We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Way to Celebrate the New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newport
dree
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Way to Celebrate the New Year”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a wonderful way to usher in the New Year at the Newport Bay Club. Loved our room, especially separate living room area with kitchenette. The views off the two balconies were spectacular. The balcony off the living room area gave great views of the city by the sea and the ocean. Although it was very cold, i can just imagine how beautiful in the warmer weather. There is another balcony upstairs outside the bedroom. Beautiful sunset. Room included continental breakfast which was convenient not to have to leave in the morning. Location is perfect for walking, and the added bonus of a parking spot in Newport is great. We lunched at the famous Brick Ally Pub, visited the mansions, and on New Years Eve had a wonderful time at Newport Playhouse including dinner, play and Cabernet. Snow covered Newport is simply magical and I would imagine a stay at Newport Bay Club in Spring or Summer would be perfect. Only downside is there is a spiral stairway to upstairs sleep area that could be a challenge to some guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dree49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    107
    32
    29
    24
See reviews for
60
136
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend and found this hotel very comfortable and inviting. Large rooms with a ton of space. We usually stay in an inn or B&B when in town but I will definitely check here first. Everything from restaurants to bars to coffee shops are all within a short ,short walk. The off street parking is KEY. It gets full on the weekends though but just talk to the front desk and they will help you out.
We had a great experience here and will be back.

Room Tip: Depending on how you book, ask what rooms are available and if you can upgrade when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinnamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My wife and I were at this hotel from Feb 28-March 01, 2013. We were celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary. The hotel is located in the middle of downtown Newport and right in the middle of all the shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are also gorgeous and spacious. The rooms and all the facilities are very clean. The service by all the people that work at the hotel was excellent, especially the front desk staff. One of the front desk staff, Ramona, went out of her way and made reservations for us at a dancing place, who did not charge us anything because of Ramona's phone call. Ramona, thank you so much for your excellent service. We recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning a trip to Newport, RI.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

You don't get any better of a hotel location in Newport. This is right in the middle of all the action -- great shopping, dining, and sites. We have stayed here multiple weeks over the last 5 years and only on a couple occasions had any issue with the noise. We have young kids and it still hasn't been any problem, but YES you will hear it a bit and young adults don't always behave well and Newport as a whole has lots of them supporting their nightlife. Our rooms are always very comfortable and clean. This is not a Ritz-Carlton, but for location and price it is tremendous value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmydogsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Loud noise from the bands playing in the basement level Rhino bar permeate the upper floors om Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. The noise continued until 2 AM with the band members packing, and the vdeparting bar customers yelling out on the street. The Front Desk and Security were ineffective and did nothing to elliminate or quiet the situation. In addition, the hallways and back stairway to the parking lot smelled of rotting food from the Rhino bar kitchen or dumpster.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rbaker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winter Park, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We wandered into this property without a reservation, paid for one night, but had to stay longer! It's a hotel condo and some of the owners put their units in the rental pool, so I imagine that summers and holidays are a tough reservation, but we were in town Thursday and Friday nights between Christmas and New Year's and got lucky. It's a fabulous historic mill that's been remodeled into a hotel on the main drag in downtown Newport, right on the wharf. Get a townhouse on the fourth floor; it's a one-bedroom, one and one-half bath unit with a kitchenette, and balconies on both floors overlooking the bay and downtown. The room and hotel in general were both clean. There is a bar/restaurant in the basement of the hotel, but those are EVERYWHERE in Newport!! Onsite parking is a plus and we walked to all the nearby shopping and dining. There are ALOT of lodging options in Newport and most are WELL OVER $250 per night, but the Newport Bay Club & Hotel was WELL UNDER $200 per night which left more in our wallets for eating and entertainment!! The hotel was above average and the staff was friendly, but PRICE and LOCATION are the winning ingredients here. We'd be fortunate to have the opportunity to stay here on a return visit to Newport.

Room Tip: Fourth-floor rooms are townhouses with balconies on both floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davemaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Newport Bay Club has a lot of pluses and also a few minuses. On the plus side is location, location, location. It is in downtown Newport in walking distance of many historic sites, the waterfront, shopping and many good restaurants. It has a gated parking lot where you can leave your car and walk to much of the town.

The staff is friendly and accommodating. There is free wifi, and our one bedroom suite was spacious with a comfortable bed. It was clean and it had an updated bathroom with a very large tiled shower. The kitchenette has a frig, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher and granite counter tops. There is a free continental breakfast. The coffee is very good and they also provide yogurt, milk and fresh fruit. The muffins and sweet rolls wrapped in saran wrap are nothing special as others mentioned.

On the downside, our suite had an odd smell. I’ve noticed it before in ocean side hotels where the humidity is high. I didn’t see any signs of mold or anything that could be causing the smell. We eventually got used to it.

The other issue is the weekend noise. There was no problem during the week, but on the weekend we heard noise late at night. As other reviewers mentioned, there is a bar/club in the basement of the building. So we asked for a room on an upper floor. We were on the 3rd floor at the front end of the building near the street. We heard no noise from the bar in the basement, but there was a popular restaurant, the Red Parrot on the street corner opposite our room. We heard noise and music from the restaurant past midnight on Friday and Saturday. During the week there was no noise.

Balancing the pluses and minuses, I would stay there again. I would ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor at the end of the building away from the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Property: Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Address: 337 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing