We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sad experience”
Review of Artful Lodger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artful Lodger Inn
Ranked #15 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A sad experience”
Reviewed 13 December 2007

We had high expectations and it was a disappointing stay.
The room was very small with one chair and bad lighting. The bathroom was chilly. The TV was tiny. There was barely room for our suitcases. It was not a comfortable room.

Breakfast was toast and juice, as the staff ran out of other breakfast items. (Breakfast is a big reason why we stay at B&Bs.)

There just wasn't the kind of comfort you'd expect from a room costing @ $200 a night. Despite the B&B being in a cenral location for Newport, we certainly wouldn't go there again.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — no breakfast, uncomfortable room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cody07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    30
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
106
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stuart
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2007

It was wonderful. the Artful lodger experience leaves the impression of visiting newport in the twenties. Along the path of the rich and famous in your beautiful Victorian home, we felt we were truely part of the past glory of NEWPORT. Thanks for the great accomodations and the friendly atmosphere. truely an enjoyable experience!l

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank saucytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Taking in the view and listening to beautiful music after completing a delicious breakfast just set my world straight. I was so entranced that I was not in a hurry to sightsee Newport's attractions. One of which was right across the street - The Elms mansion.

Ric's great breakfast conversations, Rose's new CD preview along with tasteful background music choices(I am an avid music lover!) and Cida's attention to detail and comfort made my temporary newport home a lovely place to be. And I had the economy room the first few nights
which was very small as stated on the internet. I did change to another room when it became available and Ric gave me a great rate.

I would recommend taking any room you can on the weekend and you may be able to upgrade to a suite if you are staying beyond the weekend. The owners seem to want to make you as comfortable and happy as they can, which is the nice thing about owner-operated establishments.

  • Liked — View From Breakfast Area
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hauolemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

I was on the phone with the owner, Rick, and after giving him all my credit card information and booking the room, I heard arguing in the background. He put me on hold and five minutes later came back on the
line to tell me that he had made a mistake and the room was in fact $289 instead of the $229 he quoted me. Without even asking me if I still wanted the room, he said he was cancelling the reservation and hung up the phone. I am shocked that the owner of an inn would do this. My suggestion to anyone planning on spending a night in Newport: don't stay at the Artful Lodger.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Katmitch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2007

In my 18 year military career, I've lived and visted many countries around the world, thus my resultant stay in hundreds of hotels and Inns. None of them has made more of an impact than the Artful Lodger. I've never met Inn Keepers as kind and courteous as Rick and Rose Ranucci. Since my first stay in Newport, RI, I've booked the Artful Lodger for weekend getaways four subsequent times the past four years and every time is just like the first time. They welcomed us as if we were part of their immediate family and treated us throughout our stay exactly in that manner. The house is exquisite in every sense of the word; a magical place were lovers and life partners come to share the best Newport has to offer. This Inn is equipped with modern amenities to satifisy even the most critiquing palate; and yet still retains the ability to depict it's passionate 1850 legacy enough to evoke the epoch presence of the renaissance era long forgotten.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpinksaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2007

First, I would like to state that the location was perfect, the bed was comfortable and the inn-keeper was very hospitable. However, the breakfast was very disappointing and left us hungry. For breakfast we were really not given much of a choice and the overall quality of the food was not good either our egg/cheese sandwich was very hard and tasteless. Again, the property and location were great but I would suggest skipping the breakfast and heading over to Dunkin Donuts.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast, no additional snacks/choices
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2006

We stayed three days at the ArtFul Lodger. While the rooms were excellent the breakfasts
were outstanding. But above all we really enjoyed the homey feeling that Ric and Rose;
the owners gave us. I especially enjoyed feeling like family. The view from the breakfast
room was also stunning.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,990 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artful Lodger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artful Lodger Inn

Property: Artful Lodger Inn
Address: 503 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artful Lodger Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian with Harbor Views! Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn! This Victorian Inn offers a variety of accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions as well as having close proximity to Newport's historic downtown. Each day at the Inn will start with a delicious gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Artful Lodger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing