We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable evening dinner ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malt

Malt
Ranked #26 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening dinner ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Good atmosphere. Great service, our server was friendly and was very knowledgeable about menu and made great recommendations. Variety of food and beer for all of our party to enjoy. Overall good experience, will go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank chops9967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    70
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
135 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellence on Broadway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A little bit off the beaten Newport path, Malt is a great find. An excellent selection of draft beer and many good wine choices as well as specialty drinks. The Moscow Mule is served in a traditional copper mug. The shrimp nachos and calamari are great, you'll want some bread to sop up the sauce. Fish and chips were lightly battered, crunch and tasty. The Malt burger cooked to a juicy medium rare as requested (so many restaurants don't get this concept). The creme brulee was the perfect consistency. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food, pet can sit with us outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The best place for great-tasting food so far while researching Newport's dog-friendly restaurant options. The staff was very friendly and helpful. But the seating outside is a bit cramped and, unfortunately, the area underneath our table had some tar-like substance. Luckily, we had brought a beach towel for our dog to lay on so only that got ruined, not all over him. Unfortunately, my purse was under the table, which then left a huge black stain on my car seat, which took some serious internet research to figure out how to get it off both. The beach towel was ruined. The food, drink selection, and staff were so good, though, that we'll likely be back, anyway, just bring something disposable to lay under the table for our dog. Yes, the food was that good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WithMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredibly cozy with sublime elegance, superb food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Salad of mixed greens with bacon infused dressing sounded heavy, but was perfectly dressed and heavenly. Steak frites was flavorful, juicy, and tender, French fries that were crispy and ? Cooked in or with truffle oil were to die for. Cocktails enjoyed by all. Around the corner from the Firehouse Theater.
Would love to go back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLouise65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown RI USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Recently went to Malt run by Tommy the Irish man! friendly staff and great food , late night snacks as well once the kitchen is closed.
A must when visiting Newport

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ingrid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malt also viewed

 

Been to Malt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing