We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Rooms, Great balcony views, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights / 5 days in a 1 bedroom / 1.5 bathroom townhouse suite on the fourth floor of the Newport Bay Club & Hotel. This property has wonderful timeshare units that are available for "hotel" use. We were in town for the October, Newport, Seafood Festival weekend. All the rooms at this property were recently renovated. We peeked into several rooms while housekeeping was cleaning. Each unit was well decorated, clean and comfortable . Please review the included photos of the unit we occupied.

The kitchen area in our unit had granite counter tops, brushed stainless steel and black appliances and new cabinets, with a brushed stainless sink and faucet. The kitchen was stocked well. The unit was freshly painted and smelled very clean. The hotel strongly enforces the no smoking policy, which we greatly appreciate. The bathrooms are new and very well appointed. The towels are thick and plush and very large. The tile and grout are immaculate. The full bathroom shower was huge and very clean with excellent water pressure. The vanities, lights, toilets, sinks and faucets in both bathrooms are all new.

The queen mattress in our bedroom was brand new and very comfortable. The linens were crisp and clean and the duvet cover was stuffed with a very cozy down filled comforter.
The bedroom had a spacious closet with hangers, an iron and an ironing board.

Our townhouse unit was two floors. The first floor consisted of the kitchen, dining area, living room, closet and a half bath. There was a gorgeous balcony extending the entire length of the first floor with floor to ceiling windows and a sliding door overlooking the Newport Harbor. Spectacular views everywhere you looked from the balcony.

To reach the second floor, there is a spiral staircase. At the top of the spiral staircase is the bedroom and the full bathroom. There is a also an a amazing balcony extending the length of the bedroom area with floor to ceiling windows and a sliding door. the views are just as wonderful from this balcony. The unit receives beautiful sunlight and refreshing breezes.

We were on the fourth floor and did not hear any noises from inside the hotel during our stay. On Friday and Saturday night you could hear normal street noise and music from the bar/ restauraunt, Christie's which is next door to the hotel. However, all bars shut down promptly at 1:00 AM in Rhode Island. We slept peacefully with the sliding door open for fresh breezes from the harbor all night long. The rest of the nights during our stay were very quiet.

The location is just perfect. Possibly the best of all the hotels on the water in Newport. You can walk to everything in downtown Newport easily. You can take the trolly service to sightsee and to tour the mansions and other attractions. The hotel permits one parking space per unit. The hotel parking is very secure. Parking lots are within walking distance if you need additional parking spaces, the parking fees were reasonable,$15.00 - $20.00 for 24 hours.

There are several ammenities at the Newport Bay Club & Hotel that we discovered.
The hotel has a fun restaurant / bar on sight, The Rhino Bar. The food was delicious, the service was great and the prices were reasonable. The music can get loud, but the bands that played at the Rhino Bar were very entertaining. There is also a dance club next to the Rhino Bar. The Rhino Bar offers delivery service to your room. There are several boutique, gift shops, a breakfast and lunch place, and a convenience store. All of these are located inside of the same building as the Newport Bay Club & Hotel. It's very convenient and safe. There are ice machines, laundry machines and a garbage shoot for trash. There is a small continental breakfast available each morning on the third floor.

The housekeeping staff was very pleasant and very efficient. They arrived each day to clean our unit.
The front desk staff were all very helpful with directions, honoring requests for extra pillows and offering restaurant suggestions.

The Newport Bay Club & Hotel has everything you need for an enjoyable stay in Newport.
I am excited to return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsVacation876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2009

My plans changed which required my going to Newport earlier than expected. I needed a room for the 4th of July, and started calling the morning of. Most places were booked, as was the HYDRANGEA HOUSE INN where I was staying the next couple of nights (see my very favorable TripAdvisor review). We got the last room here, and I now see why. If you are looking for a unit that has a kitchen, this might be the place for you. The kitchenette looks new. As does the bathroom of the unit we stayed in, No. 204. However, all else is lacking...severly! The mattress was thin and cheap, the walls barely spackled over above the headboard and re-painted sloppily. Furniture looked as though it was purchased at a warehouse in the 70's. There is space here-the bedroom is separate-but for what you get the price should be much, much lower. I think the owners must feel location is worth the extra $175 or so that it is overpriced. Our problem was with the A/C, and lack thereof. If we had been on a higher floor, and had it not been the 4th, I might have considered opening the windows to let in the cool breezes. However, I was concerned noise from revelers below would keep us awake. There were no screens in two of the three windows, and one would not stay open in its own. I used the Holy Bible to prop the one in the bedroom open the next morning, when the thermostat read 80 degrees. The A/C had been tripped off when we arrived in the early evening....so I found the circuit breaker and reset it. I thought when we came in from watching the fireworks from the 3rd floor balcony (the ONLY positive from my experience) around 10:30pm it would take a bit to cool down, but it never did. When I explained the problem the following morning to the manager, he offered me a $50 credit. My response was, "$50 on a $299 room, how about $75?" He agreed. I should have asked for the room at half price! Treat yourself to a nice B&B and forget about the hotel experience in this charming location!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlpNorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed for one night in a one-bedroom unit that looks like something out of the 70s... the living room furniture is old and worn and the carpeting leaves that musty-odour in the unit. Luckily the windows were able to be opened to let in some outdoor air. The bathroom seems to be updated and the kitchen is in full working order. Interestingly, there is no tv in the bedroom (this unit is set up for 4 people). The location of the hotel is great, but the front desk location is bizarre as you stand to check in, another door may open into you. There is no pool and the fitness center was closed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebblelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

I went for an overnight stay in Newport with my wife, my brother, and his wife. We were impressed with the room and the location of the hotel. All was great until we were woken up around 7am the next morning by carpenters drilling, sawing, and banging on the room/floor above us. There was actually plaster from the ceiling falling down on my wife and I in bed because the banging/vibration was so intense! When we called down to the front desk to inform them of this incident (because there's no way a hotel would purposely have people working on the rooms at 7am, right???), we were told "that's when they start." Can you believe this? So, the drilling, banging, etc. continued for the next two hours until we checked out. When we informed the front desk manager of our displeasure with our experience, he was rude and defensive. He actually had the gall to tell us that while if he were in our shoes and had the same experience he might also be dissatisfied with his experience, but he'd have "more tact" in the way he would have communicated to the hotel staff. This hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of Thames St. in Newport and the rooms are very nicely appointed. Just cross your fingers that they aren’t doing construction on the rooms around you when you go there; because, as told to us by the front desk manager, they start their work in the morning. Oh yes, one more thing – if this happens and you do complain to the front desk after getting woken up in the morning by workers hammering and drilling, please be sure you’re very polite and courteous (even though you’re understandably tired and irritated) when you do complain because the front desk manager does not take kindly to paying customers without proper “tact”. With just a little empathy and understanding by the front desk manager, this bad experience could have been turned around into a positive or at least neutral experience, but as a result of his defensiveness and arrogance, it was turned into the worst hotel experience of my life – and I travel often for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Location is wonderful and the view of the ice skating rink is lovely. The actual room was extremely worn down. The jacuzzi tub was a joke- we pressed the buttons and the buttons fell off of the wall, it never worked!
so we settled for warm water with no jets, and the old creepy man who worked there knocked on the door and said it was LEAKING into the room below- and we needed to use the tub/ sink minimally to prevent flooding downstairs... HAHA! The remote did not work so the TV was pretty useless, and the staff was rude!
Worst hotel experience don't let the exterior or the location fool you, this place is awful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank britt0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

This hotel was a great choice! We stayed for 5 nights and had a terrific experience. The hotel is clean with very spacious suites; you feel like you're at home and thus much better than a standard hotel room. Its in a perfect location right in the heart of Newport's downtown harbor district. You can walk to everything. We definitelty recommend this as a great place to stay! Oh, one of the other best features is that it is priced well below its competitors in town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SandFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Ok, the location is great but... The room was big but felt a little old and worn. The bathroom with the jacuzzi was probably meant to feel cozy but instead it felt dark and cramped. The breakfast was nothing but muffins wrapped in plastic and coffe.

Now for the real dealbreaker, when checking in we were told $199 a night, when checking out we were presented to a bill with $299 a night. When complaining we were told that the listprice were $336 and that we should be happy with the discount. We did not accept this and after a rather unpleasant discussion we were given the $199 rate. Back home we checked the online rates on the hotels webpage and found the nondiscounted rate of $167. What a ripp-off!

Sadly, we won't be going back to a place that we feelt were trying to cheat us.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotta_and_anders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Address: 337 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £81 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing