We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be in Paris”

Restaurant Bouchard
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Bouchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Bouchard Restaurant, a warm relaxed ambiance and gracious welcome signals your arrival. The restaurant serves fine French cuisine in a 1785 Georgian-style house.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Could be in Paris”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

From the moment we walked in and were greeted in French we knew we were in for a special dinner.
Many choices. There were 4 of us and each enjoyed his dinner. I had stuffed lobster. No work and great taste.The service was perfect and not intrusive. Max, the Mait're De was amusing and informative. Good list of drinks and wines. This is neither an inexpensive nor a eat fast restaurant. If you enjoy gourmet dining and want a liesurely meal, go to Bouchard. You don't need a jacket but no one was wearing ripped jeans or T shirts.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    98
    39
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what a great little place!!!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

this was the first time visiting and what a treat. the food was great as well as the service and ambiance. if in newport, it is a must!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for special events”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Wife's birthday. The atmosphere and service were outstanding (especially relative to Tallulah) and the food was quite good (if not as surprising as Tallulah).

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A lovely evening with excellent food”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were here for dinner recently on a leisurely trip to Newport. The ambiance was lovely. It was quiet and you could really have a conversation. Thank you for that! The service was top notch and very friendly. We both had the veal, which was quite nice and done to perfection and the souffles were to die for. The rolls were heaven. My only complaint was that we got our cocktail and then then right away got our appetizers. I would like to have relaxed with my cocktail or at least been asked if I wanted the food right away. Otherwise, no complaints. I do with that they would enforce their jackets only policy. I really like the feel of a place that asks people to dress up a bit. It makes it a more special evening. Although I do understand why they do not make an issue of it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wandaMPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Food and service was outstanding. Very quaint and romantic.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Restaurant Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing