We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Bannister's Wharf”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms
Ranked #62 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay at Bannister's Wharf”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We purchased a one night stay through groupon, and as soon as we arrived we wished we had spent a few more days here.

The room was very clean- we stayed in room #4- which had no carpeting, hardwood floors instead. The beds were very comfortable. The style of the rooms were cottage-style, not super modern. But that gave it a much more comfortable feel. The balconies off the room were perfect to people watch and enjoy the beautiful view. The location could not be any more perfect.

Newport is wonderful- lots of walks, and beautiful houses. The wharf area is even better- great restauraunts, shops and lots of gorgeous boats to look at.

My only complaint- was the confusion when finding where to checking in. I had seen others had difficulty were directed to the restauraunt - so I tried that, and they ended up sending us back to a dock area, which was right next to the guest rooms. There was a sign at the marina that we saw afterwards that clarified where guest check in was. Other than that mild glitch, our stay was wonderful.

We will be coming back in the future, to get to see more of Newport, and enjoy more time at the wharf.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcdougall12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I purchased a two night stay from Groupon. We keep our sailboat in RI and know the area. We invited our friends to join us for dinner one night and they thought it was a great value. They said they would get a room when we were down again too. The rooms are a bit worn (one bed slid off the frame), carpet is old. We would stay again for the location/view alone. The weather was horrible (February) but we went to relax and did just that.

Great local restaurants, shops and lots to see and do in Newport and surrounding area. Parking very limited.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great location, that's for sure and pet friendly, but it goes downhill from there. Advertised as a 2 bedroom, but when you have to walk through 1 to get to the other, well certainly not 2 private bed rooms. A funky oder. Paint pealing. Water leak marks. Rustic at best furniture. Baseboard heaters not all working, bent facias, missing nobs. Less than comfortable beds. And I arrived late and had no communication from them that you check into a restaurant 1 block away. When no one answered the phone, I started asking around. Frustrating. BTW. No one has still returned my call. This place would be good for a group of college guys, but not for a couple. I had a 2 night prepaid reservation and it was so bad, I abandoned night 2.

Room Tip: My room was poor. I didn't see others
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumbo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bannisters_Wharf, Manager at Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your feedback. Since May of 2015, we are under new management and have completely remodeled and redecorated our rooms. Take a peek at photographs of our newly done rooms on our website.
Hope you'll give Bannister's another chance - it's the quintessential Newport experience with an unbeatable view.
Very sincerely,
Bannister's Wharf Guestrooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Perfectly situated near shops and restaurants and right on the water. The rooms definitely needed some love (new carpeting, paint and furniture) but it was adequate. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was very limited. I would not stay there again. I would pick another place close by that is more modern. If I stayed there in peak season I would not be happy with the situation given those prices.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyCTmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

hi, we go here pretty much every year and love it, we wouldn't stay anywhere else, perfect location,cute rooms and the best view anywhere. love it and going back this summer!!! we loved having the coffee shop downstairs and great stores on the walkway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allyme33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Banniser Wharf guest house in October, 2012 for one night. We LOVED it here. The room was perfect. We had two (comfortable) beds, with great pillows, a little fridge, microwave, coffee maker, everything you could need, nice clean bathroom. The location is AWESOME, looking right out onto the water and pier. Couldn't have a better location than this. A seafood festival was going on the day we were here, so it made it very conveinent to go back up to the room for anything that we needed. We ate dinner from one of the seafood vendors, it was deliciious. There are tons of shops and places to eat, all within walking distance. Make sure you know how to get the key before you get there. We called the restaurant and they were very helpful to us and showed us where to park (right up near the rooms...perfect), and got our keys for us. If I hadn't called the restuarant, I'm not sure I would have known how to check-in, just want to point that out to you before you stay. We will definitely be back, this place was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LorrifromWelcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If your looking for a quaint place to stay then look no further. Bannister's Warf is a rooming house built right on the dock. You get up every morning and have a fabulous view of the water and the million dollar yachts. The room is small but clean. The bed comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. They have a front and back deck to watch all the action. Coffee shops and restaurants a few steps away..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank vsaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelham Court Hotel
Pelham Court Hotel
#23 of 95 in Newport
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#17 of 95 in Newport
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.2 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#77 of 95 in Newport
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms

Property: Bannister's Wharf Guest Rooms
Address: 1 Bannister's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-3052
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly redecorated in 2016, quintessentially newport/nautical guestrooms overlooking Newport harbor. Located in the heartbeat of Newport, we offer 4 waterfront double rooms, and several other options with partial water views. All of our guestrooms include mini-fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, wifi/tv/cable and toiletries. Cozy up to Newport at Bannister's Wharf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bannister`s Wharf Guest Rooms Hotel Newport
Bannisters Wharf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing