We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit every year especiallyto hear JAVA JIVE !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OceanCliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OceanCliff Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Visit every year especiallyto hear JAVA JIVE !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

For the past several years our extended family of four generations have visited this hotel to see and enjoy the band JAVA JIVE !! We spend this entire Monday in the middle of July dancing, singing, eating and drinking while enjoying the ambiance of the Safari outdoor patio, bar and dance floor with the magnificent view of Newport harbor! This year I have tried to contact this hotel and restaurant several times. They have had many excuses for the manager who is never available to come to the phone. I am told that it is rumored that they will have jazz bands there this summer. I am wishing I could contact someone at the hotel to ask if JAVA JIVE will be there? What a dissapointment it will be if they are not ! Hopefully this hotel is not making changes that effect the hiring of this awesome entertainment! Unfortunatly they are not being straight forward and honest about their summer schedule and I question what will happen to their business because of this? We are not going to book here again until we get an answer. They are losing alot of business with our family!

  • Liked — The entertainment
  • Disliked — It would now have to be managment
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdkj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    24
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
36
33
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

We just got married at Oceancliff, it is so beautiful there. the ceremony outside was breathtaking. the location is so stunning, the service and staff is excellent, and the lobster was amazing. I think that the guests were so impressed by the fabulous venue. Oceancliff keep up the good work.
YOu made our special day so wonderful , i can't thank you enough.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruxton, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

We were extremely pleased by our President's weekend stay in Oceancliff I - the timeshare rentals of the Oceancliff resort. Our one bedroom suite had a nice pullout bed in the living room and was spacious enough for two couples. We had a beautiful view of the water and "Castle on the Hill" was directly in front of us.. Our newly refurbished room had tasteful furniture, a gas fireplace that really put out some heat (and we had cold weather the first night and fog) and a flat screen TV. It had a nice round dining table for four.. and a kitchen area with full refrigerator, cabinets with china and silverware for four... a two burner stove, coffee maker and plenty of cabinet space. There was a huge double closet in the Master bedroom another TV and two full baths (new) one with a nice sit down shower and the other with a jacuzzi tub (for one). It was a great unit. The kitchen was a little dark.. with a flourescent light under the counter and a microwave light, but we managed well enough. New carpeting and a coat closet in the living room just inside the door made the unit - just perfect. We hear it is really booked solid in the summer and we can see why! They are still rennovating other units but we were lucky enough to get a new one. And the view - of the Naragansett Bay (I think) was breathtaking from the large bay window with creamy striped roman shades and a door leading out to a small wooden balcony (with seats and a table for enjoying spring/summer evenings) Lovely decor, great amenities, clean as a whistle.. very nice stay! It is a 10 minute drive from town and very peaceful at this time of year.. there is a indoor pool as well and very nice grounds to walk around.. great place.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SailorII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

I booked my wedding at OceanCliff in January of 2007 for October of 2008. Unfortunately, my fiance and I were forced to relocate due to his job and had to cancel our wedding there due to a four hour drive. OceanCliff REFUSED to refund our deposit of $2500 even with a 15 month notice. Best of all, I was told I could not have the owner's name to contact him/her to request a refund because it was "against company policy". This is a beautiful location for a wedding, but beware of their shoddy business practices!!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful location/view
  • Disliked — Terrible business practices
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank upsetbride59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

I can't say enough about the OcenCliff. It was a last minute reservation for myself, my wife and our 12 year old son, and we received an upgraded room, without asking, and also a foldout bed, without asking.....so a $275/night room for only $165..

It is basically a castle, and our room was fantastic. the location is only about 10min from downtown, and the same from the mansions. The only issue was they only have wireless in the library....no biggy... We will return here EVERY YEAR..

Do not confuse this with the OceanCliff timeshares....completely seperate....Also, the staff was an amazing asset to OceanCliff Thanks Jennifer!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Justafitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranquility, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2007

My husband and I have been returning to the "Oceancliff" in Newport for nearly thirty years. We go as far back with this Inn to when it was called "Shamrock Cliffs." At that time, the main house and gate house were the only buildings on the property, and the pool was operational. We have seen owners and management teams come and go. We hated when they built the time share units; we were spoiled by the way it was without them, but our love for the place has kept us coming back. I have read mixed reviews about the Oceancliff, but I can honestly say that my husband and I have never experienced anything other than a wonderful stay. The rooms are spotless, the views and grounds are beautiful, and although the continental breakfast can be upgraded a bit, we have always enjoyed other meals we have had here, especially lunch outside on the patio. You can't beat the ambiance. (I must mention that we are in the restaurant business, and are very fussy.)
I would like to share with you what occurred on our last visit. This is what makes a great inn:
We last visited in September of 2006. My husband had to go home a day early and my daughter (8) and I stayed for an extra day, just the two of us. We were the only guests in the hotel. It was like the place was ours. Late that afternoon, while in my room, I became seriously ill. I felt I might be in need of an ambulance. My daughter was very scared. I told her to call the front desk for help. The staff arrived immediately. They could not do enough to take care of me and my daughter. Any request I had, they happily obliged. I ended up not needing the ambulance, but was sick for the next few hours. I could not tend to my daughter. I am the type of mom that never lets my daughter out of my sight, and felt I was at the mercy of the hotel staff. They went out of their way to help me and my daughter during that time. One of the female employees gained my trust and took my daughter to the kitchen, made a meal made for her, and kept her company the whole time. I was far away from home, without my husband, horribly ill, and in need of assistance. The staff made all the difference in how the experience turned out. We continue to love the Oceancliff and plan to return regularly for the next thirty years!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2006

We traded ino this resort through our timeshare program. Compared to other timeshare condominiums, this one is resting on it's location alone. Our one bedroom , 2 bath unit was spacious enough and faced the water, however was dingy and dreary in appearance. Carpeting was stained, appliances are old, doors stick. The aged mini blinds provide the only window covering. Paint peeling--overall shabby and depressing feel. We were here18 years ago when it was well kept. Very disappointing to see that it has not retained the previously high standard.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank NJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanCliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanCliff Hotel

Property: OceanCliff Hotel
Address: 65 Ridge Rd, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — OceanCliff Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanCliff Resort was designed and built in 1864 by the architectural firm Peabody & Stearns from Boston who designed the original Breakers and Doris Duke's Rough Point both located on elegant Bellevue Avenue. A wealthy industrialist and member of Mrs. Astor's 400 Club originally used OceanCliff as a private summer residence during the Gilded Age. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954, when it was sold and later converted into an oceanfront retreat to host lavish parties and society affairs. Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure meticulous attention to every detail of your stay. Twenty-four distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views. OceanCliff's grand ballroom accommodates from 75-250 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings. Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options. OceanCliff is located on historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your OceanCliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceancliff Hotel Newport
Ocean Cliff Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing