We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This Hotel is in a great location with great views of the water. The rooms are all very different from French Provincial to Gothic . Canopy beds and heated tile floors in the bathroom in some of the rooms. We had both breakfast and Dinner at their restaurant, both were good ,service top shelf, would definitely go back.The staff were very accommodating and the Hotel courtesy Limo was a plus so you dont have to drink and drive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFJC32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed while visiting Newport. We just can't say enough about lovely this hotel is. The entire experience was exceptional from being greeted upon arrival through checkout. The room was just wonderful. We stayed in the Regency. It is beautiful, has heated floors in the bathroom as well as a tv and a multiple jet shower as well as a bathtub, a comfortable king-sized bed, and a fireplace. You can see the ocean from the room and it has a private porch as well. Just fabulous. The hotel is beautiful and right outside is Cliff Walk, a well known path along the ocean's edge for several miles. The staff is so helpful, particularly Stephanie, Dean and Katie. It's not cheap, but if you can, spend at least one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My 18 yr. old daughter and I had the pleasure of enjoying a 4 night stay at the Chanler to celebrate her graduation from high school. We stayed in the Martha Vineyard Ocean Villa for 2 nights and then switched to the English Trellis Garden Villa for the last two nights. (The MV room was not available the last two nights, so we knew when I made the reservation we would have to move.)

First of all let me say our stay was perfect timing. We arrived the day after Memorial Day and left Saturday morning before the weekend crowds. A darling college-aged staff member, in the hotel’s Land Rover greeted us at the PVD airport. He was so personable- which made the 30 minute trip delightful. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with champagne and soft drinks, and then escorted to our room along the way answering questions and pointing out the hotel details. Upon entering our villa, on the ground level there was a hot tub and steam room. Following the steps up, was our beautifully appointed room with a large King bed and working fireplace. The bathroom was awesome with an open shower with three showerheads and Jacuzzi tub.

As I began unpacking, I realized I failed to pick up one of our bags from the airport carrousel. (oh, my!!) I called the concierge and they immediately called the airport and had it sent over early the next morning. They took care of all the details; I never had to call the airport for anything. After we unpacked, I asked if we could look at some of the other rooms. We were cheerfully escorted to view 12 other rooms!! We had so much fun peeking into each of the different themed rooms, but I will have to say we hit the jackpot with the Martha’s Vineyard villa…the best as far as I’m concerned.

Anytime we needed a lift, they were happy to take us anywhere. The staff went out of their way meet our every wish.

We rented mopeds and toured the beautiful Ocean Drive stopping occasionally to take in the breathtaking views. The hotel packed a delicious lunch for us for a picnic. I would highly recommend this. We had a ball “mopedding” throughout the city.

We enjoyed touring The Breaker’s and The Marble House mansions. We agreed we preferred the Marble House because it offers audio tour rather than a guided tour. We would of like to have seen more, but just didn’t have time.

My daughter will be studying art in college, so we dropped by the local art supply store and bought paints, brushes, etc. I can still see her sitting at out desk painting away while over-looking the Atlantic Ocean …so surreal…one memory I will never forget. I hope to return one day! (this time with my hubby!)

Room Tip: Absolutely loved the outside villas overlooking the ocean was magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiekate18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

There is no better way to enjoy the Newport experience than by staying at The Chanler. The hotel will meet your every expectation from the moment you enter the hotel. Each and every staff member made us feel like we were the only guests. We stayed in the Victorian Room which was very well appointed and truly felt like we were living in one of the many "mansions" that Newport is known for. We ate in both the Spiced Pear and the less formal part of the restaurant and the meals were outstanding. The Chef created two incredible Vegan meals for my wife. There are several very nice hotels in Newport none that can provide you with the ocean views, proximity to Bellevue Avenue, over the top accommodations and best of all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at The Chanler as a part of a weeklong trip to New England. The greeting upon arrival included a glass of sparkling wine and an offer to make dinner reservations for us. We stayed in # 23 and very much enjoyed the Italian Renaissance decor, the deck and the view of the beach and the daily surfers. Dinner at the Spiced Pear was top notch. Cole, our waiter, took great care of us. The bar was classic and our bartender Maurice, took great care of us. The bell crew/drivers were very attentive and ready, willing, and able to drive us to and from our various destinations. This service allowed us to leave our car in the lot until we departed. An elevator, if possible, would allow disabled guests to access the beautiful accommodations more easily. Thanks for a great experience. We hope to return.

Room Tip: If affordable, a room in the back of the main bldg on an upper floor with a walk out deck would be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I recently had the pleasure of working with some of the most dedicated banquet staff members at The Chanler in Newport, RI while doing a wedding on Oct 5th. Kate, DJ, Jayson, Haley, David and the entire staff that made the event spectacular! Event was perfect and flawless. Still receiving compliments but I could not have done it without the staff. Jayson your personally is the best! Wedding was perfect stated the Bride and Groom!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited the Chanler as a couple over a year ago and stayed in the "Martha's Vineyard Villa"...one word "FABULOUS"! From the moment we entered the villa, it felt as though we had escaped to another place in time. Period antiques, a lovely "grotto" area complete with sauna and large hot tub (fluffy robes and towels too).
The bathroom is a room all on its own...Huge walk in shower, deep sunken Jacuzzi tub and heated floors. I could have a vacation in the bathroom and be a happy person! The view is second to none: The Ocean! Breakfast out on the terrace area is such a wonderful experience.
The Spiced Pear restaurant is wonderful as well. The service is five star.
We loved it at the Chanler so much that we just had our wedding ceremony and reception there in September of 2013. Our guests were so impressed with the venue and the food was incredible.
As for the rooms, you pretty much get what you pay for...we tried one of the less expensive rooms(Ivy Trellis) and were not as pleased. It was situated adjacent to the garbage area and we could get "wind" of the trash every ocean breeze...no view either, but considerably less expensive. If you want the "Chanler Experience", one of these rooms will still allow you to enjoy the lovely premises. If you are traveling to Newport, Rhode Island, you must make the Chanler your destination for rest and relaxation..."Beauty of the Cliff Walk"..

Room Tip: The ocean villas have the best views and room quality. Spiced Pear should be a dinner choice during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,067 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £278 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing