We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury,CT
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

My husband heard about this property from a coworker who stayed here for a company get together financed by his wif'e's employer, a large pharmaceutical company. My first comment after looking over the choices on the hotel website was that "bigger and more expensive doesn't always mean better"...Husband totally ignored this and said "I want an ocean view in villa accomodations". His birthday..his paycheck so I booked the Martha's Vineyard Villa.

Now eating my words: It is Gorgeous!!!.

The villas have private entrances all with their own courtyards. The ocean view ones have a lower courtyard with hot tub (operating in January) and saunas, while the garden villas also with courtyard, have only the hottubs. A set of stairs brings you to a deck with a bench seat in the corner providing the best oceanview and a table with a few other chairs. Enter the villa through a set of huge atrium doors into a beautifully decorated room (blues) that initially seems a little small for the price. I forgot to mention the welcome glasses of champagne at checkin and the bowl of fruit awating us on the villa's wetbar. The front desk attendant escorted us to our villa (not in the original mansion) and showed us how to work the lighting, fireplace, and three headed sunken marble shower and jacuzzi in the bathroom with heated floor tiles! A bathroom to die for.
The Martha's Vineyard Villa has a wetbar, fridge, gas fireplace, large TV enclosed in paneling above the fireplace and a king sized opulent 4 postered canopy bed along with 2 comfy chairs and an ottoman at the foot of the bed all located in front of the fireplace and TV.
Lay on the bed, look at the fire and gaze out the window s/atriums onto the icey Atlantic waters of Newport's First Beach or better yet, wake up in time for the spectacular sunrise ( even in 20 degree January weather). Robes are provided upstairs for the showers and downstairs for the hottub with slippers at both locations as well. Bottled water provided at the wetbar and hot tub .The front desk calls to make sure you would like turndown and what time is convenient. If you prefer privacy, say no and enjoy the enclosed gated courtyard to your heart's content.
A newspaper is delivered , placed in a bag outside your locked courtyard entrance for the AM and options for breakfast include a continental breakfast deliverd to your room or breakfast in the Spiced Pear , the onsite restaurant with stunning views from all tables. Breakfast, included in the room price, is superb. We had the signature Frenchtoast and the Eggs Benedict, beautiful presentation and just plain yummy.
I am sorry that I didn't give the Spiced Pear a chance for dinner as the breakfast was delicious. One of the other Trip Advisor reviewers noted that for 2 dinner was $400...they must have had some pricey bottle of wine for the menu prices i observed while high, were no more outrageous than any other exclusive restaurant. I cannot imagine spending mroe than $200.
After breakfast ,we asked the front desk attendant if we could see one of the other mansion rooms ( I was hoping to see the Louis XVI..the room i would have chosen). She showed us the Greek Revival, a very nice room with a superb deck overlooking a full Atlantic Ocean view over cliff walk. This room is very reasonably priced and i wouldn't hesitate to stay here. She then showed us the English Tudor Suite, a little dark for my tastes but lovely with an in room paneled raised jacuzzi..very stately. And lastly , she brought us into the Louis XVI...which was quite lovely with a set of three windows forming a bay with sitting area and a deck that adjoined the Greek revivals with its spectacular views. This room was quite opulent and along with the English manor one of the three priciest in the mansion.

This getaway was to celebrate my husband's birthday. We have stayed in many hotels through the years, many costing more than their worth though we are willing to pay for a view! None have been anything like this. A former Newport Mansion located on the famous CLiff Walk, it has been refurbished beautifully. We paid winter prices which i thought were a little steep initially. The summer prices almost triple but for January with a sunrise to order, the Martha's Vineyard Villa with all its amenities and beautiful features including the yummy Spiced Pear breakast was worth every penny.
If you are celebrating a special occasion any of the rooms would be a treat. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Stunning Ocean Views, Great Bathroom
  • Disliked — That it costs so much in the summer..It would be perfect then!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    62
    25
    14
    16
See reviews for
65
474
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2008

My stay at The Chanler was a surprise gift to me from my fiancee. And surprised I was! Wow what a beautiful location and a beautiful hotel. We stayed Saturday night in January so it was not too crowded . I think that's a good thing because this way you get great service. We have traveled around the world and are sometimes dissapointed by deceiving photo's online from hotels. This was the opposite. The entrance to the hotel property is very nice and we were friendly welcomed by a hostess who guided us to our room. We were stunned when we entered our room (the williamsburg) Fireplace was on and romantic music was playing. The room was spotless and very nicely decorated. The room had 2 beautiful bathrooms both with heated floors. One bathroom had a spa bath tub, the other a huge double shower and tv. The lighting in the room and bathrooms could be adjusted from bright to dim. Very nice. We did the cliffwalk (a must) before dinner. The dining room was very nice. My fiancee asked for a table by the window when he made the reservation and indeed that's what we got.The food. My dishes were great, my fiacee's dishes were "ok". Dessert was not great but good. The prices at "The spiced Pear" are on the high end but we concluded you pay for "the experience" too and not only the food. Breakfast was included and delicious.
I LOVED my stay at The Chanler and it was very special. I would recommend it to all who want a beautiful romantic room and nice dinner. I thought it was great during the winter season.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2007

Absolutely Beautiful!

The room was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Peonies and Ivy Room. When we arrived the staff was very pleasant, brought us through a garden walk way to our private entrance of our room. It was a perfect weekend with weather and a perfect location. We walked the cliff walk- right outside The Chanler... walked to dinner. Our room was elegant and special, because of the theme. It wouldn't be how I would choose to decorate my house, but it was very classic. The valet service was very prompt and friendly.

The ONLY complaint I have is with the restaurant. We ate lunch there, it was not busy and it took 1 hour and 45 minutes for us to get our food. The staff was rude, inattentive and not professional. Table around us were served there food, finished eating and left before we got our food and the 2 of us were there first!

I LOVE The Chanler, but not the Spiced Pear. Luckily, there are many fine restaurants in the area.

Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Classy
  • Disliked — The Spiced Pear
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mcotter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

The rooms are fantastic--some are opulent even. Fine bedding, spotlessly clean, jacuzzi tubs, stunning views. The grounds are smaller than they look in photos but are well kept and beautiful. Do spend time relaxing in an Adirondak, watching the ocean. I could go on and on about the grounds and the rooms. I wouldn't agree with the previous guest that the rooms are faded--in fact, I adamantly disagree with this assessment.

However, like others I found the service to be spotty. The service is gracious--the staff sincerely tries to be helpful and work quite hard--however, for the most, they lacking training in proper hospitality service and in the touches that should be customary for the class of hotel to which the Chanler aspires. That said, both Paul and Casey were service standouts during our visit. Paul welcomed us and other guests to the hotel with a glass of sparkling wine!

From environment to menu, the Spiced Pear is past its prime and living in the afterglow of the prior, widely-acclaimed chef. My husband and I are foodies. We will and do pay exorbitant amounts of fine dining. At the Spiced Pear, we felt ripped off. There is a significant disjuncture between the quality of the food and its price. My mind is still reeling that they charge $65 for a serving of beef tenderloin--even if it is organic. I could order an entree at Daniel in New York city or Kinkead's in Washington, DC for a fraction of that price that would bring tears to my eyes. Many of the dishes on the menu are bizarre concoctions. Do you really need to deep fry fois gras like a chicken drumstick?! The food is too tarted up. The kitchen aims too high and fails. The owners would be well served to switch to a more modest menu--perhaps basic bistro food--that is more in line with
the kitchen's talents.

The restaurant service is also unprofessional: a very expensive bottle of wine was not opened table side, meals were served on the left and right side, as the mood struck our server. Our party of 2 was sat at a table that could have easily accommodated 6 or 8 diners, a party of four sitting nearby was dining at a table that could have sat 10 people. So much for cozy dinner conversation! If I was dining at a less formal more expensive place, these would not have been issues. But when paying fine dining prices ($400 for dinner for 2), I expect fine dining service and environs.

In sum, the setting makes it worth taking a chance on for future travelers. But expect to be frustrated and make dinner reservations elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clarinistica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2007

We were disappointed in the chanler. first there was a wedding party in progress the day we arrived. it took over all the dining rooms & the bar at the hotel & meant room service took forever & was limited. no one bothered, during email exchanges about transport to the hotel, to advise us this was going to happen & that we'd need to make other eating arrangements. a small but important piece of information. the front of desk staff advised us on arrival that we'd have trouble making a booking anywhere decent in newport because of the jazz festival. another small but vital fact.

the wedding also meant that until 8pm a live band played & all through the hotel you could hear awful versions of pop songs like "soul man" ! also at any given moment 6 or so men were smoking cigars as they wandered around the lawns & the smell drifted everywhere.

it was all quiet by 9.30 & we wouldn't have minded & may even have felt good humoured about it if we'd been warned & had been able to get an evening meal.

our room was expensive, small & decorated without taste - far too much furniture. although it was clean the soft furnishings & drapes were faded & so it felt tired.

only a couple of the staff were pleasant & almost no one helpful.

the restaurant was awful - again faded fabric & no atmosphere & the food was poorly cooked.

the only thing that made the weekend work was the view from our balcony which was superb.

lastly, be careful, at times food & drink delivered to our room had a 20% service charge included & so if like us you didn't realise & added a gratuity you were effectively paying a 40% tip.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — lack of service & care
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

"We have stayed at many luxury hotels inthe United States and Europe". Our stay at the Chanler recently tops the list. It is a little gem in a beautiful setting on the water with beautiful gardens.. Our room was most comfortable with a view of the water. However, what really sets it apart is the staff. They consistently were available to handle all requests no matter how small. The Spiced Pear restaurant was a wonderful dining experience with creative meals beautifully presented. We did not have a car which was not a problem as the hotel is within easy walking distance of the downtown area and rides were available through the staff as needed. We checked out other hotels in Newport and found them to be in the same price range as the Chanler without the atmosphere or amenities. We have already booked our stay at the Chanler for next year.."

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Popsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

My husband surprised me with a weekend away for our anniversary/mothers day. The property and the room were gorgeous. The property is beautifully landscaping with huge lawns directly on the Cliff Walk with the ocean right there. The room was unreal with crystal chandeliers, a fireplace and the most beautiful bathroom ever! Flat screen TV to watch while enjoying a relaxing bubbles bath in the enourmous jacuzzi tub. The bedding was all silk and the bed itself was the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Our room, one of the moderately priced choices, overlooked the water and the beach where we were engaged 9 years prior. The Inn is the last property on the Cliff walk and conveniently located right on Memorial Drive. The staff was courteous and friendly. We had reservations one night at Tuckers Bistro (fabulous) and they drove us there and picked us up promptly when called. We enjoyed a spectacular Mother's day brunch at the Spiced Pear, which I would reccomend on it's own. It does help that is located in the Inn though. We also returned from dinner and enjoyed a couple of exotic cocktails at the bar in the Spiced Pear. We plan to return for another childless getaway in a couple of years. Tip- Ask for a tour of the other rooms at the Inn. Each one is themed and just as gorgeous as the next.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank capecodfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing