We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B, lovely neighborhood, long walk to center of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarah Kendall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sarah Kendall House
Ranked #8 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, lovely neighborhood, long walk to center of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The young woman who received us was pleasant but not particularly friendly or outgoing. She is most likely a little shy.

The owners of the B&B were traveling which was a great disappointment for us. Is always nice when you're welcomed by the owner because they take such pride in their home. They can tell you stories about the house or area. It personalizes and adds another dimension to your stay.

The house itself was beautiful and a wonderful hot breakfast was cooked to order, along with a large selection of fresh fruits, breads, bagels, donuts, and juice. The front porch is very welcoming, with plenty of room for guests to relax. A cooler stocked wirh soda and beer was placed on the porch in the evening.

We were in the Isaac Kendall Room. It was clean with a large bathroom and robes in the closet. The one thing that surprised me was the bed linens. The pillow cases did not match the sheets. They were not a coordinating set either. I had also hoped for that really crisp clean sheet feel. Whatever the type of sheets they use, they were not particularly nice to sleep on.

This was a very special occasion for us and I felt that overall, despite the beauty, it was pretty sterile.

I would never begrudge an owner time away. Nor would I complain about a loyal employee who does her job. For me, I will not book a room in the future if the owner is not there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTruthNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    29
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
179
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lee, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This past weekend I stayed at the Sarah Kendall House. Brian and Fran, the owners, are delightful hosts and their home is a total delight. We stayed in the guest house on the third floor overlooking the water. The room was quaint, immaculate, and filled with great energy. We loved it! Breakfast was also wonderful... homemade pancakes, fresh bagels (made daily), fruits, pastries... yum! I don't think we could have found more perfect place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

What a gem of a place.! We were on a spur of the moment get a way with friends and we were directed to the Sarah Kendall Inn by the Visitors Center.. What a warm and inviting home . All the rooms have a gas fire place and soft terrycloth robes.Breakfast was fantastic all served in a museum like setting.The inn keepers Fran and Bryan are full of great local history . We will be returning to Sarah Kendall next trip down to Newport.

Room Tip: All were special in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massacusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you are looking for a B&B look no further. Excellent location, beautiful clean rooms and magnificent breakfast. Upon arrival before entry you will notice its location is ideal. The inn is within walking distance to the harbor and Thames Street and has great views of Goat Island. Upon entering you will be greeted by a very knowledgable innkeeper/ owner offering history on the inn as well as recommendations of places to eat and local attractions. The inn and room is magnificent and spotlessly clean. I've got a bit of OCD and couldn't have been happier with the cleanliness. The mattresses were super comfortable and the room decorated perfectly. We took the well worth it trek to the third floor siting area where you have spectacular 360 views. In the morning we were greeted by a beautifully set table full with a variety of foods fresh bagels, muffins, banana bread, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, cranberry juice, orange juice, water with lemon and they also served each guest a hot plate of delicious food which changed daily.. Honestly, stop looking Bryan and his wife Fran have thought of it all and have the perfect recipe for a great B&B . Thanks to them for a wonderful place to stay for my husband and I during our weekend getaway.. We will definitely be returning.
Mr. & Mrs. J

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Wanting something other than a hotel we were directed to the Sarah Kendall B&B by the Visitor Information Service in town. It is absolutely charming and we were staying only one day but ended up staying as long as we were able to which was three! Bryan and Fran Babcock were delightful and Bryan an unbelievable kind, helpful and perfect host. The breakfasts were to die for no need for lunch with all that was on offefr. Rooms were charming, comfortable and good hot showers. If there was a problem (which we didn't have) Bryan as there. He recommended eateries (Belle's, Jo's Bistro and Rumbline) all terrific ans was a wealth of information. We walked everywhere locally and drove only to see the mansions which are a must and along the delightful Ocean Scenic Drive. We met some lovely guests and hope to return. Don't look anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

where to start...great location, warm friendly sincere owners, the hair dryer always works, top floor i always get hot water, the beds ooze comfort and a 5 star second to none breakfast each morning. while a few might be less expensive, they will also not have the quality and consistency of the above mentioned. while some might be more expensive, i ask why??? why???

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from a wedding anniv weekend and we are already discussing our next trip back. Upon arriving we were greeted with the utmost hospitality. The SKH is located a block from the water with a view from the cozy front porch as well. The SKH is the best B&B one could ask for. Owners, Bryan & Fran are great people who really offered many tips and provided great historical stories. Just one example of their kind gestures: Before my arrival I called and requested a "happy anniv balloon" for my wife to be placed in our room - when we walked into our room I was amazed and appreciative to see the 4 balloon-arrangement w/ wine. I cant say enough about how Bryan & Fran added to my surprise weekend I planned for my wife. The SKH is perfectly located in downtown Newport and has everything one could want in a B&B (great food, CLEAN, comfy beds, great rooms, beautiful grounds and one cool cat, named "Rhodey"). Perfect! Stop searching and book a room here (before I do)!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Kendall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Kendall House

Property: Sarah Kendall House
Address: 47 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-8526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarah Kendall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast in historical neighborhood. Homes are colonial and Victorian some dating back to 1700. Very quiet area but a short walk to the center of town. On the harbor( see the Newport bridge beautifully lite at night) beautiful front porch with antique wicker furniture to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarah Kendall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Kendall House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing