We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Not only is it the perfect location but our room was amazing!! It's called a house room...we got the 1 bedroom. I was amazed walking in to see a huge living room, dining room. kitchen and bathroom also a balcony, but that wasn't all!!! There was a spiral staircase which led upstairs to a bedroom with another balcony and beautiful bath. It was so great for the price. We will be back again to stay longer.

Room Tip: I posted photos of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chetndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    97
    28
    29
    24
See reviews for
53
124
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WANTAGH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

It's difficult to find a nice place in Newport that isn't silly expensive and very convenient. This is one such hotel. We stayed last August from Monday thru Friday and loved the suite (living room, kitchen, large bathroom and bedroom). It was an attractive and comfortable suite that was very clean and overlooked the harbor. It was right across the street from the Red Parrot and a few great pubs. You received a parking ticket that allowed you to park in their parking lot- which in Newport is key!! So... pretty suites, great location (middle of town), close to the mansions, wonderful restaurants, stores and the beaches. Staff was efficient and the the bed was very comfy- oh and there's a pull out bed in the couch too. We were pleased we picked the Newport Bay Club and Hotel and plan on going back this summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is in the heart of everything to do in Newport. A short walk to the excellent restaurants, shops and bars. Only a short drive to the mansions. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. Front desk very accommodating, cheerful and helpful. Even cleaning staff greeted me with a nice 'hello' and when we departed a 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. The standard room we got was very spacious. Had a kitchen/living-room, a little area with a dining table, separate bedroom and large bathroom. The place was spotless and very clean. Good job cleaning staff! 3rd and 4th floors have an observation area where you can sit and look over the bay, read a book, enjoy a beverage. Free parking! I could go on and on. Place was excellent. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

When my husband and I, along with our 3 young children arrived at the hotel and went to our suite, we found vomit on the sides and front of the toilet. The front desk did send someone to clean the toilet.
In the morning, my husband found that there was dried vomit on his pillow which was covered up by the pillowcase. Disgusting, there is no excuse for this, which tells you housekeeping is not too swift and no one really cares.
When checking out, I talked with a man at the front desk about the vomit on the pillow it was obvious he had no customer service experience, he said they already credited me $50.00 because of the toilet! That's all I wanted was an apology, which I never got. This man didn't even have the decency to say he was sorry and defend the hotel's reputation. I assume this must be a normal occurrence.
There are lots of great hotels at this price range in Newport - check around and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ladyjoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I have sent several long weekends in Newport at the Newport Bay club. The rooms are pleasant and clean. It gives us a nice option of eating in (eg. breakfast) or conveniently heading out to downtown. Staff was very friendly. Location is perfect for all sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here a week...very convenient to everything...walking distance to some! The staff is friendly and helpful; the apartments are large. Hubby was stationed in Newport in the 1960's; we had not been back. We found the unit to be just what we needed; clean, private, quiet and close to Newport town center.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Newport Bay Club and Hotel:

We have stayed here twice over the Christmas holiday (2012 and 2010) for a week each time. The location of the hotel is perfect. Right at the top of lower Thames and walking distance to nearly everything in downtown Newport. Because our stays have been through a time share exchange, I am not sure if there is a difference between a week long stay and your typical overnight, but I can say that it's a hotel we'll use again.

Pros:
-Location
- Great views of skating rink (in winter), the harbor, and Thames St.
- Ample reserved parking for guests.
-Housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a great job.

Cons:
-On our last stay the front desk staff was a bit curt (we were staying 7 days, and driving up from NY… and you'd think in the winter in RI there wouldn't be a problem with requesting an early check-in… well, they didn't seem to appreciate the request).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#7 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Property: Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Address: 337 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing