We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"So charming and cozy3”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardenview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"So charming and cozy3”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed there for two nights and it was great. The room is big and very comfortable. The place is so quiet and we enjoyed the sound of the birds in the morning!Mary was such a great hostess and we loved the breakfast she cooked. Her house is very well located in fact as close to the cliff walk and the mansions. Also by car it is a 5-10mn drive to the city center. It was my boyfriend's birthday gift and he loved it so much!
If we were to come back to Newport, we will definitly come back at this B&B. Merci for everything and a big hug to Fitsy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIE et BEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Sun-Lite Suite and enjoyed it very much. The room is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The inn is located in a residential section of town, so it is quiet. It is also a ten to fiteen minute walk to Thames Street, Cliff Walk and many restaurants. Mary the owner is very nice and accomodating, and prepared great breakfasts.

This is a very good choice if you are looking for a quiet B&B in a residential setting, away from the noise of downtown but close enough to walk to most everything you want to do in Newport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it! Mary was a great hostess, made us feel like home from the second we got there. The food was delicious and homemade!! We had everything we needed! We left our car at the city hall one night (after a wedding and a few drinks), and she offered to take us to pick it up the following morning!! The hospitality was just amazing!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gardenview B&B for two nights and had a great experience there. The host, Mary, was an absolute doll: warm, accomodating, and a great cook! We stayed in what Mary described as the "smaller" room, but the room was quite large, with a very comfortable mattress, en suite bathroom and access to the garden. The house is located near town -- a nice walk or a very short drive away.

We looked at many B&Bs in Newport and many of them are fairly expensive. The Gardenview was significantly less than the others we looked at and was just as nice or nicer than the others. And Mary is just a wonderful host, she really makes you feel right at home. Plus, she is a fantastic cook. Each morning she served homebaked scones, homemade granola and fruit. For the first morning, she served delcicious strawberry pancakes. For the second, the best french toast I have ever had.

This is truly a great place to stay in Newport and a total bargain. Thanks for everything, Mary!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zack g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five nights while we were on vacation in Newport and it was lovely. Great to be so close to the major attractions but still removed in a residential setting. We could walk or bike everywhere, beaches, mansions, downtown and still come back to our peaceful room at night. And, a huge plus which was a very pleasant surprise, there are tennis courts right around the corner in a beautiful park. The innkeeper, Mary, is an absolute sweetheart. And, she makes delicious breakfasts every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This sweet little B & B is located within walking distance of most of Newport's attractions. It's very quiet, has a lovely backyard garden that both rooms have views of, and best of all the innkeeper, Mary, has the heart of a true hostess and is so helpful and accommodating! She made our time there extra special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyChunkaMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed our second stay at Gardenview and plan to return. The location is great - near the village, mansions and beach. The rooms are elegant yet comfortable. The innkeeper makes you feel like family. Breakfasts are amazing!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy23r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Middletown
Comfort Inn Middletown
#14 of 18 in Middletown
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Samuel Durfee House
Samuel Durfee House
#11 of 95 in Newport
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#6 of 95 in Newport
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
1.5 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gardenview Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Binney St., Newport, RI 02840-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing