We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, accomodations, and welcome.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea
Ranked #58 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Weston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, accomodations, and welcome.”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

What a find! We were looking for a last minute getaway and found this charming Inn that has just opened. We were thrilled with every aspect of our stay. In fact, I am still full from the pre-dinner appetizers and breakfast the following morning.

The hosts are warm and welcoming. The rooms are lovely. The views and the sound of the waves are breathtaking. If you have a choice, request the room with the balcony. It truly is spectacular.

My wife and I both look forward to our return visit very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife booked this remarkable "Cottage" for a birthday getaway and we cannot express enough what a remarkable time we had. First, prior to our visit, Jennie, (our hostess and owner of the inn with her husband Stuart) made sure that they had our favorite cocktails on hand and very considerately made sure to inquire of any food allergies. When we arrived and stepped inside, we were greeted by the spectacular view of the ocean as the cottage is literally on the water overlooking First Beach in Newport. The spread of hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon were so delicious and varied and they delivered them to our room which had a balcony that has to be seen to be believed. (Echoing the other reviewers, we ate a late dinner due to the hors d'oeurvres being so filling) The accomodations - words cannot do them justice. - beautifully appointed with a great library of books and the bathroom had either a tub for relaxing in or a modern oversized shower. Absolutely immaculate and spacious (with central a/c - very important as it was warm in Newport during our stay) We left the door to the balcony open at night and slept to the sound of the waves washing against the rocks. Stuart's special breakfast sandwiches were incredible, complimented by the fresh fruit and warm, fresh baked muffins. And the grounds are beautifully landscaped with a perfect size back yard which we are going to picnic in during our next trip. We have already made arrangements for next year to return and have been singing our praises of the Cottage to our friends - Jennie and Stuart are the epitome of gracious hosts - very kind and charming and we loved chatting with them during our stay. My wife and I agree that Five Stars is not enough!!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms - they overlook the ocean - Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahopac, new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

When we arrived, Jennie and Stuart welcomed us with trays of delicious hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. My husband and I were in Newport to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary and the Cliff Walk Cottage helped make it a most memorable occasion. (hopefully we will be back for our 49th). The view, amenities, and charm, not forgetting our host, Jennie and her warm, endearing personality, make this cottage a "keeper." MORE THAN 5 STARS!!!! Love you guys, P & E

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I just got back from a weekend at the Cliff Walk Cottage and can't stop talking about what a great time we had. Jennie and Stuart welcomed us with hors d'oeuvres as soon as we got there and saw to all our needs. The next morning breakfast on the patio overlooking the ocean was FABULOUS and so filling that when we went into town later that day all we could eat were appetizers. We were there celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and our hosts made sure we had everything we could possibly want including a champagne toast. The views from the deck overlooking the ocean and Cliff Walk were enhanced by the beauty of the Inn and the and quality of the accommodations. We highly recommend everyone visit this fantastic location and its gracious hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkWoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My son and I stayed at this B&B early last week for 2 days and it was wonderful. I stayed in the Cliff Walk suite and my son stayed in the Seaview room. We had traveled from westchester county, NY but "unwinding" was easily accomplished by the wonderful hor d'oerves and drinks served on the upper deck ! (a complementary open bar doesn't hurt!)
The bath accomodations were luxurious and had lovely organic products available. I slept like a baby to the sound of the ocean. Breakfast was also a lovely variety of pastry, yogurts and fruit spreads. My teenage son gobbled down his "eggs and canadian bacon on fresh croissant" and I enjoyed one as well! This B&B is very close to the beach, and has immediate access to the renowned cliff walk. The walk to shopping area wasn't bad either.
The hosts of this B&B are very hospitable and clearly pay attention to every detail. The food was wonderful, All in all, this new B&B is a fantastic "find" and the introductory prices won't last long!

Room Tip: the Cliff Walk suite was luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithh183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.1 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Middletown
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rhea's Inn by the Sea
Rhea's Inn by the Sea
#1 of 9 in Middletown
64 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#25 of 95 in Newport
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea

Property: Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea
Address: 20 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3627
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea is the only bed and breakfast in Newport, Rhode Island located directly on the Atlantic Ocean and the famed Cliff Walk, affording unobstructed, sweeping dramatic views across Easton’s Bay, and, as the locals call it, "First Beach." On a clear day, you can see Gay Head (Martha’s Vineyard) and the Cliff Walk all the way up to The Breakers from its upper level. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing