We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Nearby Hotels
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$452
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$594
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$395
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$606
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$408
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
684
74
29
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
74
29
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiced pearcar servicecliff walkgothic roomocean villasprivate hot tublouis xvigreek revivalenglish tudormartha's vineyardheated floorsromantic hotelblock islandocean frontmy husband and iprivate courtyardglass of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Choosing the Chanler at Cliff Walk was definately the right choice!
Our Room was Incredible! We loved the private courtyard, and all of its beauty as we went up the stairs to the Breathtaking View of the Ocean from "our room". Called Housekeeping, and she was at our door within minutes; just Wonderful! Front Desk Staff is Phenominal;Very Attentive,and Upbeat.
Amenity of the car was Awesome, and Very Welcomed. The drivers are all very nice.
Dinner at the Spiced Pear Outstanding. Cole, was our Server; Ultimate in Professionalism.
Thank You to Halie and to Christine,for adding So Much Happiness to Our Special Celebration!
Newport is Beautiful & Very Special to us. We look forward to our next stay at The Chanler at Cliff Walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SDG896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My thanks to the staff at The Chanler for accommodating us in our last minute plan for my birthday
Our stay was perfect. Our room was beautifully appointed and the shower was massive and built for two.
Great location and manicured grounds.
Don't miss dinner at the Spiced Pear

Room Tip: We used the website to compare rooms and it worked out really well. My guess is you can't miss
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank caryn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I haven't really eaten here, apart from some snacks, but I strongly recommend the place. Wonderful atmosphere. Great place to have some wine and other drinks and to just sit with friends looking out over the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alchemy1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've reviewed the Chanler before. It again met all of our expectations. It is a beautiful place to stay, and the staff is delightful. We've had several visits here, and always see the same staff members, which shows that the Chanler is a good place to work.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and different. We stayed this time in the Victorian Room, which had wonderful views of the Cliff Walk, the ocean, and the lovely lawns at the hotel. The bathroom is really pretty and has a nice make-up area. The Victorian is one of the smaller rooms, but we were very comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I were very excited when we reserved what we thought would be the best hotel in Newport. Newport is certainly a delight. It is well preserved, authentic and lovely place to visit. We, certainly, plan to be back in near future to Newport. Unfortunately, we are not planning to stay at this hotel. The rooms are nicely refurbished and do reflect the flavor that you expect from an authentic boutique hotel. Reception and the porters were also very helpful and accomodating. The restaurant, on the other hand, was not inviting at all. If we were to have fine dining we were not allowed to sit outside; although the weather was marvellous. The outside dining was only allowed for fast food (or bistro type) dining. Therefore, we prefered not to have dinner at the hotel and went to the harbor where we enjoyed a beautiful scenery and reasonably good food in the open air. After returning to the hotel shortly before 11.00 pm, the restaurant was practically closed and we had to struggle to get a coffee. Not good; not what you would expect from an "extremely expensive" hotel by any standards. The morning was an additional dissappoinment. The breakfast did not offer many choices; furthermore, both the service and the quality of the food was mediocre. I think the hotel deserves a management that is well experienced with international service standards. It is a pity since the location is exceptional.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank ErdalKaramercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews