We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to excel but...”

The Preservation Society of Newport County
Ranked #26 of 117 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Society dedicated to the preservation of 9 of Newport's mansions.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Continues to excel but...”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visits to the properties always shows me the effort from the staff to continue to improve the visitors experience. Advertised refreshments at 2 of the houses was not available, leaving visitors to use vending machines and/or having to drive into town for food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank trebord90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willamette Valley, Oreon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Try and Get Raymond!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

our wedding party combined forces and paid the rather steep price to the society so we could purchase a private tour. With a party of 5 that cost per person for 2 houses was well over $100 each. First let me say the experience far exceeded my expectations..as one person said "it was fantastic". These are all seasoned travelers. That being said the tour guide was THE SECRET INGREDIENT!! while there are taped guided tours, the personal details, the historic insights, and the ability to compare and contrast from one house (The Elms) to another (The Breakers), and, possibly most important, his multifaceted answers to questions made the cottages come alive. Our guide was the worldly, eloquent, knowledgeable, witty, and friendly as can be Raymond. A key is that he will accompany the party from one house to another so by the end of the afternoon he knows something about each persons particular interest. His command of the history was astounding. All agree he is the greatest!! Thanks Raimondo!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gerrythetravelhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent job!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Preservation Society of Newport has done a really nice job of keeping the mansions in good condition and grounds as well. Although many are very old and may be difficult to keep up, they have done a nice job of making these houses accessible for all to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G'boro NC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Keys To The Castle”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Along with the Newport Restoration Society, the Preservation Society opens Newport's treasures, formerly private homes, beautifully furnished, to the public. Unless you're in Newport for a long while, it's hard to choose which to visit. Each has it's own charm, history and unique attributes. Pick as many as your stay allows.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank haly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This center is very helpful and informative. The volunteers could not have been nicer! We arrived in early spring; not all venues were open but we very happy with what we did see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Preservation Society of Newport County also viewed

 

Been to The Preservation Society of Newport County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing