We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newburyport MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

Ended up in the Inn on the Harbor by accident. Meant to book one of the other Wyndham's in town, there are a few. Great location across from the Red Parrot. Free parking was good. The one bedroom suite was better than an average hotel room, but, really wish it had more amenities. No bathtub, no pool, or hot tub, no view. At least they could give a pass to pool at Wyndham owned nearby property. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    37
    12
    7
See reviews for
28
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

Had a great week with my husband at the Newport Inn on Thames Street. We had a one bedroom apartment with a beautiful view of the harbor. The best part was the view and the closeness to restaurants and shops. America's Cup avenue was just a 20 min walk away. That's where you'll find Annie's Restaurant, good breakfast place, and a CVS, a Natural food market and a Stop and Shop grocery store.
You can also take a trolley from there to the Mansions.
The kitchen of our place was tiny, think NY studio, but having lived in small spaces, I did not have a problem with it. It had a microwave, a fridge, toaster, blender & 2 burners. Staff was very helpful and after we said we would not go to the timeshare presentation, they did NOT continue to harass us. Place was very clean. They have maid service once a week and free use of the laundromat.

Helpful?
2 Thank miatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

We had a great time in Newport, RI. Inn on the Harbor was newly remodeled as far as the rooms. They are small and not top of the line. We were not fortunate enough for a harbor view but we did have a wonderful view of the neighboring building's roof and the parking lot. Parking was quite ridiculous in my opinion. There isn't enough parking in Newport PERIOD! Parking at the Inn on the Harbor was 2 deep. So if your car is on the outside you must leave your keys for the staff to move your car so that the person parked in can get out. You get maid service one time - it is called a mid-week clean and tidy. There was a roof top deck that was nice for watching the sunset with a great view of the bridge. Also, there is a bar/restaurant in the bottom and you have to deal with drunken people on the weekend. We encountered a young couple upon arrival that was not acting appropriately in front of our children. If you aren't that worried about the room because all you are doing is showering and sleeping, then have no worries...but if you want extra accommodations such as a pool, well, they don't have one.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — parking, view
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Familyof4-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

This hotel has no amenities -- no pool, no linen change or housekeeping (we emptied our own trash and took it down to the front desk). (once per week housekeeping supposedly came, but our tattered towels didn't get changed) It was sometimes loud and our room had exposed pipes along the ceiling - it was bizarre.

The staff was not very helpul. When we asked about the lack of a pool, we were told that we could use the YMCA several miles away. We then asked what amenities the Y had, or when open swim was (thinking our kids may still want to go) the staff said they didn't know but we could go over and check it out. We decided not to take our vacation time to explore the local Y, so just did without....

The kitchen has a microwave, no oven, no dishwasher, and does have a stovetop. There is one wall air conditioner which did not regulate temperature well in our 2BR unit, and was so loud, we just turned it off at night anyway (we are NOT light sleepers).

Our room had a view of the alley - no balcony or anything either.

The location is right in the middle of the shops and the action on Thames St., which is good if you want a nice walkable location - you are right near everything, but some rooms have noise problems.

Parking is an issue - they take your car keys at the front desk so they can move cars around.

Overall, we had a great time in Newport, but this "resort" was more like a Motel 6 with an extra bed than a Fairfield/Wyndham resort property.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jcb_sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

The best part is the central location and the harbor views - just beautiful and very convenient. The staff is courteous and appears to be helpful however they do not communicate and can not respond promptly as they seem to have to wait for others for infomation. Overall we found the hotel in need of renovation for a silver rating as the rugs were old and dirty, and the house cleaning is marginal. We stayed for 10 days - in two separate rooms and the first had ants and the second was not vacummed properly with pototo chips in the pull out couch and the bed still made upon check-in. We called maintenance and waited over one hour for a response. We were 'upgraded' to a harbor view on Friday & Saturday night which we thought was apectacular however we were not told that there would be a band playing below us until 12:30 at night at a noise level where we could hear every word - of the band and the crowd. This was not ideal seeing that our children were very tired and could not sleep. They were already exhausted from waiting for housekeeping to clean & make up the pull out couch for them. I would not stay here again - at $260 a night the rooms were small and in need of new carpets, and the noise level from the bar below did not allow for a good night's sleep. This hotel was not worthy of a silver rating!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — size, cleanliness and the noise level
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank missyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

There were 8 young women in 2 of the other rooms. They came in at 1:30am very drunk, loud, slamming doors, yelling in the hallways, knocking on doors. When asked very nicely and calmly to please quiet down they responded by using obcenities and getting louder. We had to call the front desk 3 times. Each time security was sent to their rooms but as soon as security left, the girls resumed yelling their offensive language(“F.... the other guests”), door slamming, yelling "Ole Ole" etc. This went on until 3am when they must have passed out. The staff was very apologetic but did not/could not remove offensive guests.
Wireless access to the internet is free at even the most inexpensive motels these days. Yet at this property there is a charge of $5 per hour!! from "ResortWiFi". We tried to use it but the signal strength was so weak we could not access the internet at all.
There is a restaurant/bar/club (H2O) on the ground level and deck of this property which has very loud bands on Friday nights. There is no mention of this in any of the Wyndham literature about this property. Potential guests should be forewarned about the noise from the "entertainment" before making their reservations.
The doors to the individual units are heavy and are prone to slamming. They slam even harder if guests have their balcony window open which causes a wind tunnel effect. This is also true regarding the folding doors separating the bedroom area from the living area. This is also a safety hazard. Guests should be asked to kindly make sure to shut their doors softly and be made aware of the potential safety hazard upon check-in.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy, no internet access
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mergallo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

We just got back from Newport. The hotel is centrally located and that is the best part along with the view of the harbor. The direction and signs are very poor as to finding the hotel. There is construction going on so most of their parking is gone.(We were also awakend by the construction about 7 AM) The parking situation is difficult and I can't imagine what it would be like in the warmer months. I've come to find out that the different floors are rated by RCI. The 5th & 6th floor are silver crown and the 3rd & 4th floor are hospitality. (We were on the 4th) They were clean and well stocked with tools for the partial kitchen. However, I was shocked to find 2 boxes of TIDE on the counter. It turns out that room service comes mid-week. If you want you can wash your towels on the 3rd floor for free, or pay extra per day for fresh towels. No where had I read anything about that. I had read on some review about a nice tub...no way just a clean shower. The rooms were clean, but the hallway & elevator smelled. The place is in transition, it is being taken over by Wyndham.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank aqualover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
#12 of 21 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Property: Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing