We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms
Ranked #56 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Banniser Wharf guest house in October, 2012 for one night. We LOVED it here. The room was perfect. We had two (comfortable) beds, with great pillows, a little fridge, microwave, coffee maker, everything you could need, nice clean bathroom. The location is AWESOME, looking right out onto the water and pier. Couldn't have a better location than this. A seafood festival was going on the day we were here, so it made it very conveinent to go back up to the room for anything that we needed. We ate dinner from one of the seafood vendors, it was deliciious. There are tons of shops and places to eat, all within walking distance. Make sure you know how to get the key before you get there. We called the restaurant and they were very helpful to us and showed us where to park (right up near the rooms...perfect), and got our keys for us. If I hadn't called the restuarant, I'm not sure I would have known how to check-in, just want to point that out to you before you stay. We will definitely be back, this place was awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LorrifromWelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

If your looking for a quaint place to stay then look no further. Bannister's Warf is a rooming house built right on the dock. You get up every morning and have a fabulous view of the water and the million dollar yachts. The room is small but clean. The bed comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. They have a front and back deck to watch all the action. Coffee shops and restaurants a few steps away..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank vsaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

On the Marina, next to all the restaurants, shops, fun, art galaries - the place is alive till 1:30 AM and most of the fun is walking around! They have parking right next to the rooms - really great. Stayed here for a night during the 4th of July holidays, this place is an experience. Just 4-6 rooms // clean, comfortable, and has the basics in place - coffee machine, iron, small fridge, tv, towels etc... the best part is stepping out of the room. The owners were quite nice and reasonable, and gave me a last minute walk in discount - which was great! thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank for_goodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The 5 star rating is for the location alone, amazing, right in the centre of everything Newport has to offer. As two couples we stayed in suite 3, half way down the wharf, with two very clean, double bedrooms and a small living space/kitchenette. Nothing too fancy but comfy beds and a good shower, all you need. Only warning - watch your head on the low, characterful stairs and ceilings. The rooms at the end of the wharf looked even better, right on the water, with fantastic views onto the ocean and a great little seating area and coffee shop, need to book early to get these! We walked out from our room onto the hustling wharf which is littered with brilliant busy restaurants, bars, outside patios, coffee shops, fresh fish bars and shopping areas. We thought we were very lucky to get a parking spot in this busy area included with our room for our entire stay, also right on the wharf. The owners were a little hard to find at check in or checkout, but by asking around people in the restaurants and dock office were very helpful and pointed us in the right direction. As young people, pretty relaxed and calm, we did not find this stressful or disorganised of them and appreciated the owners as busy working people and we thought it added to the chilled out nature of the place. If I returned I wouldn't stay anywhere else, fantastic weekend and very affordable compared to surrounding lodgings! Thank you Bannister's Wharf for a fantastic birthday weekend to remember.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtime_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed in a room overlooking the sea, luxury yachts less than 50 yards from our door, a sun deck where we could sit, read and people watch until the sun went down. Excellent cafes, bars and restaurants with character by the shed-load only a stones throw away, shopping within easy walking distance, car parking, comfy beds and a light airy room - what more can one ask for? I would really recommend a room overlooking the sea as some rooms overlook the wharf towards the town which don't have such a WOW! factor. I really hope to return to Newport and will definitely book a sea-facing room in this fabulous location. We went as a family of four and only stayed for one night (sadly) but would love to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: ALWAYS choose a sea-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliejelliebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We recently stayed at Bannister's and found it to be what we expected. The location is great-in the midst of Newport Harbor so it is an easy walk to shopping and dining. The room was spotlessly clean and the entire staff was friendly and accommodating. Pet friendly and a great cafe downstairs for coffee and goodies too. A few things to consider (which did not trouble us) is the parking is tight and on the wharf so don't plan on bringing the huge SUV, it won't fit (you won't need a car anyways), the room we stayed in was a little musty smelling but you are literally on the water so I doubt if there is anything to be done about that (didn't find it offensive and the sunset view from the room was spectacular). We stayed during the quiet time of year, but with all that goes on at the wharf, I would expect the high summer season to be noisy with the bars, shops and boats (this IS a working harbor). We would recommend and return to Bannisters.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocnWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This place has so much potential. A paint job, new windows, updated furniture and it really wouldn’t be that bad. Look, I loved Newport. It was my visit and I read the reviews about this place, so I knew what I was getting into. That being said, I stayed in Room S1. You have a view looking back along the wharf. Rooms 1- 4 were in the “front” of the hotel and they seem to be pretty awesome b/c they are at the end of the wharf and face the harbor. Outside our room was a small deck with Adirondack chairs, which was nice. Not so nice was the room next to ours that housekeeping uses which has “public” bathrooms. This housekeeping room is left open ALL DAY. And although there are no signs that point to “public bathrooms” that I could find anywhere along the wharf, somehow everyone seemed to know they were there. NOT AWESOME. Ok, now for the best part. This is funny. By definition, a “WHARF” is a landing place or pier where ships may tie up and load or unload. So, This hotel is on a dock. Which I think is very cool. What’s not so cool is that when you open the door to the S1 room and step in there’s about a 3” slope from one side to the other side of the room. This made us feel like we were drunk every time we walked around the room. So we had fun with that when we would get home from the bars.

The location really is ideal. You’re halfway between everything. One day we walked down Thames South, The next day North. And all the restaurants on Bowens and Bannisters Wharf are fabulous. Newport is a really great place. I love that there is so much seating everywhere. Lots of Adirondack chairs and benches. I love the cobblestone roads. And Newport really does a great job of marketing itself with all the events that take place there all year long. We were there for the Oktoberfest festival. And it was really well done. We were smart and bought our tickets early and went in around 1pm. We left around 4pm when it got overcrowded and then back again around 7pm. The performers were great. I would def go back next year. So, if management reads these comments- maybe it’s time to renovate? Hmmmm? It would’ve been nice to open the windows and be able to look out the north side of our room directly down on the Rum-runner and Adirondack sailboat. They went by our room at one point and the little 8” window was a bit tough to really get a nice look out of. The cross breeze would’ve been fantastic if the windows opened in the front of the room. Why don’t you move your housekeeping room elsewhere and utilize that giant waste of space for another guest room? In this economy….during the winter season…..i’m sure you’d get a contractor bargain. Please.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wakerupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bannisters_Wharf, Manager at Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Since May of 2015, we are under new management and have completely remodeled and redecorated our rooms. Take a peek at photographs of our newly done rooms on our website.
Hope you'll give Bannister's another chance - it's the quintessential Newport experience with an unbeatable view.
Very sincerely,
Bannister's Wharf Guestrooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#8 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
704 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms

Address: 1 Bannister's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-3052
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £111 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly redecorated in 2016, quintessentially newport/nautical guestrooms overlooking Newport harbor. Located in the heartbeat of Newport, we offer 4 waterfront double rooms, and several other options with partial water views. All of our guestrooms include mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, wifi/tv/cable and toiletries. Cozy up to Newport at Bannister's Wharf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bannister`s Wharf Guest Rooms Hotel Newport
Bannisters Wharf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing