We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but just an average place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fair Street Guest House
Ranked #32 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location but just an average place to stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at this property for one night in June 2014. The first thing that I would like to mention is that there are actually two buildings under the same management located next to each other. I made the reservation for Fair Street Guesthouse but was given a room at the Fair Street Inn. I am not sure if there is any difference in quality.
Location is excellent, in the middle of everything in Newport. Also, a positive was the free parking on the property. However, the room was not so great. The bathroom was really tiny, the walls were paper thin and you could hear everything, the carpet in our room was in dire need of a vacuum cleaning and the staff was not particularly friendly. Breakfast options were decent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acostin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    44
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
120
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Went for an overnighter in Newport. Loved the location of the inn. The room was great...much bigger than anticipated. The bathroom was a nice size also. Excellent shower and bath gels. Breakfast was perfect. Loved sitting outside sipping my morning coffee watching the town wake up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyjude344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The rooms are well kept although the shower was a wee bit small.
The breakfast was very good and the owner very friendly. We would definately stay here again.
The location is very central and perect as a base for exploring a fantastic area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epphorspath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a great place to stay. The location is amazing! Less than 5 min walk to the water and in the middle of great shops and restaurants but on a side street so it's quiet at night. The rooms were clean and a good size and Denise was very accommodating and helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My first experience with a B&B could not have been placed in better hands. The room was cozy and clean, and the overall facilities were well kept reflecting upon the historic age of the structure. Attention to details and upkeep are routine and punctual. Felt like being part of one big family. The location in downtown, historic Newport was very good ... within easy distance to all things necessary and desirable ... 100 or so yards from the church where JFK & Jackie were married and a particularly invigorating trek to and through the "Cliff Walk" ... especially for those that employ "power walks" as a means of exercise. Perfect spot for a couple, and particularly well positioned for international travelers coming to Newport for the 2015 Volvo Ocean Race ... Book this place soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, walk to anywhere in town. Clean room, great value for price. Very pretty historical home. Denise was so helpful with tips about the neighborhood. Woke up each morning to the smell of breakfast cooking.... she made the best eggs:) Like staying at a friend's house.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you have the chance to stay here when you come to Newport, you should. It's a real gem of a place. The B&B consists of two houses dating back to the late 19th century, and furnished with a range of fabulous period pieces. We stayed in the ground floor at No 20, and our room is accessed via a small sitting room, which for the time we were there was effectively our private sitting area. unusually, we also had access to a fully functional kitchen on the first floor. Denise the hostess is a great cook, and very welcoming. The room was a little small, especially the bathroom, but I can happily forgive that in this price bracket. Add to the fact that it's a 50yd stagger from Thames St. so could not be better placed. Definitely NOT an average B&B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#77 of 95 in Newport
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#7 of 95 in Newport
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 95 in Newport
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 95 in Newport
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Street Guest House

Property: Fair Street Guest House
Address: 20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fair Street Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fair Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Street Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing