We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, service, service!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Service, service, service!!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

From the second we pulled in the driveway, when the bell boys came running out we were treated with royalty. Clean rooms, modern decor, great views right at the beginning of the cliff walk. Our Greek Revival Room was perfect with a deck that viewed the ocean below. This my friends is royalty and if you can afford it, enjoy it. This is 1st class!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trafficman968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    67
    28
    16
    17
See reviews for
80
531
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Went here with my sisters for a special evening after a lovely stay in Newport. We discovered the Chanler at the end of our Cliff walk, and decided right there and then we had to go, no matter what the cost. The food, the view, the drinks, the desserts, and the hydrangeas all amazing. Everything was exceptional as expected. It was an amazing end to a perfect week, and we felt like the rich and privileged of the early 1900's. Even the restroom was a gorgeous site to behold. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58CCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The Chanler was a beautiful hotel. As soon as you drive up the views are breath taking. The staff was friendly and couldn't do enough. The Spiced Pear was a very nice restaurant. However our favorite was having lunch outside sitting on a couch!! We will definitely go back!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl-Tom0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Choosing the Chanler at Cliff Walk was definately the right choice!
Our Room was Incredible! We loved the private courtyard, and all of its beauty as we went up the stairs to the Breathtaking View of the Ocean from "our room". Called Housekeeping, and she was at our door within minutes; just Wonderful! Front Desk Staff is Phenominal;Very Attentive,and Upbeat.
Amenity of the car was Awesome, and Very Welcomed. The drivers are all very nice.
Dinner at the Spiced Pear Outstanding. Cole, was our Server; Ultimate in Professionalism.
Thank You to Halie and to Christine,for adding So Much Happiness to Our Special Celebration!
Newport is Beautiful & Very Special to us. We look forward to our next stay at The Chanler at Cliff Walk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDG896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My thanks to the staff at The Chanler for accommodating us in our last minute plan for my birthday
Our stay was perfect. Our room was beautifully appointed and the shower was massive and built for two.
Great location and manicured grounds.
Don't miss dinner at the Spiced Pear

Room Tip: We used the website to compare rooms and it worked out really well. My guess is you can't miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caryn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I haven't really eaten here, apart from some snacks, but I strongly recommend the place. Wonderful atmosphere. Great place to have some wine and other drinks and to just sit with friends looking out over the bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alchemy1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've reviewed the Chanler before. It again met all of our expectations. It is a beautiful place to stay, and the staff is delightful. We've had several visits here, and always see the same staff members, which shows that the Chanler is a good place to work.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and different. We stayed this time in the Victorian Room, which had won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing