We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OceanCliff Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$452
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$489
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$436
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$622
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$408
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
62
30
21
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
30
21
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean cliffsafari roomnarragansett bayporch overlooking the waterdaughter's weddingbed mattressevent staffwedding venuecontinental breakfasthotel is beautifulmy husband and itimeshareguestscondocotmicrowavelawn
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here for a wedding, and it was wonderful to be able to stay at the hotel where the wedding was held. Our room, however, was very small, and looked out over the parking lot. We had to keep shutters closed so that people couldn't look right in. The price of $181 seemed unreasonable, especially for off season. We could have paid $79 for a place 10 minutes away. I would think they would offer special rates when an event takes up the entire place, but they seem to take advantage of the captive audience. The area is beautiful and the event was lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marathongirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Oceancliff; is a great hotel to experiance the charm of oceanfront "cottage" life of Newport of old.
Close to park and ocean walk. Hotel has the feel of a manor home as opposed to a chain hotel.

A short drive or bike ride from the hustle and bustle of downtown newport

Room Tip: If you want to be close to but not in the center of Newport this is the hotel for you You feel as if your returning to your "cottage" as opposed to a hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teddie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Superb staff starting with our meetings with Jim Maher who went out of his way to make every detail of our daughter's wedding spectacular, it then continued with the outstanding care and organizational skills provided by Kym and the catering staff. I can not say enough about the unbelievable service provided by the Ocean Cliff staff.
Perfect setting for a wedding, ocean views, cool breezes, fantastic food and service. One could not ask for a better place. The day was then topped off with a beautiful sunset cruise on the Schooner Aurora (though as expected in October you need to prepare for the cold). However, the crew and the momentum of our guests gave us warmth!. If you are looking for the best venue EVER! to host your wedding, stop looking any further, This venue delivered beyond our expectations. Every detail handled by an expert staff that catered to all our needs, and then some. Even what I forgot, they didn't! Perfect in every way. You want the wow factor? Then book your wedding at Oceancliff. And, one more thing we chose the Gold menu and our guests couldn't stop talking about the quality and presentation and service. Thank you so much Ocean Cliff for making Lauren's dream come true!!!! LC Rhode Island

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The hotel part of Oceancliff was a big disappointment. The room has no thermastat control. Went down stairs to complain as the room was like a sauna. Then, realized the walls are paper thin; heard more from the adjoining rooms then I cared too! The noise from the wedding that went on until 12:00 wasn't conducive to getting any sleep. Then finally, the wedding ended and thought ok, people will clear and I can sleep without the place rocking. NO, not to be. For some reason people were allowed to hoop it up in the lobby which sounded like they were in the hall. They were screaming and laughing so loud it would wake Rip Vanwinkle! Seriously it went on for an hour...don't understand why security let that happen. The breakfast in the Safari room was very ample for a continental. Food was also fresh and tasteful. Lots of choices. I love the experience of being in Newport, but won't stay there again especially if I'm looking for some peace and quiet. Everything else about the day was perfect, but the overnight stay was a nightmare.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the second floor as it is right over the ballroom for receptions which are frequent due to the beauty of the sight. And, of course the service is impeccable if you are hosting a wedding or attending a wedding.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LindaC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

A week before our trip we made a reservation, one night on our return trip from a wedding we attended in NH. We asked if there would be a wedding there that evening (a sunday) the reply was NO. Well there was indeed a wedding that evening. The band blasted until after 11Pm. We called the front desk to change our room, only other room available was the 3rd floor with a shared bath...not an option! We also requested an ocean view, our room had a view of a very dirty tar roof and partial view if the bay. The window was filthy dirty, big spider built an impressive web in it. the room was very hot, no AC control in the room. We had to open the window that did not have any screens, I had hoped that spider stayed on the other side of the window. Bed was very uncomfortable, hallway very noisy with wedding guests returning to their rooms. Coffee maker did not work and a previous guest left us crumbs and sesame seeds on the glass top desk. Guess the maid forgot to clean that part of the room. Bath towels are large and soft, only the one I used after my shower was full of sand, hmmmm what was that about? Had to re-shower and hope the second towel was clean. Upon checkout we did speak to the manager who was very apologetic and refunded the $300.00 per night charge. This is a beautiful 5 star resort but I would only give it 1 star on this trip, made our romantic get away a bust!!

Room Tip: Ask for full ocean view (not half with a ugly tar roof) Private bath (with a tub and shower) If a wedding is booked for that weekend expect allot of noise!! swimming pool is out of commission
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews