We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Innkeepers - Inn 'Not so Great'”
Review of Artful Lodger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artful Lodger Inn
Ranked #15 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Innkeepers - Inn 'Not so Great'”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We met our Innkeepers Michael & Lieza at breakfast the morning after our 1st night's stay...I must say they are simply delightful and provided us with two of the most enjoyable hours of our stay in Newport. Their breakfast room is uniquely situated on the 3rd floor with great views of the harbor and the food was delicious. The location is also terrific for walking nearly anywhere.

The inn itself however is quite old, the quarters cramped, the bed uncomfortable and with far too many stairs to navigate for any lengthy stay. We ultimately enjoyed our 2 night stay but would have been quite disappointed had we booked for any longer.

My recommendation...book 1 or 2 nights...just to meet Michael & Lieza...and suggest that they replace the mattresses in the rooms. ; )

Room Tip: Choose the 'Unique Porch Suite' located on the 2nd floor above the front entrance porch...it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roryandric, Owner at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Artful Lodger. We are glad you appreciated our innkeepers, the views from the breakfast room and the perfect location.

The inn is quite old, as you state, circa 1850, and two of the inexpensive rooms are small, but have very reasonable rates for this location. There is so much to do within walking distance, that the room, for some, is just for sleeping.

The stairs to the conservatory may be difficult for some people, but our innkeepers make certain that if there is a problem with stairs, you may be advised to take a room on the first floor and breakfast can be brought to you, if necessary.

I would like to address the comfort of the mattress, which can be subjective. We have replaced our mattresses with new ones this past year. We will check them, though, since this is a very important matter to us.

Thank you again for your response. It helps us to maintain happy guests, many who have returned again and again since 1992.
Rory and Ric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    29
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Artful Lodger for 2 nights and was given the Victoria room.
The room was a good size and had the sink in the corner which we liked as it made things easier when getting ready.

The real star of the show at the Artful Lodger are the innkeepers Mike and Leiza. 2 true charictars. Going up to breakfast in the amazing breakfast room was so much fun. When we were planning our trip we thought breakfast to be just a quick grab and go so we could get out. That never happened!
Firstly the views are amazing out over the town so that takes your attention! Then the food is superb so you get lost in that, then there is Mike and Leiza.

These two are great people and fantastic inn keepers and they are the reason why breakfast lasts 1.5-2hrs instead of 15-20 minutes. You will have conversations from politics to soccer. Beaches to bars and everything inbetween, all involving the other guests as you dine around the large breakfast table.
It really is a great atmosphere and great fun.

We would defiantly stay again and from going to Newport many times this is the best guesthouse we have found.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benrobbo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great B&B's can be made by the amenities and location, but amazing B&B's are all about the experience the Innkeeper gives you. We had an amazing visit to the Artful Lodger Inn and would highly recommend it to anyone else visiting the area. Mike and Lieza were genuine and kind and willing to go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable!

We arrived early and they allowed us to leave our car in the lot while we went exploring the town. We came back a little before check-in and our room was ready and wonderfully clean. Even the towels had that fresh clean smell to them. We stayed in the Ivy Room and I've read some other reviews on it... it is not bad at all! Yes the sink is in the room and the bathroom/ shower behind a door - but that means one person can shower while the other brushes their teeth/ does their makeup.

The morning we left we had to catch a ferry so Mike and Lieza were up early to make sure we got breakfast before we left - the ham cups were delicious! We were going to Block Island for a few days, and because they knew the Inn wouldn't be as busy the next couple of days they let us leave our car there until we returned. Not only did this save us money, but it saved us time and eliminated the stress of finding parking that would include overnight near the docks.

We truly had a wonderful stay thank you Mike and Lieza! We would recommend this place to others and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhill5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This B&B is well situated to explore the newport mansions and close to main restaurant/shopping street. Very friendly and helpful hostess and host - they even did some laundry for us!! Delicious breakfast with views over Newport from breakfast room. They have a parking lot at the back which makes it very convenient if touring by car. Sorry I entered stars for a pool and cannot reverse them. There is no pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

If you are interested in a very hip, clean, and authentic B & B....you owe it to yourself to stay at the ARTFUL LODGER! My wife and I stayed there for 3 nigths in June 2013. Mike and Lieza are the two folks that run the place and they are perfect hosts! They are there when you need them for anything and yet you never know they are there! You feel like you are visiting a good friend or relative's house in Newport. The dining room has a view that is amazing along with the breakfasts! And the laid back but totally professional attitude of the place really lets you enjoy your stay with out some of the typical "uptightness" of some B & B's. It is centrally located and can walk everywhere! We couldn't have been happier and we commend Lieza and Mike for really making us feel at home. We would go back in a heartbeat. SO check it out and you will have a new home away from home!
R.N. New Jersey

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theroamintravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Cottage, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I'm usually a hotel type of traveller. We were glad to make the leap to a B&B. Its a charming place and the Inn Keeper Lieza is a gem. The rooms are quaint and very clean. A delicious breakfast is served on the top floor in a lovely sunroom.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaGiraldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Artful Lodger Inn during a very quick trip to Newport for a mid-June wedding. Most places in Newport required at least a two night minimum and they were nice enough to do us a favor and take us in for just one night so we were very thankful for that! The Inn is cute and clean and the hosts are very nice and personable. The room we stayed in was small, but we knew that coming in and there are larger rooms available for longer stays. Like I said, they were doing us a favor during their high season so we took what we could get! The bathroom was a decent size and the shower pressure was good, although the sink is in the bedroom so that was a bit odd. There was a common room located right outside our door where people could relax and read the paper or a book and we could hear their every word and I assume they could hear ours so that was a bit uncomfortable, but luckily we were not in Newport to hang out in our room so we headed out quickly to avoid any eavesdropping on either side. The location of the Inn is good if you want to tour the mansions and go to the Cliff Walk or Ocean Drive because you are pretty much already headed in that direction, but you have a little walk to go back towards the shopping area. It did not bother us though because we like to walk and are used to it. The Inn is on the main road so you do want to be careful walking out the front door, but the parking lot is located safely in the back. Parking is a bit tight for trucks and SUV's though. We had a hard time parking ours. Breakfast was good, but you are only given one choice. Whatever is being made that morning is the breakfast for the day. Your host does check to make sure it is ok, but it would be nice to at least have a couple of options to choose from. There is some granola, corn flakes and cake (sweet bread) on the table too. All in all we were pleased with our stay and would only change a few small items, but we would recommend the Artful Lodger to others visiting Newport for a quick stay.

Room Tip: Try and choose a large room if possible and do not bring a big car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amvm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artful Lodger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artful Lodger Inn

Property: Artful Lodger Inn
Address: 503 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artful Lodger Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian with Harbor Views! Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn! This Victorian Inn offers a variety of accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions as well as having close proximity to Newport's historic downtown. Each day at the Inn will start with a delicious gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Artful Lodger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing