We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for Lunch or Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lobster Bar

The Lobster Bar
Ranked #46 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot for Lunch or Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a wonderful dinner on the deck in June with a great view of the sunset. The next day, we enjoyed lunch at the bar and watched a World Cup soccer game. Food and service are excellent . Casual and very open.....inside is not much different than outside so bring a jacket in cooler weather.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    188
    81
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tourist trap/WAY overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I rated "poor" mainly because of the horrible service and overpriced menu. Yes, it's gorgeous to sit outside overlooking the water, but you sure do pay for that view. The steamers were outstanding, but $19??? wow. Our waitress was very young, and must have been her first job cause the service was terrible. I would not return to this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great view, delicious hot lobster roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Watched a lobster boat pull up alongside the restaurant, full of lobsters which got brought immediately inside! How cool! Totally casual, great view on the water, watching sailboats, dinghies, and mega yachts go by... Hubby got a lobster dinner, I had lobster roll -- both great.

Helpful?
Thank Caren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is awesome. It's right inside a huge football field length building filled with lobster tanks. You can get any size lobster you want. They're fresh right from the ocean and cooked to perfection. I got a 3 lb steamed beauty. Couldn't have asked for a better meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Casual and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a convenient yet very scenic bar/lounge that is perfect for a quick cocktail and appetizer. Had a great time and our servers were great

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank oceanfun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing