We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice long weekend...”
Review of OceanCliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
OceanCliff Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice long weekend...”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days over the Memorial Day holiday The location and views are really wonderful. Grab a bottle of wine and watch the sunset from the patio for a real treat. We stayed in a 1 bedroom / 2 bath unit on the first floor which was spacious and well appointed. We liked the fireplace...but the main asset was the view of the bay. The biggest negative was that the pool and hot tub were not big enough for the number of guests and that there was no adult section...so we couldn't use any of the amenities...who wants to sit in a hot tub crowded with young kids? ...not a relaxing idea...for that reason alone, I would most likly not go back, but over all it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthompsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    25
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
35
33
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We got a 1BR suite which included a kitchen, and pull-out couches to sleep 6, and it was amazing. Well-priced, beautiful view, kitchen had utensils and everything you might need, and a porch overlooking the water.

Booked it as a weekend instead of as a timeshare, and while it's a bit far out (3mi or so from town) there is a courtesy shuttle to get you into town, and cabs from town are about $10, which is not bad at all.

Very comfortable.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BCNY100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This was a birthday weekend for myself, along with my husband. The units are beautiful!! Very nicely decorated and roomy. The views are out of this world, watching the sailboats sail by and the rolling hills. The fact that they had a shuttle to town was just an nice extra. Would and will be back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I spend 2 weeks a year in June & September at Oceancliff. With the recent update of all of the units combined with the lawn rolling towards Narragansett Bay and Jamestown in the background, you will find Oceancliff to be very welcoming. Brenton Point State Park with views of the open Atlantic is just a fifteen minute walk which also takes you past the Coast Guard Station and Castle Hill Resort(you can see and hear the weddings from Oceancliff's lawn). The beautiful Mansions of Bellvue Avenue are a ten minute drive from Oceancliff. Oceancliff also has a laundry facility on site for longer visits, indoor pool and hot tub with an outside deck to enjoy your evening cocktail. You must visit the Oceancliff Restaurant in the mansion/hotel which is the centerpiece of the property and formerly belonged to Woolworth heiress Barbara Hutton. Superb food, great views, and Sunday afternooon Jazz. Put this on your list for your next vacation.

Room Tip: The Tower Units offer the best views. These are townhouse style units that have an upstairs master b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Oceancliff resort is beautiful from the outside and has some lovely parts inside. The views are spectacular and the common areas and the restaurant are quite classy and cozy. The issues I had were with the rooms themselves. I was there on business and so several colleagues were staying at the resort as well. Two of us had rooms next to each other and it was a shock when I realized I could hear every single word that was being spoken in my colleague's room, even when spoken at a normal voice. More disturbing was the fact that there seemed to be no middle ground in the heating of the rooms. My room was either so hot that I couldn't breathe (like a furnace) or freezing. I felt bad that I had to keep calling the front desk to turn the heat on and off, but apparently there is no middle ground. It might be a better property to stay at in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurGalVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here for a wedding, and it was wonderful to be able to stay at the hotel where the wedding was held. Our room, however, was very small, and looked out over the parking lot. We had to keep shutters closed so that people couldn't look right in. The price of $181 seemed unreasonable, especially for off season. We could have paid $79 for a place 10 minutes away. I would think they would offer special rates when an event takes up the entire place, but they seem to take advantage of the captive audience. The area is beautiful and the event was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marathongirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Lakes, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Oceancliff; is a great hotel to experiance the charm of oceanfront "cottage" life of Newport of old.
Close to park and ocean walk. Hotel has the feel of a manor home as opposed to a chain hotel.

A short drive or bike ride from the hustle and bustle of downtown newport

Room Tip: If you want to be close to but not in the center of Newport this is the hotel for you You feel as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
3.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanCliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanCliff Hotel

Property: OceanCliff Hotel
Address: 65 Ridge Rd, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — OceanCliff Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanCliff Resort was designed and built in 1864 by the architectural firm Peabody & Stearns from Boston who designed the original Breakers and Doris Duke's Rough Point both located on elegant Bellevue Avenue. A wealthy industrialist and member of Mrs. Astor's 400 Club originally used OceanCliff as a private summer residence during the Gilded Age. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954, when it was sold and later converted into an oceanfront retreat to host lavish parties and society affairs. Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure meticulous attention to every detail of your stay. Twenty-four distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views. OceanCliff's grand ballroom accommodates from 75-250 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings. Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options. OceanCliff is located on historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your OceanCliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceancliff Hotel Newport
Ocean Cliff Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing