We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, but with room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, but with room for improvement”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My partner and I decided on a last minute trip to Newport, RI right before Thanksgiving and stayed at The Chanler at Cliff Walk for three nights. We stayed in the Regency room. The room is indeed very elegant, and the fireplace is a huge plus, especially since it was really cold during those three nights of stay. The staff was very nice, courteous, and helpful. The location was perfect, as it's minutes away by car from the three mansions that were decorated for the Christmas (The Breakers, The Elms, and Marble House). It's also close to the wharf and downtown, where one can visit a variety of boutique shops. We paid an extra $10 per person to our room rate so that we can have breakfast included in our package. I highly recommend this as breakfast for two came out to be an average of $40+ if you were to pay out of your own pocket. We had dinner at Spiced Pear on one of the evenings. I wouldn't say it's our best meal, but it was almost up there with some of the other fine dining that I've had the opportunity to enjoy to date.

To sum it up, overall for us, the pros and cons are:

Pros:

1. Location - see above.

2. The service - in particular, I would like to recognize three individuals for their "above and beyond" level of service - Paula, who makes you feel at home with her warm smile, and who also brought us the delicious dessert from the restaurant on the first night of our stay. Andrew, who took care of us when we dined at the Spiced Pear. He was particularly patient with our questions regarding the tasting menu. And last, but not least, Dean, one of the valets that helped us park or get our car. He was always cheerful and spirited. His demeanor made you feel at home.


Cons:

1. The walls of the room are thin. You can hear the plumbing in the other room(s) and because they were doing some renovations work in the room directly above us, we can hear people talking and walking on the patio right above our room in the early morning.

2. The temperature knob for the shower was hard to operate. You had to use a bit more strength than should be necessary to adjust the temperature of the water.

3. The bathroom floor tiles weren't really warming up as much despite turning up the dial to the warmest setting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYC_LeisureTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    65
    28
    16
    17
See reviews for
77
526
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chanler for 2 nights in the Martha's Vineyard room overlooking the ocean. Despite the cold season, the staff was warm, inviting and extremely professional. The breakfast options were many and each was delicious. The complimentary chauffeur service made going out for dinner extremely convenient, and the restaurant recommendations were spot on. The room was cozy, clean, and had all the extra like a s'mores kit and nightly treats with the turndown service. A wonderful experience all round.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DivineMissEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Only had one night here but the Chanler was just beautiful. The building, the location and the welcome when we walked in was lovely. They add the personal touches like notes in your room and a turn down service when they knew we were in the restaurant. It's not a cheap hotel to stay in but definitely worth the money.
We also dined at the spiced pear restaurant and the food was amazing. Both of us enjoyed our food with top notch service, then relaxed in the bar for a while. Just a lovely experience topped of with a walk not he cliff walk in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I absolutely LOVE The Chanler and all of it's themed rooms! We first chose this beautiful inn as the location for our honeymoon and have traveled back every year on our anniversary to stay in a different room! Our favorite rooms, by far, are the English Tudor and the Gothic. We have yet to stay at any of the Ocean Villas with the outdoor private hot tubs and saunas because our anniversary is in November.

The Spiced Pear restaurant has wonderful food for dinner, but the breakfasts are to die for!!

While the stays are always expensive, it is worth it, clearly, because we keep coming back!!

Room Tip: The English Tudor and Gothic rooms have been our favorite! Both are similar to one another with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indreams07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Recently stayed with my wife for an anniversary celebration. The Chanler is absolutely beautiful with manicured grounds for a real luxurious stay. Staff was excellent, extremely attentive and focused on providing the very best stay. Based on the cost of the stay, you would really expect the very best and even more. What really put The Chanler in an elite status in my own opinion was dinner at their own restaurant, The Spiced Pear. The food was beyond amazing and maybe one of the top 3 meals I have EVER had. My only regret was the room we stayed in wsa the only one available as the rooms facing the water look like they would have made our stay an absolute 10. But the Tudor Room we stayed in was beautiful, strong wood characteristics and not as "pretty" as I am sure some of the other rooms. But just a really nice stay.

Room Tip: The Tudor Room is not on the water side, is great if you require a large room and the shower is wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This Hotel is in a great location with great views of the water. The rooms are all very different from French Provincial to Gothic . Canopy beds and heated tile floors in the bathroom in some of the rooms. We had both breakfast and Dinner at their restaurant, both were good ,service top shelf, would definitely go back.The staff were very accommodating and the Hotel courtesy Limo was a plus so you dont have to drink and drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFJC32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed while visiting Newport. We just can't say enough about lovely this hotel is. The entire experience was exceptional from being greeted upon arrival through checkout. The room was just wonderful. We stayed in the Regency. It is beautiful, has heated floors in the bathroom as well as a tv and a multiple jet shower as well as a bathtub, a comfortable king-sized bed, and a fireplace. You can see the ocean from the room and it has a private porch as well. Just fabulous. The hotel is beautiful and right outside is Cliff Walk, a well known path along the ocean's edge for several miles. The staff is so helpful, particularly Stephanie, Dean and Katie. It's not cheap, but if you can, spend at least one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing