oj, tea and coffee. If you want decaf you need to indicate it on the sign up sheet. There are choices of hot items also. Blueberry or plain pancakes, eggs any way, french toast, bacon and sausage. As much as you want and in any combination.
I don't know if I'd recommend this inn. Maybe a room on the first or second floor?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our stay at the Clarkeston was pretty Good. When we first got there we were sent to a room that was actually occupied so they might have felt embarrassed and offered us a free upgrade, what was not bad at all.
The b&b is perfectly located, within a walking distance for everything (except the beaches) and they also offer you free parking in one of their lots, what is pretty convenient as well.
The breakfast was excellent, they give a little menu with some options of eggs, pancakes... All really good.
Id would recommend staying here, the price is far as you are in Newport.

Room Tip: Avoid the last one of their houses at the end of the street if in summer, the conditioner is central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrebrazil15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Been there from july 9 to 12. We stayed at the Clarkeston on Clarke street. Perfect place to stay. Situated near the Eisenhower Park, everything is a walking distance from the Inn (shops, restaurants, activities). Rick Farrick and his staff are wonderful. Discreet, attentional, and friendly.

The room we stayed in was amazing. Spotless from ceiling to floor. Air conditioned, decorated with vintage furniture, it is beautiful. Included breakfast is a must to start the day (served, made to order in a pretty dinning room). The owner has four (4) buildings on the same street that offer the same amenities except for the dining room( if i'm correct).

They are called Inns of Newport (innsofnewport.com).

Free parking is available either in the back or on the side of the buildings (very convenient).
In our opinion, this one is the nicest of the four buildings. Feel free to write us to know more about our stay in Newport and the Clarkeston..

See pictures.

Room Tip: Ask for the Belmont Room.. the best of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fushi246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I just had an amazing time at the Clarkeston on June 25, 2012. The staff were very friendly and accommodating- we got a free room upgrade to the Harry Belmont room. The room has the Newport charm we love, dark green walls, king size sleigh bed, antique mirror, etc but modern conveniences like a window A/C (which did a nice job) and large jacuzzi tub. The room was clean, bright (with the shades up) and welcoming. The bed and pillows were surprisingly comfortable and I enjoyed a nice hot bath which never happens at home! The location is also perfect- Clarke St is part of the historic district and is right next to Washington Square (although the street sign was missing it was a right turn following the Pickens theater). And the breakfast in the morning was great!! There was coffee, orange juice, fruit and other items available right away but you could also order from a small menu. I had the french toast and bacon and my husband had the veggie omelet and sausage all of which were delicious. The dining room is small and cozy and we had really nice conversation with some other people staying at the inn. We parked when we checked in and walked all over downtown until it was time to check out. The owner Rick also let us park there past check out so we could continue to enjoy our trip. The Clarkeston is less than a 5 minute walk to shops, bars and restaurants which was a lot of fun since it was our first overnight without the kids in a long time. We really love history and old architecture and enjoyed walking around the back streets. The Clarkeston is across the street from an Artillery museum that is only open certain days of the week so we were unable to check it out this trip but we were able to visit the Newport historical society museum which was just a few walking minutes away. We will definitely stay here again but I would like to stay for more days next time and we will also bring our kids :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#43 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Admiral Farragut Inn
Admiral Farragut Inn
#74 of 95 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melville House
Melville House
#71 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarkeston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarkeston

Property: The Clarkeston
Address: 28 Clarke St., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarkeston 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarkeston is located in the heart of the historic district in Newport. The building housing the inn is over 300 years old with many of the original wide board floors and latching doors. The property was fully restored in 1993, keeping the colonial feel with working fireplaces but adding modern amenities including jacuzzi tubs and fine linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarkeston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarkeston Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing