We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Chart House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chart House Inn
Ranked #39 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My fiance (now husband) and I stayed at the Chart House Inn over Memorial Day weekend this year. Had a great stay! The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the location couldn't be beat! The Inn Keeper was lovely - very friendly and made us feel like we were at home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2travelNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

The location of the Chart House Inn is excellent, within short walking distance to the main parts of town. The innkeeper was very friendly and accommodating to our little dog. We got the room in the front which was quite nice. The front lobby / living room downstairs is nice too.
Bathrooms are a bit run down but they are kept clean and we had room service every day. For a B&B this was a lovely experience, will come again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked this Inn for 2 nights. Rooms small and basic. Unpleasant smell in one room. Building in poor condition. Some areas of Inn unkept and dirty. We were mislead by good reviews which did not match our experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ALANDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I don't think you can go wrong here. Comfortable clean lodging, lovely relaxed and welcoming host, pet friendly, great location easily walkable to wharf attractions, free parking (not to be underestimated in this town), charming historic street... I've come to Newport year after year and this gets chalked up as a great find that I heartily recommend to others. My girlfriend and I loved it.

Room Tip: Room #1 is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snichonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chart House Inn for one night in August while passing through Newport. The Inn is in a beautiful, quiet street while still walking distance to all the restaurants and attractions Newport has to offer. Our twin room, while small, was very clean and comfortable, as was our bathroom. Margaret was a lovely host who gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and provided us with a delicious spread for breakfast. Excellent value for money also. Thanks Margaret.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This straightforward B&B is perfect for folks seeking an affordable spot with good atmosphere in the heart of Newport. Location is a quick walk to the harbor and around the corner from great restaurants, bars and shops on Thames Street. Parking is free and part of the property. Margaret, the innkeeper is terrific and prepares a fresh Continental breakfast daily. Rooms are quaint and tasteful. Our bath was in need of an update. The main rooms on the lower level are inviting and we had a good time time chatting with Margaret and other guests. (There are some stairs and an adorable cat, so I would not recommend for those with pet allergies or those who are mobility impaired.) For us, it was great!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank tiggermyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My mother and I recently stayed at this inn for one night. The central downtown location couldn't be better and our hostess/innkeeper was very attentive to guests' needs from proving water bottles to restaurant recommendations. We parked the car in the inn's lot and were able to walk to our destinations.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#31 of 95 in Newport
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Beach Inn
Old Beach Inn
#47 of 95 in Newport
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.0 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#48 of 95 in Newport
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#33 of 95 in Newport
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chart House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart House Inn

Address: 16 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £145 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chart House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chart House Inn is a nautically inspired, Queen Anne inn built in 1880 as a men's boarding house. The inn is surrounded by historic homes, churches, parks and museums and is just a few blocks from Thames Street and the waterfront. The Inn's eight uniquly appointed bedrooms with private baths accommodate up to sixteen guests. All guest rooms and Suites are furnished with air conditioner and have private bathrooms en suite, or across the hall, for your comfort. Our Suites include a sitting area with cable TV and fully stocked kitchenettes with mini-frig and coffee maker. The Chart House specializes in whole house rentals for families, weddings, boat crews, reunions and business retreats. Single night and extended stay reservations are welcome. Guests relax in our gracious Living Room with leather sofa, club chairs and cable TV, our charming parlor room with gas fireplace, our two front porches overlooking scenic Clarke Street, or in our outdoor grill area. A Continental breakfast is offered to all guests each morning in our spacious dining room. Free Wi-Fi, free parking, pet-friendly and smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Chart House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing