We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast and Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We once stopped by for drinks in a previous visit to Newport, and really enjoyed ourselves at the bar and this wonderful setting; therefore, we decided to comeback for breakfast, our favorite meal. They did an outstanding job, as the service was excellent. I called to make a reservation, as it was my fiances birthday (her wish) - asked for a end window table and have mimosas ready - well, they had both ready for us when we got there - just real nice. The food was outstanding as was the service. The atmosphere, with view, can't be beat. A great experience. Afterwards, we strolled along the Cliff Walk, which makes a great combination!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We've stayed at the Chanler a number of times in the past when we've visited Newport. What can I say? It is always absolutely perfect. I always search immediately for the generous package of yummy cookies or other goodies that await us in the room when we first get there. The coffee is about the best I've had in the United States (we didn't want to use the automatic coffee machine in the room, and the receptionist sweetly brought real coffee up). The complimentary limousine service is a plus. Breakfast, inside or out, looking out over the Cliff Walk, the ocean and the nearby public beach, is always delicious. We love trying different rooms because they are all so interesting.

Room Tip: Every one is special, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is such a top notch hotel. Can't say enough about it. Our room on the third floor was (the Georgian) exceptional. Décor was just lovely. So clean. Room made up in the morning. Showers had to be taken after long day walking around Newport. What a surprise, came back after dinner and new towels replaced the used ones, bed turned down and the loveliest chocolates placed on the bed. What attention to detail!!!! Staff, professional, knowledgeable, yet so warm and friendly.
We had dinner one night at the Spiced Pear. Lucky us, our waiter was a very nice young man named Cole. Cole is definitely an asset to the Chandler, hope they know that. He was so professional, knew his wine list and the menu, and yet was so warm and friendly. What a guy!!
Also had the pleasure of meeting Chef Tom. It was such a treat to have a few minutes to talk with him. His dishes rise to the level of artwork.
this is our second time at the Chandler. It is well worth the price and we hope to be there again next May.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room at this hotel. Have been in the Williamsburg on second floor, and Georgian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myzoey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed for two nights. Treated by everyone like royalty. The view was beautiful. The room was fantastic. The service was a 10! The spiced pear restaurant was delicious. The entire stay was total relaxation. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmoon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Chanler is beautiful and welcoming from the moment you arrive. It is the perfect location for all of life's special moments as well as all the little every days in between. To cozy up in front of our fireplace while snow flurried outside, or dine on delicious beautifully prepared meals as we gazed out at the water and pretty lawns made our anniversary so special and a big birthday all better. The staff are warm and friendly as they are professional and helpful. Surrounded in elegance, you truly feel at home. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Each room has a different yet elegant theme. It is fun to choose ! Rooms are quiet and have wet bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litwit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Chanler is everything one could want in a boutique hotel. It's beautiful, the location is breath taking and the staff is more than accommodating. They offer all kinds of services, the car transportation to and from attractions was most useful. We never had to worry about parking. The rooms are all themed, clean and beautifully decorated. Sooooo romantic! My husband and I went for our anniversary with a special package including dinner at their restaurant, The Spiced Pear; very rich and tasty food. They greeted us at check-in with champagne. The hotel is right on the water and is at the beginning of Newport's cliff walk. A lot of the historic mansions are accessible for this walk. The whole trip was enchanting. If you have the means, I highly recommend!

Room Tip: They're all gorgeous from what I've seen! One of the rooms I believe has a hot tub out on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We wanted to do something special with our family after Thanksgiving dinner together. We decided to spend the night at Chanler and to check out the mansions in Newport the next day. We were not disappointed. Even though we were hit with a cold spell, it was still a wonderful experience...including the bar menu for evening snacks at Chanler and the superb breakfast the next morning.

A little about the rooms...not every room opens to the inside of the hotel. We booked three rooms and knew that one of the rooms had an exterior entrance. It turns out two of them did...not sure if that information was lacking on the room information or we just overlooked it. On a cold day it is definitely nicer to exit your room into a warm hall.

The views were great, but the service was even better. Everyone from the front desk, to valet to dining staff and management were outstanding and very responsive, trying to anticipate all of our needs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,168 reviews
1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#8 of 21 in Newport
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £261 - £733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing