We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Inn, Decent Location”
Review of Artful Lodger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artful Lodger Inn
Ranked #15 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cute Inn, Decent Location”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Artful Lodger Inn during a very quick trip to Newport for a mid-June wedding. Most places in Newport required at least a two night minimum and they were nice enough to do us a favor and take us in for just one night so we were very thankful for that! The Inn is cute and clean and the hosts are very nice and personable. The room we stayed in was small, but we knew that coming in and there are larger rooms available for longer stays. Like I said, they were doing us a favor during their high season so we took what we could get! The bathroom was a decent size and the shower pressure was good, although the sink is in the bedroom so that was a bit odd. There was a common room located right outside our door where people could relax and read the paper or a book and we could hear their every word and I assume they could hear ours so that was a bit uncomfortable, but luckily we were not in Newport to hang out in our room so we headed out quickly to avoid any eavesdropping on either side. The location of the Inn is good if you want to tour the mansions and go to the Cliff Walk or Ocean Drive because you are pretty much already headed in that direction, but you have a little walk to go back towards the shopping area. It did not bother us though because we like to walk and are used to it. The Inn is on the main road so you do want to be careful walking out the front door, but the parking lot is located safely in the back. Parking is a bit tight for trucks and SUV's though. We had a hard time parking ours. Breakfast was good, but you are only given one choice. Whatever is being made that morning is the breakfast for the day. Your host does check to make sure it is ok, but it would be nice to at least have a couple of options to choose from. There is some granola, corn flakes and cake (sweet bread) on the table too. All in all we were pleased with our stay and would only change a few small items, but we would recommend the Artful Lodger to others visiting Newport for a quick stay.

Room Tip: Try and choose a large room if possible and do not bring a big car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amvm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    29
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I booked Artful Lodger on line because it is just across the street from the back-wall of the Elms mansion in Newport, which we wanted to tour. The neighborhood is great for walking. You can walk to several of the mansions, and to the restaurants downtown. You are not in the madhouse of the downtown Newport or harbor area, but don't need to drive if you want to see them. Parking on site was sufficient. But the place seemed worn and tired. The room was extremely small, and much more costly than it should have been for such a small room. The room for breakfast (or even ice from the refrigerator) is up a narrow, winding back stair to the attic level, not at all suitable for people with mobility difficulties. The breakfast was okay, but not great. The common room on the first floor was dark and uncomfortable. There was only one comfortable chair on the front porch. The room (Ivy) was so small that we had to put our suitcases on the bed to open them, then zip them up and stand them on-end on the floor. There was a single tiny chair in the room. Because I booked on line, we could not get into a larger king room even though there was only one other couple staying in the place. If you plan to stay here, I would definitely call and book over the phone and not use an on-line travel site to book this place. The hosts were nice and accommodating people, didn't force us out promptly at 11:00 AM (it was raining and Mike said we could stay as long as we wanted) and did not "hover," but I felt the overall level of attention to detail did not match that of some other B & B's I have stayed in. I really would explore other options if coming back to Newport. The convenient location is the main thing that I can recommend about this place. Again, if you get a king room, maybe it would be different. I will say that the bathroom in Rose wasn't as small as "closet bathrooms" in older house B & B's can be.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, pay for a King room or suite. The Rose and Ivy rooms are way too sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coastocoast08, Manager at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Hi Terry,

Thank you for your input although it always saddens us when people don't enjoy themselves. Thankfully it is quite rare. You're right, the house is an 1840's Victorian. It has it's wear and there are a couple of lower priced rooms (by Newport standard's) that are not as roomy and have less amenities as the rest. Also correct is that it is always best to book through the Inn's Website so as to have more options to choose from. I seem to remember giving you a free upgrade and the option to upgrade further for an additional discounted rate. And we often allow for later check-outs to accommodate our guests needs, as we did for you. As far as our breakfasts are concerned, in 3 years, we have had nothing but rave reviews so we are very sorry you did not have that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This morning I stumbled upstairs to be greeted enthusiastically by Lieza and Michael, InnKeepers. Michael custom prepared an Italian omelette which met my dietary restrictions and had the freshest basil, from the inn's garden. The coffee was local and delicious. The innkeepers shared charming anecdotes and even discussed networking help as I am a recent graduate. Lieza and Michael see to every detail personally throughout the day. The Inn had beautiful decor with fragrant fresh flowers. I recommend this inn to anyone with appreciation for personal service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaureninBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Inn is a most excellent place to stay the location is central to many things an easy walk to the mansions and the Thames St attractions. The rooms are nice clean and tastefully decorated, we stayed in one of the 4 smaller ones on the first floor the Ivy room.

There are some suites on the second floor we didnt see them you can view them on the web site.

The 3rd floor has a beautful sun room for breakfeast and a small deck with a gorgeous sunset view. There are also a couple of outdoor sitting rooms that are tasteful and private.

The InnKeepers Michael and Lieza are fantastic and really aim to please. They both know the city and the attractions by heart and are very friendly and acomadating.

My wife was initially skeptical about the whole B+B concept but we will be back again in the future for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatraymondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Inn is an old 1840 building. The rooms are small and the room we stayed in had no closets. It is difficult to find room for your belongings. There is no place to put a small suitcase and we had to make do. The stairs going up are very steep and scary. If you have any sort of problem, you will not be able to navigate the stairs. I guess this can also seem charming because it is original. But......the diamond of the Inn are the wonderful inn keepers, Leizza and Mike. They make your visit wonderful! They cook a delicious breakfast around a beautifully kept room with an amazing view of the area and the harbor. They helped us with choosing restaurants and things to see. Kudos to them for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggys52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Was everything I needed. From the lovely essence of the Inn, to the hospitality of Mike and LIzza. Felt so much at home I wanted to wash the dishes and make my own breakfast. I have to believe that facilitating an Inn and hosting people is a hard job, and they did it with finesse and joy. The room was so lovely. From the bed, felt like I was in a cloud all night...to wine glasses waiting in the room for me. Everything about the room welcomed vacation and peace. I highly recommend the Artful Lodge and agree with all the other amazing reviews that this place was everything and more. For the couple of bad reviews that the lodge received, strongly disagree as the inn and host displayed above and beyond qualities to make sure that our stay was perfect and restful.

Perfect location to downtown Newport and a hop, skip and a jump to the cliff walk and beach. The room even had an electric fire, AMAZING!

Thank you so much for a restful, peaceful stay. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coastocoast08, Manager at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Wow Guys.....Thank you so much for the lovely review!! It was a pleasure meeting you also and providing you with a memorable experience. We are so grateful for the people that take the time to write their thoughts and are especially proud when those thoughts are so heartfelt, eloquently written and reflect our mission to make people smile. You certainly made us smile. Thanks again! ~ Michael & Lieza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

My husband, son and I were recently on holidays in the US and decided to take a short road road trip and drive from New York to Boston. We didnt really plan on staying the night in Newport and we certainly didnt know any thing about the Artful Lodger Inn but in one of lifes serendipidous moments we found both. While April is out of season and this particular April, cold even for the locals (for we Sydneysiders it could have been the Arctic!), we experienced a wonderfully warm welcome from hosts Lieza and Mike and had one of the most memorable nights of our US holiday. After showing us our rooms, Lieza invited us to join them and some friends at their local bar where everyone was friendly and we felt like we'd ended up at a friend's house party. It was certainly a night to remember.
The Inn itself is charming; the beds were incredibly comfortable and the ensuite was clean and well equipped. As others have mentioned the highlight of the Inn is the wonderful breakfast room with huge glass windows framing a magnificent view of Newport. Mike's breakfast was a delicious treat and we certainly couldn't have asked for more. Most importantly, the conversation and laughs flew freely and we left feeling like we'd met some new friends. And afterall, that's what travel's really all about.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coastocoast08, Manager at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you to our new Auzzie friends. Getting to meet amazing people from all over the world is one of the perks that make this business so rewarding. Thank you for your kind words. We will never forget you. ~Michael & Lieza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artful Lodger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artful Lodger Inn

Property: Artful Lodger Inn
Address: 503 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artful Lodger Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian with Harbor Views! Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn! This Victorian Inn offers a variety of accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions as well as having close proximity to Newport's historic downtown. Each day at the Inn will start with a delicious gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Artful Lodger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing