We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and laughs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Artful Lodger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artful Lodger Inn
Ranked #16 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Breakfast and laughs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2006

We stayed three days at the ArtFul Lodger. While the rooms were excellent the breakfasts
were outstanding. But above all we really enjoyed the homey feeling that Ric and Rose;
the owners gave us. I especially enjoyed feeling like family. The view from the breakfast
room was also stunning.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    29
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
15
100
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2006

I stayed at the Artful Lodger in Newport RI again this year in May. I have been there a few time before (I think the first time back in the early 90s) and I have stayed at a few other B&Bs there in Newport. Kudos to the ownerhship and staff for keeping this wonderful place (on Spring Street near the mansions) up to home-like standards for all these years. And always great conversation with the owners and other guests around the morning table!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2006

My wife & I have had the pleasure of attending the Newport International Boat Show for the past 15 years and have stayed at the Artful Lodger for each of those visits. This facility is truly considered our Newport "home" and we look forward to returning every fall.
We love the central location with off-street parking(everything in the downtown area is within reasonable walking distance, the less you need to drive a car in Newport the better!), the clean accomodations, the variety of home cooked breakfasts, and the hospitality of the innkeepers and staff. We've personally never been disappointed. And, over the years, we've also occasionally read through the guest book in the inn's entrance foyer. The overwhelming majority of comments are extremely favorable and usually end with "we'll be back".
As a bank commercial loan officer with 30 years of experience that has many customers engaged in both lodging and dining, I have a unique perspective and know full well how difficult these businesses can be. Most owners, including the innkeepers at the Artful Lodger, want to make your stay enjoyable and will try their best to address their guests concerns. Sadly, many choose not to say anything during the visit, but leave with only negative opinions. I would encourage those of you with concerns to always give management an opportunity to correct whatever problems you encounter.
Newport and the surrounding area is beautiful almost any time of the year. I would recommend a visit and try the Artful Lodger yourself.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2005

Perhaps we should have known by the name: The Artful Lodger definitely ripped us off, just as Dickens' artful dodger ripped off people on the streets of his day.

There are only three good things I can say about this bed and breakfast establishment. 1. It has a central location as advertised. We were able to walk nearly everywhere, from the harbor area to the mansions and the Cliff Walk. 2. It was reasonably clean when we arrived. 3. The view from the breakfast area is atractive.

It goes downhill from there.

First off, I noticed in the guest book that someone else had called it "mediocre" and described breakfast as "NOT" very good. The next day, someone had changed this notation to "notable" breakfast. But breakfast was undercooked, served in an indifferent fashion and offered no choice at all--we were not even asked if we preferred our English muffin with or without margarine. It was undercooked, as were the pancakes on day one. Some sort of egg dish had cheese--there was no option to request that cheese be omitted. These simple changes would have improved our opinion of the place.

Secondly, there were no amenities other than location. None at all except a few wrapped candies in the hall. We were not offered much information other than dinner spots either. The host was unavailable.

Our tiny room, costing well over $100 per night, had only one chair in a corner, no place for a second person to sit other than the bed. At least the 13 inch television on the dresser was connected to cable. The bathroom had a stall shower, no tub, but we were not told that when we booked. There was no cross-ventilation and no fan in the room, despite the unusually hot October night. Other guests complained of the heat the following morning too.

The room was not vacuumed during our two day stay despite debris on the carpet. Soap and other necessities were not replenished.

The common area was not conducive to lounging, but set up only for show. The one phone for guests charged 35 cents per local call, more than most cell phones and more than the going rate locally. The outdoor seating areas featured either worn, broken rattan furniture (unlike the lovely new furniture on the website) or littered metal furniture in a small area of the parking lot.

Had this room cost under $100 on the weeknight we stayed there, I might have considered it adequate for the price, but it was closer to $150. I felt badly for my friend who had expected to treat me to a very nice getaway location.

We certainly would not stay at this establishment again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2006
Please note that this reviewer could not help but bring up many positive points even though their intention was to be negative.

“It has a central location as advertised. We were able to walk everywhere, from the harbor area to the mansions and the Cliff Walk.”

“It was reasonably clean when we arrived”

“The view from the breakfast area is attractive”

“At least the 13 inch television was connected to cable”

The negatives were subjective details about the complimentary full gourmet breakfast. They wanted more than wrapped candies, but must have missed the fresh baked cookies. The “unusually hot October night” was beyond our control, air conditioning is provided in the warm months. “The common area was not conducive to lounging, but set up only for show”. Maybe, they do not know how to lounge and relax as many other guests have. The 25 cent phone was for people who come in to find we are full and need to use a phone. The “litter” on the outdoor furniture was probably leaves.

The $150 rate is very inexpensive for Newport especially for such a great location.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2003

Probably my most disappointing lodging experience to date! We often hear of websites making places look better than they really are, well here's one!The best way to describe it is imagine having a basement rec room and deciding to put a king size bed (that doesnt really fit) for overnight guests in it and you pretty much have your "victorian ambiance". Not that the rooms actually were in the basement, but thats the image they envoke. It was not a dirty place and the breakfasts were okay, but to think that I had one of the nicer rooms meaning there are worse rooms is frightening. Rooms dont have luxury items like closets, but instead have an old large coat rack, with old plexi glass covered early american furniture and a rather large printed flyer suggesting tips! Its not like this is the the least expensive place in town either. Newport has far better offerings than this believe me. Simply walk down Clarke Street and you'll score about 4 or 5 of them alone.

Helpful?
10 Thank Jon-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2006
As proud owners of the Artful Lodger, we felt the need to respond to negative reviews since we have so many positive ones that never get on this site. We have been in business since 1992 and still going strong. We don’t please everyone, but we please most and that would be thousands of people.

We have kept a few inexpensive rooms because not everyone can afford Newport prices with this location. Our best suites are well worth their rate, which is under many of our competitors.

The website has only authentic pictures of what we have, not a stage set. The imagination of this poster before and after arrival needs to be questioned. Fortunately, they did not imagine an unclean place and unacceptable breakfasts. They clearly state that. The Clarke Street location they mention is limited to downtown, whereas, we are located within downtown and also walking distance to the mansions and Cliff Walk. The Elms Mansion is diagonally across the street from our Inn.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#17 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#22 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#14 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artful Lodger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artful Lodger Inn

Property: Artful Lodger Inn
Address: 503 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artful Lodger Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian with Harbor Views! Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn! This Victorian Inn offers a variety of accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions as well as having close proximity to Newport's historic downtown. Each day at the Inn will start with a delicious gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artful Lodger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing