We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hidden jewel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crow's Nest at Seamen's Church Institute
Ranked #54 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden jewel”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at crows nest for the Newport half marathon, and were pleasantly surprised to see the amazing location once we arrived. They are situated right in bowens wharf, near many great restaurants and bars. Shopping was everywhere...
The rooms were neat and cozy, beds were amazing. The only downside was sharing the bathrooms, but even that was not as much of an inconvenience as we thought. I loved that the building was full of history. Check out the chapel and the library....if you are looking for your standard hotel experience , this isn't it. No TVs, not many amenities, no little shampoos or hair dryers. This was much more a of a bed and breakfast type facility. Cute and unique.

We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomommat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I along with another couple, stayed at Crow's Nest to run in the United Healthcare 1/2 Marathon. We didn't know what to expect once we arrived, but the moment we entered Crow's Nest at Seamen's Church Institute, we were all taken away by it's charm. Instantly we all fell in love with the uniqueness of the Inn. The rooms are so comfortable and just filled with sweetness. The bathrooms are clean and large. It's location, which is in the heart of all the action in Newport was not only convenient but most of all, it was FUN! The staff were all friendly, professional, and accommodating to our needs. We all decided that not only are we returning next year to run in the race, but to stay at Crow's Nest as well! It was an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Don't forget to pack your blow-dryer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Right in the heart of Newport, the Crow's Nest & Seaman's Church Institute tie the modern hustle & bustle to its seafaring past. For a meal, the Aloha Cafe is inexpensive with indoor & outdoor self-serve dining. For lodging, the Crow's Nest rooms are clean and attractive - wood floors, nice linens, comfortable double bed with the sweetest little desk over looking the harbor in our room (#2.) The shared baths were super clean. Wifi available in rooms and common areas. The staff is very pleasant & helpful. I highly recommend Crow's Nest as a good value & great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport RI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Crow's nest the last weekend of the summer. The beds are new, comfortable and had excellent sheets and bedding; the towels were superior! I am all about quality linens especially at hotels. The place is immaculate! My husband said the shower was so clean you could lay down in it! I wear ear plugs so there was no issue with the noise outside and the air conditioner was a quiet purr. The room was fresh and pretty. I would highly recommend a stay here to anyone looking for a reasonable local place to stay.

More than comfort, you realize when you stay here that the purpose of Seaman's is to help those less fortunate. The connection to the sea is everywhere. It is moving to realize the courage it takes to be a seaman and the hardships families endure when the perils of the sea take lives. Who doesn't know someone who was lost at sea? The chapel is so beautiful.

This is a welcoming place to visit even if you are not looking for a room. You can feel the good karma here and the food in the cafe is outstanding! We had lunch in the little brick walled patio - the most reasonable price you could pay in Newport for a quiet garden lunch.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a pleasant night it was... After running around all day enjoying soulful jazz from 3 different stages, while observing Ramadan, I was very lucky my sister booked room #9 of seaman's Church for me. Comfortable room, nice ocean view, very peaceful with A/C on fingertips. Many bars & live clubs right along the harbor as extension of the NJF. I'll recommend Seaman's Church to anybody who can Dig it.... Best of Newport.

Room Tip: Take room # 9, high top on the corner, ocean view ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The rooms were amazing. Beautiful view of the ocean, a/c, and was so quite that you could hear beautiful sound of the ocean. The costumer service was FANTASTIC. Not to mention the amazing food they serve in this wonderful establishment. I would recommend this to anyone going to visit Newport. Whether its for the Jazz Festival or just for tourism

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdousene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Good -
Prime location , in the heart of downtown. You just step out of the door to an array of pubs, shops, & restaurants. Damn good place for the price, I payed $119 for a Saturday night, other hotels in the vicinity were over $200.

And the Not so Good -
The air conditioners take a bit of time to do what they are designed to do, if you are looking for an instant chill you might be disappointed. The bathroom is shared but clean and well maintained. Parking is a pain in Newport, wish they had their own parking area.

One more point: you are not allowed to drink or smoke

Overall - for the price a very decent place to stay for a night

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#17 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
0.2 mi away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#30 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#24 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crow's Nest at Seamen's Church Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow's Nest at Seamen's Church Institute

Property: Crow's Nest at Seamen's Church Institute
Address: 18 Market Sq, Newport, RI 02840-3035
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on America’s Cup Avenue at Bowen’s Wharf, the Crow’s Nest is central to everything in downtown Newport and offers an affordable alternative to local B&Bs. The inn occupies the third floor of the Seamen’s Church Institute, a National Register of Historic Places building. Although all guests are welcome, the non-profit Seamen’s mission is to provide a safe haven for men and women who make their living from the sea. The inn’s nine rooms and two shared baths are quaintly-decorated, clean and comfortable with in-season air conditioning, free WiFi and spectacular views of Newport Harbor, Trinity Church and the new Maya Lin designed Meeting Room. The building has an elevator and is completely ADA-accessible. Discounts available for mariners and military. All funds raised from the Crow's Nest goes back to Seamen's and the community. The Aloha Café on the ground floor is open daily from 7:30 am to 3:00 pm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing