We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, location, location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Location, location, location...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

After many years of staying in Newport with our kids, we came for a couples weekend. This location was truly incredible, in the middle of it all on Lower Thames street. But, because it is set back from the street with stunning views of the harbor, there is very little noise. The rooms are well appointed, like a comfort inn though not lux by any means. The staff were very helpful, and the parking space in the heart of Newport was probably worth more than the room! A great place to stay for a weekend...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NYcitygirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello, we are so pleased you got to enjoy some time in Newport and at our location for a couples weekend! The views, location and parking are what we consider our top "amenities." Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    51
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

great harbor views, adequate furnishings, all was very clean and the staff was welcoming and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the roof deck and found the apartment to be quiet and peaceful. We were in walking distance of everything at night, so it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback! We will share your kind words with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Newport, RI. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

In the first week of May, the resort was fully booked. Fortunately, I got a quiet one bedroom deluxe unit on the third floor, that faced Newport Harbor and the Newport bridge.

All-a-shore, that's going a-shore :-). I put into Newport Harbor many years ago, aboard a Caribbean Cruise ship, that had to race out of Bermuda a day or two early to avoid a Hurricane. Actually, coming ashore after all these years turned-out to be an incredible adventure.

In many respects, Wyndham Inn on the Harbor is the cozy Manhattan apartment building that I dreamed about, when I moved to New York City in the early 1970s. It's an elevator building with limited outdoor and indoor on-premises parking. The front desk in the lobby appeared to be staffed 24/7. And, guests have access to an on-premises laundry room. The kitchenettes are equipped with a full refrigerator, cook top and a microwave oven. On the negative side, there is no stove or dishwasher in the units.

For the daring, Wyndham Inn on the Harbor has a roof top deck. On nice days, it might be a nice lounge area. I hesitate to recommend it, because the seagulls are very active around the top of the building. A couple of days into my stay, seagulls splattered my windows with bird droppings and deprived me of my harbor view :-).


Be forewarned, Wyndham Inn on the Harbor has no gym, swimming pool, business center or game room. The YMCA is two miles away. If you're in the mood to walk, Bellevue Avenue and Newport's fabled Mansions of its "Gilded Age" are at the limits of what might be considered reasonable walking distance, especially if you factor in the added walking once you start to explore the mansions :-).

Early in May, a number of Newport's ice cream parlors, candy shops and bakeries were waiting until Memorial Day to rollout their full menu offerings. Like many resort communities, some of the businesses seem to scale back their operations, when the tourist season is over.

In the first week of May, the Preservation Society of Newport County had staffed and opened all of its mansions to the public (e.g., The Breakers, Marble House, the Elms, etc.). I only wish that I had more time to take it all in :-).

Last Fall, I made my first trip to Martha's Vineyard. Newport appears to be more urban and built-up than Martha's Vineyard, which is only a short drive and a ferry ride, away. Both destinations are very appealing. Newport has more of an upscale suburban vibe. Martha's Vineyard has more of a rustic relaxing beach community vibe.







:

Room Tip: I was happy with my location on an upper floor overlooking the parking lot and an adjacent hotel/clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lutillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for this great feedback! I am glad you were pleased with your time here and were able to come back to enjoy the shore! While we do lack amenities on site we make up for in our superb location. Again, thanks for the feedback and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location was fantastic. You are in walking distance from just about anything. The roof deck has amazing an view of the harbor and is a beautiful place to get a little sun, have a cocktail or watch the sunset. Unfortunately, my wallet was stolen on the rood deck when I wasn't paying attention. It was later returned with $150.00 missing. So, enjoy the view but watch your belongings. I only turned away for a second to take a picture and it was gone.

I was disappointed in our room. We booked the room almost a year ago and ended up with a fabulous view of a brick building. If you squished your face at the right angle you could catch a gimps of the harbor. The room was in need of serious updating. It was extremely outdated and had a funky odor to it. They still you those floral bedspreads that your use to seeing at low end motel chains. The kitchen was great and very clean. It came in handy with making our own breakfast and having cold beverages on hand.

Cindy ( we think that was her name) was extremely helpful, very knowledgeable and always had a smile. Not all the front deck staff was as helpful, unfortunately.

I would stay again but suggests they upgrade a little.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephielee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for this great feedback, it will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort! We are in the process of converting all bedspreads to white duvets and anticipate all units to be converted by the end of July. I truly apologize for what happened with your wallet, it is a shame that you had to experience that while on vacation. Please give us the opportunity to make your stay better in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love to visit Newport off-season when we can use our memberhsip, but would rent it if it were available peak. But, that's the problem with Newport. It's great in the summer and everyone know s about it. That's why Wyndham has 5 Hotel Resorts and the nicest and newst across the bridge on Jamestown Island. I've stayed Harbor view and Long Warf which are easy to confuse. This is my favorite location with free parking in the heart of Newport, not having to walk as far as from Long Warf. Wyndham runs an excellent show because we're all owners, not renters. They're so polite and polished it hurts. Facility is maintained well. One shortcoming: that although we had a great harbor view, there aren't open balconies like Long Warf (which also has a better ppol and exrcise facility). It's in better condition though than LW. Either way, you can't lose.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor view and not to be near an elevator...
See more room tips
Green Features: Everybody's eco because it saves them money. Really?
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words! We will share these comments with our associates. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit in Newport or Jamestown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a pleasant stay. Room was dated but clean and staff was pleasant. We didn't like the bedroom right off the entrance, but it was pretty quiet overnight so it wasn't a big issue. We liked being right in downtown, and being able to cook our own breakfast in the mini-kitchen. I wouldn't call it a "resort", but we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words, we will share these with our associates! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit!

Jill Carbone
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Good
Location is great. Walk outside and you have the harbor behind you and downtown shops and restaurants all in walking distance.
We had a partial bay view which was ok but there is a rooftop deck with fabulous expansive view of the harbor and the bridge. I imagine the bay view rooms are great if you can get one.
Everything was clean and we are picky about cleanliness. Plush towels, big clean shower, kitchen with large refrigerator, microwave and very nice and new dishes, utensils, etc.
Parking is under the building and we never had a problem getting a spot. There are spaces by the lobby but if you park there you need to give your keys to the front desk as you may be blocking someone else in. There is a coin operated laundry room on the third floor.
The Not So Good
Although clean, it has not been renovated so the decor is rather tired and outdated, except for the kitchen cabinets. However, it was sufficient for our needs. The bedroom is separated from the kitchen with bi-fold doors so not a true bedroom. It is also right off the hallway and the walls are paper thin. We could hear phone conversations in the next room. Fortunately I brought earplugs and slept fine. The airflow in the room is poor and had to be supplemented with a built in fan. It can be very stuffy. However there is a small window you can open.
Although not disappointing, not one of the nicer properties we have stayed at. The location makes up for most of the not so good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Property: Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing