We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

As a Wyndham owner, I've had my eye on the waterfront rental for two years before it was available on dates my family had to travel. It was Easter weekend and I was concerned it would be understaffed but it was everything I expected from a Wyndham property. Being in an unfamiliar area, I was comforted by the 'visibility' of staff and security during our stay. We had the most beautiful view of the piers from our unit. The rooftop view was amazing as well. Our unit was very clean and more than comfortable. We enjoyed the rooms but our main goal in traveling is to experience the area not stay in the rooms. It was a short walk to entertainment, dining and shopping. The "Rescue our Harbor" tour docks right at the building and offers an excellent tour. We also purchased lobsters right from the harbor next door. We were extremely pleased and would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — the proximity to local entertainment, dining and shopping
  • Disliked — no actual oven in the unit we used
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    56
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
33
63
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mims
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a clean and well appointed resort. the views were awesome and the location was perfect. The desk staff were professional, friendly and helpful. the only complaint we had was the WIFI, which was very poor. This was a good value for us.

Green Features: They operate a GREEN hotel, which was good to be a part of.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

a little small but was a pretty unit the views were amazing, watching the boats come and go. Went in December just before Christmas snowing and all, it was nice walking distance to most everything. going back in June got a sneak preview really looking forward to going back, but staying somewhere else. Couldn't beat the area! we're still talking about The Inn, would go again !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blooclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent spring break in the newly renovated towers. What an amazing experience. The room was amazing...granite counters, garden tub, beautiful views of the harbor. We barely left the resort. Cinema movies daily, indoor/outdoor pool, beautiful workout room, gas grills. Fantastic. Walking distance to all Newport attentions. A jem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhuff07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here the end of October. The room was a corner room (458) with beautiful views of the harbor from 2 directions. Although the "kitchen" consists of a small 2 burner counter top, full size fridge and no counter space, the rest of the room was very nice. One of the best features of this hotel is the free parking in downtown Newport. (This is non-exitistant and they charge a large amount to park in the local lots). There are numerous restaurants and shops within 2 to 3 blocks. Make sure to ask for this location as the other location in Newport has no views of the harbor. A tip for those that love LOBSTA. Go to the fish and lobster market on Bowens Wharf and buy one fresh. They will cook it for you and you can take it back to your room and enjoy. My wife had a 2 pounder (The whole lobster) for $35. Best local restaurant is the Brick Alley Pub, but be prepared for large crowds as all the locals eat there.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room. They end with 58, such as 358,458,558.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StThomasSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at Wyndham INN ON LONG WHARF which is next to Wyndham Long Wharf. I can tell you now, THE VIEW from our room made our trip spectacular! To get up in the morning and see the glistening water in our face and then at night watch the sunset, which you have to see to believe, is something that nothing else can compare to. The condo was clean, plenty spacious for my husband and I, with everything you could want. Its newly redone so everything was new. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and movie theatre at the Wyndham next door which they share. Stay here, and TRUST ME, you will love it! You can also walk to Thames Street one block up the street for shopping and restaurants !

  • Liked — View !
  • Disliked — The water could have been warmer in the indoor pool after I requested it.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monicajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The filthy windows were probably the best part of our room. They prevented the sun light from showing the true extent and depth of the stains all over the carpet.
The door opened and we were slapped with the stink of 4 day old Halibut mixed with kitty litter. We immediately went to open windows- good news-one of the windows actually opened!
I thought I recognized the couch, yes, its the one we had in the frat house in 1982. Its faded a bit since then, but I'm sure its the same one. I don't want to wander toward one thought of the tales this couch could tell.
Sheets were stained, blanket unwashed. They should have handed us Hazmat suits at the desk.
Back door to parking lot is unlocked. Sharp pieces of thick copper wire on the ground in back parking lot-someone's going home with a flat tire.
We were late for where we had to get so we did not have time to go back for another room. Last night we got in late so decided to rough it and ask for a new room today. nahhh, were just going home. I'll pay the $220 just to be released.
Fantastic location and the rooms are a great size....great place for a bachelor party, just don't sleep here

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnhaddadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We apologize for the cleanliness and odor issues you encountered in your unit. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with this matter. Our goal is to have our resorts up to each guest’s standards and your feedback will help us to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Property: Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf
Address: 142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#4 Green Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham On Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing