We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Navy Lodge - Newport Naval Station
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights to visit Newport. We had to be flexible and wanted to stay longer but no availability. It was perfect for our needs. Very clean, updated, close to Exchange, pleasant staff, good light breakfast, kitchenette, good lighting, plenty of outlets. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank worrellrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although it's difficult to get a reservation, we were able to stay at the Navy Lodge for 3 nights in June. The desk staff were pleasant and the room was huge. There were three of us staying and having the kitchen area was definitely a plus. Our daughter was even happy with the pull out couch and said it was quite comfortable. Breakfast was a little cramped as there is not much room to sit, but for the price, we were very happy. We've tried to get reservations other times, but have found it difficult. We would go back, but the availability is tough. Thanks Navy Lodge. You're a gem.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Teri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had never stayed in a Navy Lodge prior to our December 2012 arrival for our son's graduation on Dec. 21st. You can't beat the price and location. There's a coffee shop up the way and you can walk to the areas of the base you might need. It was cold when we were there and we found our rooms ( we had 3 rooms booked for family) spacious, great kitchenette and best of all, WARM! No, it isn't a resort. It is clean, comfortable and affordable housing. Absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fifraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We moved on orders and were originally told the lodge was booked full when we tried to reserve it before the cross country drive. After our arrival and my husband checking into his new command we stopped in to check before hitting local hotels. They not only had room but scheduled us as a possible extended stay while we looked for a new home. The room had two queen size beds, kitchenette (to our surprise) and plenty of space. We were able to empty our cars from the move during our week stay. The place was very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job throughout our stay. The service at the desk was great and they had light breakfast items available at the desk in the mornings (muffins, yogurt and some fruit). Coffee machine always available and laundry room in the facility. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and it was well priced to boot. This being our first move and our first lodge time being able to stay in the navy lodge versus the local hotels I will choose the lodge every time over a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avellanadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed at this Lodge a bunch of times. Great location in Newport. Super close to exchange, 7-day store, etc. Its a Navy Lodge, not a resort. The rooms are huge and have the kictenetts. Where else can you spend 3 nights in Newport and only spend $150.00 bucks? Tough to get reservations sometimes, but worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scooter12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We recently stayed at this Navy Lodge while spending the weekend in Newport prior to my son's Indoc ceremony into NAPS.

I guess since I don't have anything to compare this to, my review might not be fair. But in the future, we will definitely chose to stay off base. The hotel itself is fine, no elevator to the second floor. The rooms are very roomy and clean.

I didn't get the same feeling staying there as you would at any other hotel in a busy tourist location. I guess the reason is that the Lodge is there to accommodate the Navy personnel needing a place to stay while in the area unlike a regular hotel who caters to tourists.

Being the parents of a midshipman candidate also did not afford us the options of shopping on base so that was very inconvenient when we realized we forget some personal hygiene items, i.e., our toothbrushes. We had to leave the base to go to the Walmart.

Again, if you are Navy, or have a military identification and have stayed at other Navy Lodges, you will think this Lodge is very nice. As a civilian, I think we will be better served staying off base in the future.

Jan checked us in upon arrival and she was helpful, I wasn't happy with the checkout staff on our day of departure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scrapbooker_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at the Navy Lodge Newport. Reservation via 800 number was easy and speedy. Hotel is quite lovely, and rooms were nicely appointed. Only real problem was that there is no elevator to the second floor - a bummer if you have lots of luggage. The Lodge is adjacent to the NEX and close to the Commissary. Only places to eat on base are Blimpies at the NEX (best lobster roll we had on the whole trip!!!!), and the Officer's Club. Checkout time is noon and is strictly enforced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VestalBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.7 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
2.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,056 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge - Newport Naval Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge - Newport Naval Station

Address: 1354 Whipple St, Newport, RI
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newport
Price Range: £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful view of Coddington Bay. We are conveniently located on Naval Station Newport. Our guest rooms and kitchenettes are newly renovated. We provide a Breakfast To Go bag daily with unlimited coffee throughout the day. We provide a home away from home for our military families on PCS orders. We provide lodging for Active Duty, Retirees, and DOD traveling on TDY or Leisure. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing