We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and views”
Review of The Lobster Bar

The Lobster Bar
Ranked #43 of 233 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is right on the dock, and has a fish market that's been there for many years. It's a great atmosphere for a seafood restaurant, there's a big bar, lots of outdoor seating, and pretty much all of their tables have a nice view given that it's really right on the dock. The food is excellent, last time we were there we split the lobster bisque and lobster fritters for lunch and that was plenty for the two of us. The lobster bisque has tons of huge chunks of lobster meat, I've never seen anything like it. This place is expensive, but it's really good and you can't beat the location. The service was excellent too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    189
    81
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best Hot Lobster Roll Ever!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you're looking for the best hot lobster roll of your life, go here!!!

My friend and I shared the steamers, and then each had a hot lobster roll, as well as imbibing it the delicious Dark & Stormy (ginger beer with rum) - the weather outside made it very appropriate to be drinking a Dark & Stormy but my belly was full of sunshine by the time we left! One of the most satisfying meals of my life.

Friendly staff who let us chill there as long as we wanted to without bothering us to leave.

Love this place!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went there for dinner on a weekday this summer and the place was packed. Our request for an outdoor seating took 20 minutes and it was nice to have dinner by the water, watching sunset. Just wish that they included the option of serving salad/fries etc along with the sandwiches, than just serving potato chips. That said, I'd go there again and again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vikas248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go There!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had lunch , delicious fried belly clam roll, Husband 1/2 dozen fresh clams and Clam chowder, sooo good!
Service great, busy place with lots of fresh lobsters being delivered and weighed, fun to see the really big ones!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Ct
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What A Great Place”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stopped here for lunch with my wife and we shared the Calamari App it was so GOOD lightly battered and full of flavor. I had the lobster Burger and it too was full of flavor, a nice thick patty with chunks of lobster meat on top (sounds like a strange combo but well worth it). give it a try you will not be disappointed. My wife had the hot lobster roll and this too had chunks of lobster and very tasty. We sat right in the middle of the dock and were able to see all the boats coming & going.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilatti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing