We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break from the Bustle”
Review of Schooner Madeleine

Schooner Madeleine
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.00*
and up
Full Day Newport Harbor Sail from New Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy our sailing tours and sunset harbor cruises through Newport Harbor and Narragansett Bay aboard our classic sailing yacht Madeleine. We offer sailing harbor tours and sunset sailing cruises aboard a 72-foot schooner sailing yacht Madeleine, which was specifically designed and built to carry passengers easily and safely sailing through the local waters of Newport. The sailing yacht Madeleine maintains 19th century sailboat style with a 21st century sailing yacht comfort and convenience.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Break from the Bustle”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We thorougly enjoyed our 90 minute tour of the harbor on the Schooner. Make reservations in advance- it fills up fast for every trip out, we would have like to go on the sunset cruise but were unable due to bookings.
The day trip was lovely and a nice break from the crowds.
My only issue was we sat toward the front for the views but the Captain did some narrating from wheel and it was hard to hear him. There are two boat hands that give information but it would be great to have a narrated tour of the trip for the whole boat to enjoy together.
They provide soft drinks and water complimentary.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thanks and glad you chose Madeleine to sail on. We agree that its a great way to see Newport from the water while also relaxing on deck under billowing sails. Madeleine has been very popular ever since she started sailing here in 1991. You are correct in that our narration is much more informal on Madeleine than it is on our other vessel Rum Runner II. On Madeleine, our crew walks around and chats with guests around areas that they are working the boat - they point out highlights along the waterfront in between nautical maneuvering. Rum Runner II is our boat that gives a formal narration (our guide is speaking over a microphone) and up close views along the waterfront. The big difference between the boats is: Madeleine is more for the sailing experience and Rum Runner II is more for the history. next time your visiting Newport, I hope you'll have a chance to try out Rum Runner II for a completely different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    25
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Took a sail on the Madeline with young children and enjoyed it very much. The sailing was smooth and the staff was friendly. If you are in Newport, you must go for a sail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALRHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your sail. Newport has always been known as one of the sailing capitals of the world and we strive to show our guests a great sail and an enjoyable experience. We do take guests of all ages on board and our sailing season runs from end of April through the first weekend in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Morning sail ”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We went on the Madeleine for a morning sail. It was a great 90 minute trip around the harbor. The crew was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Glad you enjoyed the sail. Our morning sail is a lovely time to be out on the water. On average not quite as windy as later in the day and so peaceful. Great sail to start out the day with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We did a 90 minute afternoon cruise and it was great. The crew was very informative pointing out all the sights and answered all questions. The Captain allowed the kids on board and anyone else to take the helm and the kids was all smiles. The wind was just right so the sail was perfect. There were complimentary water and soft drinks and the price was reasonable. We are planning to go on the sunset cruise when we are back in September. Great for all ages for all ages.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiseNewport, Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Not only is it a great sailing experience, our crew is knowledgeable on the area and will point out highlights as well. Its an informal narration where our crew chat with guests around the areas that they are working on board. Guests can ask questions and can even take the wheel (at Captains discretion) and get a real feel for sailing her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice sunset cruise”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I sailed on the sunset cruise July5th. The crew was most friendly and helpful, and answered many of our questions. The cruise went all over the inner harbor of Newport. Luckily, we had a fresh breeze and could tack the boat. There were some young folks on board that got a little rambunctious, but the crew handled them well. We had complementary beer and champagne. I would advise eating dinner beforehand, unless you like eating after 8PM. We enjoyed our cruise a lot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thanks for sailing on Madeleine! The sunset sail complete with champagne and beer is the most popular sail that we do. Its does sail each evening starting at 6:30 during the summer months so unless you prefer to eat late, get in an early dinner the come out with us to watch the sunset.
Guests are also welcome to bring a sandwich or snack with them to enjoy on the sail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schooner Madeleine also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing