We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home away from home!”

Kitt Shepley House 1932
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kitt Shepley House 1932
Ranked #51 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We wanted a small getaway for labor day and we ended up arriving during a hurricane! Not to worry Linda was all ready for us and the weekend turned out to be perfect. We enjoyed the lovely and very thoughtful breakfast each day, even clearing our plates we felt so at home! The patio was wonderful and with the short walk to the main street and also the mansions, we were able to come and go as much as we needed! We have now stayed in both rooms- Both equally nice- the Renaissance room is great for chillier weather as we curled up by the fire! Everything is thought of for you - from the beach bags and towels in the closet to any question you might have for Linda! We are excited to spend some more weekends here in the summer and hope to make newport "were we summer" for years to come!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoleneZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
columbia, md
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I spent the weekend in Newport and after hours of research we chose to stay at the Kitt Shepley House. We stayed in the French room, which was very clean, nicely decorated and had a large bathroom. Every morning between 8:30 and 9, a gourmet breakfast is served. We enjoyed scones, fresh fruit and eggs one morning and muffins, fresh fruit, and heart shaped waffles the next day. The B&B is just a short walk from the water, shopping, and dining and is situated in the historic district of Newport. They also have off street parking. We highly recommend the Kitt Shepley House and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyAndWhittney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Excellent experience all around. Great location a couple blocks from the waterfront, nice walk to the mansions. Nice room, plenty big and very clean and comfortable (their website over-sells it, but that's to be expected, in particular the "jacuzzi" is a normal bathtub with jets). Wonderful hospitality form Linda and Paul, good breakfast. And the price ($180/night, for the two-day weekend) can't be beat that I've seen.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTEFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleboro, Ma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

My husband and I just got married in Newport RI and stayed here at the Kitt Shepley House. This B&B was fabulous! Its beautifully decorated, clean, well kept and everything is there at your fingertips. The Inn Keepers-Linda and Paul Manning have thought of everything. The breakfasts were fantastic , fresh fruit, scones, heart shaped waffles. They even prepared a special breakfast for the day after our wedding. They were very accomodating and discrete. We cannot say enough about this B&B-except that we cant wait to go back again. They have a great fitness weekend which is all inclusive that we are very interested in. The B&B is less than a 5 minute walk to down town where all the action is. Would highly recommend staying here for all occasions. We had a wonderful wedding and honeymoon, Thank You Very Much Linda and Paul for making our time so special.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvnnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

The Kitt Shepley House is located in the heart of Newport, within walking distance of all the best restaurants, shops, beaches, and mansions. The rooms are spotless and amazingly detailed, and the complementary breakfasts are incredible. The hosts Linda and Paul Manning fulfill every need and want to perfection. We spent 4 days there for our wedding and could not have picked a better spot. Linda and Paul surpassed our expectations by even helping us out with last minute wedding details and letting us take pictures in their beautiful courtyard and garden. We look forward to our next stay at the Kitt Shepley House and may even do a fitness weekend with Paul who doubles as a personal trainer at his business Renaissance Fitness.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisgood93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

Friends and I took part in the fitness package offered by the Kitt Sheply House this weekend and it gave us the renewed inspiration we needed. The training sessions with Paul Manning, Personal Trainer and Innkeeper, showed us that you can have fun while getting fit with the right instruction and enthusiasm. He was able to meet the needs of myself and all four of my friends who were at different fitness levels. The meals prepared by his wife, Linda Manning, were so delicious and served with such elegance we forgot they were also healthy--it was truly a lesson that light in calories doesn't mean light on flavor or flair. Linda's attention to detail are apparent throughout this charming inn. I would highly recommend this inn whether you choose the fitness package or just for a getaway to scenic Newport, Rhode Island--either one will rejuvenate you and your friends or spouse.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield RI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

My friends and I spent a fun fitness weekend at the Shepley House. Linda and Paul Manning, the innkeepers and owners of Shepley House each brought their own unique flair to our weekend. Paul, a personal trainer, incorporated workouts to our weekend that meet the level of each one of my friends. His expertise and gentle manner turned our otherwise hum drum workout into a fun fitness time while still challenging us. Linda, his wife, is a delicious cook, feeding us healthy meals with an artistic flair. Her attention to detail is seen everywhere throughout the inn. I would highly recommend a stay at The Kitt Shepley House. The combination of Linda, Paul, and the charm of the inn made a long weekend one that we did not want to end.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poco_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#29 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitt Shepley House 1932? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitt Shepley House 1932

Property: Kitt Shepley House 1932
Address: 23 Division St, Newport, RI 02840-3119
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kitt Shepley House 1932 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kitt Shepley House 1932 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing