We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of The Grill

The Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Perry Mill
Description: The Grill at Forty 1° North is an exclusive dockside restaurant designed to deliver a fresh, upscale dining and entertainment experience while providing a unique and serene respite from Newport’s bustling waterfront scene. The menu features grilled meats, seafood and raw bar, as well as organic and locally sourced selections. There is an open-air dining area, with individual tables and bar seating surrounding the covered Pavilion. Inviting dockside lounge seating creates a perfect setting to relax with cocktails and conversation. Indoors the Dining Room, Oval Bar and Lounge offer sweeping views of the Harbor in a casual yet elegant setting to enjoy timeless cocktails and our full menu.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this restaurant. We sat outside which I enjoy, especially if it is by the water. The views were gorgeous, there was a nearby party smoking though, which I can't blame the restaurant but it wasn't great while we ate. We aren't picky or fussy, though, so we still enjoyed ourselves. The wine was really good, as well as the food. Service was decent. I'd recommend it, but mostly for couples, friends, as it is pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beldabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    53
    34
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Expensive and elegant”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stopped in to this restaurant because there was a sign outside advertising a surf and turf slider special. Although the sign was clearly marked for Forty 1 North, the special was actually for a nearby restaurant, Christies.

I decided to stay and try Forty 1 North. I began with the Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail which was six or so jumbo shrimp presented on ice with cocktail sauce on the side. It was good - but clearly what you pay for here is the elegant ambiance that surrounds you. It was a very enjoyable dining experience, and the service was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueLynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but it's going to cost you”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visited during Newport's Restaurant Week, which many local restaurants offer special menus. In this case it was a appetizer, main course and dessert for $30. At the Grill, this is a relative bargain. The interior is very attractive, the setting is posh, and on a good day the view of the harbor is nice too. Our food all around was good-to-excellent. The scallop appetizer was cooked just right with some very tasty squiggles to dip into, and the pork tenderloin was wonderful and cooked perfectly. The pumpkin mouse was out of this world. Not a thing bad to say about the food or the service, except that 6 oysters, a bottle of wine and 2 coffees almost doubled the bill. In the age of internet, it's not hard to figure out they are marking up the wine 4x. Very little under $50 a bottle (really now). And signature cocktails at the bar are $16. You know, sometimes people will buy more if you charge less. A very nice place for a special night, but eating on a "regular" night is going to run close to $200.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upfrontguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not worth it and overpriced. ”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

It is restaurant week in newport so we decided to give it a try, even though we heard mixed reviews about The Grill. First it's $10 to park. It's November in newport not July. The atmosphere is very nice and the view is killer. The service was very good but overall not on par for level they want to be on. The food was fine but nothing to write home about. The dishes were under seasoned. The pumpkin cheesecake dessert was good but the chocolate cake (they took a big liberty in calling it a cake) was poor. But the thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was the $4.50 cup of coffee for me and my wife. So I spent $9 on 2 small cups of coffee. At that price you better check if I want my coffee warmed up, but not once. Last time. I should have realized because their other restaurant Christies isn't much better. They must realize it, it's restaurant week and the dining room was just 50% full.

Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Chef and Amazing Views!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Grill is an unfortunate name for an astounding restaurant. The boring name does not do this incredible restaurant or its' chef justice. Chef Christopher Lee was stolen away from Aureole in New York City. Aureole, under Chef Lee's charge received a 28 for food from Zagat. He is a culinary genius and his art form continues at the Grill at Forty 1 North. The restaurant has a water view from every seat and gorgeous outdoor seating in the summer. The menu is innovative without being odd. The ingredients are farm fresh. The seafood served is delectable. Our favorites: Grilled Octopus appetizer, tuna appetizers, red spinach salad, free range chicken entree, grey sole and all of the meat entrees. The fall trio dessert is phenomenal as is the sticky toffee pudding. The wine list is perfect and suggestions are spot on. You cannot go wrong. The restaurant serves breakfast/brunch and it's worth going to on a weekend just for the view and yet the food excels the view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anbarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing