We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Theres no place like home!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarah Kendall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sarah Kendall House
Ranked #6 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
1 review
“Theres no place like home!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you are looking for a place that has the feeling of home but the comforts of a vacation this is the B&B for you!!! Brian and Fran are sure to remind you if not of your grandparents then most definitively of your favorite aunt and uncle. Brian is a most gracious host concerned by whatever your needs maybe Fran is sure to find a place in your heart with her sassy personality and loved filled cooking, along with stories of the some of the most lovely artifacts the world has to offer. This well traveled couple emerse you in their story as if you yourself were accompanying them on the streets of Europe. The staff is efficient polite and welcoming. the rooms themselves range from cozy and quaint to spacious and roomy. the sun room is a great place to sit back and read a good book with a small sofa rocking and love seat you may also want to have a pleasant conversation with your traveling partner! the porch provides you an ammmmaaazing view of the bridge the boats and the water or if your like me and just like to people watch there is that option. the people in new port love to say hello! the gardens are just so beautiful you thank the gods above you are not the one maintaining them. Fran and Brian think of their guest so much that they leave cookies, nuts, bears, sodas and water out for them through out the day! New to new port dont sweat it brian can tell you anything from what there is to do through out the day ( vineyard tours the mansions cliff walk) to where to go to eat ( 22bowens black pearl or the cookhouse) he is a bundle of useful information. i could not have had a better time then the two times ive stayed at the Sarah Kendall House ( for 4th of july and labor day weekend) each time better than the last! I felt so welcomed as if i was part of the family. If you are looking for that homey feeling with the perks of not lifting a finger the Sarah Kendall House is the place for you!!!!!
***** five stars!!

Thanks so much Brian and Fran!!!
eve

Room Tip: Let brian know what kind of experience you are looking to have and he will do everything in his powe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princessbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    29
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
175
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great property with view of Newport Harbor from lovely front porch. Home has historic authenticity. However, Inn bedding and pillows lack the plushness and comfortable luxury typically associated with this type of property. Mattresses were old and hard, and pillows equally flat.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaltwaterSociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have precious few opportunities to do grown-up trips since we have two little ones under the age of three, so the pressure was on for this one to be fabulous. With the kids at their grandparents', we headed to Newport to take in the Folk Festival and stay overnight in a B&B. We have little experience with B&Bs, but we do know what we like! The innkeepers at the Sarah Kendall clearly know hospitality!

The location couldn't be better. The neighborhood is quiet and residential, and still close to everything we wanted to see and do. We walked 5 minutes to our water taxi to get to the concert at Fort Adams State Park, and we walked 15 minutes to a delicious dinner up Broadway later in the evening.

The property is gorgeous and well-cared for. The gardens are spectacular! If you're have the wonderful opportunity to stay here, allow for plenty of time relaxing on the front porch. The gentle sea breeze combined with the view of the Goat Island Lighthouse surrounded by sailboats is quintessential Newport. We stayed in a lovely, comfortable room. Though the sea breeze made for perfect temperatures in the room, we turned on the a/c to muffle any street noise and guarantee ourselves a rare full night's sleep. We needn't have bothered.

Breakfast at the Sarah Kendall is DELICIOUS! The homemade bagels, muffins and coffee cake was the perfect accompaniment to the excellent coffee. The hot breakfast of blueberry pancakes and bacon that Fran was cooking the morning we were there was better than anything we could have hoped to find in a Newport breakfast spot.

Forgive the rambling review...we loved our time at the Sarah Kendall and wish it could have lasted longer! Next year, we'll plan accordingly! Thank you, Babcock family!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IthacaMama369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

just what the doctor (or therapist) prdered. We needed a night away and went back to the Sarah Kendall House. Had a nice stay the last time and really enjoyed it, this was even better. Perhaps we were so deprived from alone time either way it was just what we needed, thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanandjennyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last minute quick trip to Newport and stumbled across he Sarah Kendall House while looking for a place to stay. Boy were we pleased. While walking over town, we saw other highly rated bed and breakfasts, and were SO HAPPY we decided to stay at the Sarah Kendall House. Everything was absolutely perfect. The location was so perfect! Within walking distance to the downtown area, but nestled in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by other historic homes. The impecably clean house is gorgeously decorated inside and out, with a huge wrap-around porch over-looking the harbor, and beautiful gardens surrounding the house. The breakfast spread every morning was so huge, one didn't know what to eat first! Bryan was a wealth of knowledge about the area, and made himself available to answer our questions all weekend long. My husband especailly enjoyed the brandy and cookies that were left out for all of the guests to enjoy, while I particularly enjoyed the fresh apples left out. Bottom line... when we return to Newport, we will FOR SURE be staying at Sarah Kendall House again. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzanecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delicious breakfast . Wonderful

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fittysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Brian and Fran are long time industry professionals who take the comfort of their guests very seriously. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in various parts of the world and staying at the Sarah Kendall House was a most pleasurable experience. The property offers manicured gardens, a comfortable porch, thoughtful common areas, and a stellar location with great views. The hosts provide fantastic homemade breakfast and useful advice, in addition to certain amenities often overlooked in a poor economy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmangione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.8 mi away
Francis Malbone House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Kendall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Kendall House

Property: Sarah Kendall House
Address: 47 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-8526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarah Kendall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast in historical neighborhood. Homes are colonial and Victorian some dating back to 1700. Very quiet area but a short walk to the center of town. On the harbor( see the Newport bridge beautifully lite at night) beautiful front porch with antique wicker furniture to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sarah Kendall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Kendall House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing