We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A tiny home amidst gigantic mansions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardenview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardenview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A tiny home amidst gigantic mansions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room, first floor, with easy access to a beautiful backyard garden with picnic table, chairs, fountains and many birds, singing sweetly. Our queen bed was comfortable and our small bathroom very adequate. The sitting room between our sleeping room and the kitchen/dining area was stocked with useful tourist information and free "serve yourself" coffee and tea. Breakfast was cooked for us, based on the owner's menu--for us, a warm, syrupy thick french toast on day 1, thick griddle cakes on day 2, and bacon and eggs on day 3. Each day we had freshly squeezed orange juice and homemade chocolate chip scones as well. There is a second floor room with king bed and more spacious accomodations. Gardenview is near the end of the Newport peninsula, very close to Bellevue Ave and the mansions and not far from Gooseberry Beach and Ft. Adams. Its an easy bike ride to town. We were there in early spring and a magnolia bloomed in the front with cherry trees ablaze all around town. Traffic this time of year is scant. We were able to get around and visit all of the sights. In fact, we were probably early, as the tourist season seems to begin closer to Memorial Day (May 31) at which time the Gardenview's owner will be done with her school teaching and more available to help out with guests. Nevertheless, we had a very good time and loved the location and our accommodations.

Room Tip: 1st floor Garden view room has a queen and access to the lovely garden. 2nd floor room has a king b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed there for two nights and it was great. The room is big and very comfortable. The place is so quiet and we enjoyed the sound of the birds in the morning!Mary was such a great hostess and we loved the breakfast she cooked. Her house is very well located in fact as close to the cliff walk and the mansions. Also by car it is a 5-10mn drive to the city center. It was my boyfriend's birthday gift and he loved it so much!
If we were to come back to Newport, we will definitly come back at this B&B. Merci for everything and a big hug to Fitsy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIE et BEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Sun-Lite Suite and enjoyed it very much. The room is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The inn is located in a residential section of town, so it is quiet. It is also a ten to fiteen minute walk to Thames Street, Cliff Walk and many restaurants. Mary the owner is very nice and accomodating, and prepared great breakfasts.

This is a very good choice if you are looking for a quiet B&B in a residential setting, away from the noise of downtown but close enough to walk to most everything you want to do in Newport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it! Mary was a great hostess, made us feel like home from the second we got there. The food was delicious and homemade!! We had everything we needed! We left our car at the city hall one night (after a wedding and a few drinks), and she offered to take us to pick it up the following morning!! The hospitality was just amazing!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gardenview B&B for two nights and had a great experience there. The host, Mary, was an absolute doll: warm, accomodating, and a great cook! We stayed in what Mary described as the "smaller" room, but the room was quite large, with a very comfortable mattress, en suite bathroom and access to the garden. The house is located near town -- a nice walk or a very short drive away.

We looked at many B&Bs in Newport and many of them are fairly expensive. The Gardenview was significantly less than the others we looked at and was just as nice or nicer than the others. And Mary is just a wonderful host, she really makes you feel right at home. Plus, she is a fantastic cook. Each morning she served homebaked scones, homemade granola and fruit. For the first morning, she served delcicious strawberry pancakes. For the second, the best french toast I have ever had.

This is truly a great place to stay in Newport and a total bargain. Thanks for everything, Mary!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zack g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five nights while we were on vacation in Newport and it was lovely. Great to be so close to the major attractions but still removed in a residential setting. We could walk or bike everywhere, beaches, mansions, downtown and still come back to our peaceful room at night. And, a huge plus which was a very pleasant surprise, there are tennis courts right around the corner in a beautiful park. The innkeeper, Mary, is an absolute sweetheart. And, she makes delicious breakfasts every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This sweet little B & B is located within walking distance of most of Newport's attractions. It's very quiet, has a lovely backyard garden that both rooms have views of, and best of all the innkeeper, Mary, has the heart of a true hostess and is so helpful and accommodating! She made our time there extra special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyChunkaMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Hawthorne House of Newport
Hawthorne House of Newport
#53 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#1 of 7 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.0 mi away
Samuel Durfee House
Samuel Durfee House
#14 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#34 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gardenview Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Binney St, Newport, RI 02840-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing