We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay, nothing special or "resort" about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Both doors to the entryway were wide open and the entire lobby smelled like cigarette smoke... every time we came through. The entire lobby is glass as we approached, and we saw two maintenance workers were hanging around the front desk, chit-chatting with the receptionist as we walked in. They promptly left, but set did set an off-putting first impression. As we stood at the desk, the clerk had her cigarettes sitting right on the counter, and was mumbling to herself throughout the entire check-in process. She was friendly, but not very professional in her actions nor her appearance. When we left our room for dinner, she was standing right outside smoking- still with both sets of entryway doors open- which obviously explains the cigarette smell. When we came home, she was standing outside once again with a snow shovel in one hand and a cigarette in the other- it hasn't been snowy in days so it appeared that was just an "excuse" to be outside smoking. Both sets of doors still open. The room was ok, nothing spectacular but we didn't expect that. What we did expect was a clean room which, at first glance it appeared to be, but there were MULTIPLE different hairs throughout the place as we started putting our stuff down. Long strands of various colored hair between the living room, shower, on top of our bedspread, and on the floor. In the morning when we went to check out, the lobby still smelled like smoke and it seems that's a permanent smell. Not very inviting when checking into a "resort"... honestly, there was no "resort" experience about it- it felt more like a lower end hotel stay. The receptionist in the morning was pleasant and appeared to be professional as we approached. She said good morning, and as we walked towards the desk and indicated we were checking out, she looked surprised. I gave her my name and she said "Oh, short stay." I said yes, she said "you're all set" and we left. She didn't bother asking how the stay was, etc, just merely commented on the fact that we had stayed only one night. Very bizarre. Everything else was ok, but we are unlikely to revisit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Went to this resort for the week for Super bowl week. It's off season for Newport. Got a room with Ocean view. Most of the rooms comes with Ocean view. Everything in the unit works. And its comfortable for four people. The furniture was dated but comfortable. I slept on the sofa bed for one night and it was not bad. We were given a key for the Owner's Lounge. We had the whole room to ourselves. Expected a lot of family to show and only my sister and her husband showed. Only disappointment was the Restaurant and bar was closed for the season and not mention on the RCI travel site.

Room Tip: Got the top floor ocean view room #604 also has an roof top lounge to drink and sunbathes. Watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egg1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Great location right on the Harbor. Location is central to Thames and America's Cup Way-steps away from great restaurants and bars. Our room had a small kitchen, was clean and neat. Sprinkler pipes run through the rooms, sort of giving the feel of living in a converted destroyer or battleship. However, you'll forget the piping after enjoying the view. Staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: 403 perfectly centered at flag pole on harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keywestfanyeahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Newport, RI during the off season. Our stay at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor was very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in Newport (especially without the crowds). Our room was clean and all of the the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. The location is very ideal (everything is within walking distance) and the view from the roof deck was amazing (we didn't get a harbor facing room). The layout of the room we were in was a little strange because you entered/exited into the hallway from the bedroom.The room was equipped with most of the standard Wyndham amenities and had free WiFi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pirate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We couldn't be happier with our choice to book at this resort! We stayed just outside of town last year when we traveled to Newport for the Wine & Food Festival. This was a huge step up in all regards. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance including restaurants, shopping, harbor cruise and bars. The room had everything you could possibly imagine that made our stay feel like home away from home. The roof top deck is a must!!! Gorgeous views.

Room Tip: It's worth it to choose a room with a harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunset114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The location was great! Located in the historical district! We enjoyed that and our room overlooking the harbor. Our room was very clean! We were able to enjoy the beautiful sunsets. Parking was tight but they made it work. Our room however was very small. We did not have an oven or dishwasher, so that was disappointing. For the most part, the staff was friendly! Some were friendlier than others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Naomi0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Studio layout is poor with front door passing thru main bedroom. Walls were paper thin so we could hear everything going on in adjacent units. Very good location but really poor parking arrangements. No dishwasher and daylight visible from bedroom emanating from hallway.Definitely would not pay a premium for these accommodations. I do not mind roughing it when visiting my son but would not accept this as a vacation accommodation.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank KEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £112 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing