We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like amazing food and great service, go here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Genie's Hookah Lounge

Genie's Hookah Lounge
Ranked #149 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$5 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Located in the heart of Newport, catering to those who enjoy finer things, Genie's offers an ambiance that is unmatched in Rhode Island with first class service, gourmet meals and teas, & of course hookahs.
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
“If you like amazing food and great service, go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Fantastic! The menu was great, the staff was so friendly and nice, the service was some of the best I've ever had, and the atmosphere was relaxing. I spent about 3 hours there with my boyfriend. Everything was perfect. I'd go there weekly if I lived nearby!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank strawberrypancakesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best culturally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Ive been to many hookah bars and this is my favorite after a great diner in Newport stop here for a hookah and culturally yummy dessert! The desserts are great! Just as a side note they are b.y.o.b however in the plaza across the street you can buy a bottle of wine and the hookah bar provides cups for a silly $2 price a piece cleaning charge.

Helpful?
3 Thank NewEnglandWaterfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutly amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

The best!! All around hookah place I've ever been too!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigjayncali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Foul smelling food and unethical behaviour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I went mainly for the middle eastern food. Ordered the soda first. It was watery, no taste and zero fizz.(guy sitting behind us had the same complaint too). Were told something wrong with the soda machine. Then ordered chicken kebab with rice. Yucks...foul smell...either the food was stale or maybe something else...but yucks..we stopped eating after just one bite of kebab and a spoonful of rice....the unethical part comes from charging us for the soda (of which we took only a sip) which was just colored water. ...in the end, no food, no soda but ended up paying for eveything (and heck they charged 20% tip on top of all this..their standard policy it seems).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Genie's Hookah Lounge, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Hello and we are terribly sorry you had such an unpleasant experience. Unfortunately machines break down, including soda machines and your table was the first table to experience the soda issue. The soda was not "watered down" as you claim, but in fact not well carbonated. To insinuate that we would water down soda that costs us roughly 11 cents makes no sense. The CO2 tank was not working properly and subsequently we were unable to provide temporarily carbonated beverages.

You were the first guest to experience this and for that we are sorry. We offered you two options in response to your soda issue.
1) we would remove it from your bill completely.
Or
2) you can order another drink and pay the same as you did for the soda.

You chose an Orangina which is $1.50 more than the soda. You drank the entire orangina (which is a carbonated orange soda that we serve in bottle) and paid the price of a soda. You did not have to order another drink but you chose to and enjoyed your choice.

Furthermore, after we realized the soda machine was down we immediately purchased bottled sodas to offer to our patrons so this would not happen again.

In regards to the food, since you are of a Pakistani background we would assume that you would be familiar with a variety of spices and their fragrances. You say in this review it was foul smelling, however at the lounge you told your waitress who checked on you repeatedly that you and your wife were enjoying everything including the food (which you ate over 60% of).

To review us so maliciously is unethical. If you check our reviews on any other site you will see what kind of service and products we offer. We are sincerely apologetic to your experience and hope the next time you are back in Newport you would try us again.

As a gesture of good will we would like to offer you 20% off your bill next time you come in.

Sincerely,
Genie's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genie's Hookah Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Genie's Hookah Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing