We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Kudos to the Preservation Society for their work” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Preservation Society of Newport County

The Preservation Society of Newport County
Ranked #22 of 108 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Society dedicated to the preservation of 9 of Newport's mansions.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,477 reviews
646 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 911 helpful votes
“Kudos to the Preservation Society for their work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We wouldn't be able to visit any enjoy some of the spectacular homes in a Newport if it wasn't for the work of the Preservation Society. As many of the incredible mansions were abandoned or neglected, the Society stepped in, purchasing the properties and invested millions to bring the them back to their original grandeur. Regardless of what one thinks of the families who originally built these summer homes, they are a piece of history and a connection to the gilded age when a relatively few individuals controlled so much of the country's wealth. Keep up the great work!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An excellent glimpse into a bygone era”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The work the Preservation Society has done to restore and preserve the homes of the Gilded Age is nothing short of miraculous. The mansions are all amazing, I suggest the five property pass, and the gift shops have some really great finds.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
390 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A museum we can all enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is an absolutely fabulous museum. Located in a restored mansion on famed Bellevue Ave in Newport the museum takes up the first floor and lower levels of the mansion. You will recognize so much of the art/illustrations and learn so much about the artists themselves. Totally fascinating. I recommend you go when there is a guided tour which is only on Friday at 3:00PM. The docent was very knowledgeable, providing information about the illustrations and the artists.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were a family of 5 and stumbled on a Groupon for family membership- what a great value and experience

We were able to visit 9 of the 10 mansions and properties held by the preservation society and it was a great experience and insight into past lifestyles 100 years ago

I was not sure our teanagers would enjoy, but 2 out of 3 really enjoyed and kept wanting more

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CnTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Preservation Society does a good job at preserving those mansions and opening them up for visits to the general public. The Breakers has a children's audio tour which is great, would hope to see them extend such a tour to some of the other properties.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALRHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Preservation Society of Newport County also viewed

 

Been to The Preservation Society of Newport County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing