We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
729
81
31
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
81
31
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spiced pear car service cliff walk gothic room private hot tub ocean villa louis xvi greek revival english tudor glass of sparkling wine martha's vineyard block island my husband and i private courtyard beautiful hotel gas fireplace wet bar
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

In town on business, I decided to trust TripAdvisor's excellent ratings and I chose the Chanler. We booked online. We arrived after a long and harrowing drive through a snowstorm, to be greeted with much-needed glasses of sparkling wine, and an upgrade to one of their signature rooms. Sitting beside our private fireplace, unwinding after the long drive, my husband and I couldn't get over how lucky we felt.

The staff was ever helpful and courteous. The valets who parked our car were especially worth crediting, because they were so anxious to be of help, no matter what we needed. The house itself is cozy and perfectly located.

We dined at the restaurant the first night -- very nice meal, in a beautiful setting. We had room service the second night (didn't feel like venturing out on that cold night) and truly enjoyed our meal in the comfort of our suite. Breakfasts were delicious -- we indulged in eggs Benedict and their signature croissant sandwich with truffled scrambled eggs.

And the location? It's right on the Cliff Walk -- you can walk out the front door and head straight out along the sea. You couldn't ask for a better setting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docwatson_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at The Chanler at Cliff Walk after getting married at The Oceancliff Hotel in Newport the previous summer. Everything about our stay at The Chanler was just perfect- from the welcome we received at the front desk, our spectacular room, the womderful bar area, to waking up to an incredible view the next morning. I really cannot say enough wonderful things about this property- do yourself a favor and splurge to stay here because it truly is worth it!!!

Our guest room was stunning. The furnishings were so lavish and the bed was beyond comfortable. We had an incredible bathroom with a fabulous jacuzzi tub. They give you wonderful bubble bath to use for your stay, which we really appreciated as well. We had a large walk out balcony as well which we very much enjoyed. It had a beautiful view both in the evening and in the morning to watch the sun rise.

We loved the bar and restaurant at The Chanler. We enjoyed great cocktails and an appetizer before our dinner in the bar and the next morning we loved the breakfast the hotel offered. We had a beautiful table right by the window. Wow- what a view!!!!

Everything about our stay at The Chanler was perfect. While it is definitely a pricey destination, it is totally worth it!!! We will certainly be back. Thank you, Chanler, for a wonderful anniversary celebration!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillMSzcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Chanler at Cliff Walk in celebration of our anniversary. It is perfect in every way...from the moment you drive in the front entrance and a valet appears immediately and whisks your luggage to your room before you've finished at the front desk every service is consistently excellent. We stayed in the Briar Rose and loved it's privacy (and Jacuzzi) and the beautiful view from the Spiced Pear as we enjoyed breakfast each morning. There is no better location in Newport!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cttravelers_390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were thrilled with our room, the service and the restaurant. The staff was exceptional and did a great job of making our 25th Anniversary a very special occasion. The room (Renaissance) was beautiful, with a great view of the ocean and grounds. The location on the Cliff Walk is certainly a plus for those interested in Newport's mansions. The personalized ride service is also a wonderful plus for getting around Newport.

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme. The Renaissance and Empire rooms have great ocean views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I booked this trip for a surprise winter weekend get away for my fiances birthday..
We had a fantastic time. We stayed in the English Tudor suite. I had arranged upon booking (2 months prior) for a bath to be prepared with rose petals and surrounded with candles, while we were down at dinner... And I was very pleasantly surprised that they remembered without prompting. We truly enjoyed our stay. The service was fantastic and the cliff walk, which is just 10 steps away, is breath taking. The hotel has amazing views and must be even more amazing in the summertime. The restaurant is expensive since the food is good but not exceptional, but the service was great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews