We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupidly Pretentious, But The Food Was Good.”

Restaurant Bouchard
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Bouchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Bouchard Restaurant, a warm relaxed ambiance and gracious welcome signals your arrival. The restaurant serves fine French cuisine in a 1785 Georgian-style house.
London
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Stupidly Pretentious, But The Food Was Good.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

.

Maybe we had a bad table? Move the curtains and you're looking at a carpark.

Maybe we were sat too close to the music speakers? Certainly the odd selection of music ruined conversation. As a result there was zero atmosphere. People seemed to eat in silence.

Was the food good? Yes, most of it was. But we ate far better food at The Spiced Pear.

What really irritated me? The waiters do a ridiculously pretentious stunt of pouring wine in to your glass whilst holding the carafe 3 feet up in the air. What's that about? As a result I had an expensive dinner shirt ruined by little spots of red wine splattered all down the front.

Nice but over-priced. I didn't tip - I saved the money to put towards my dry cleaning bill.
.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Serial_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    98
    39
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of our best dining experiences”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. We had brunch at Bouchard many, many years ago and after reading the wonderful reviews we decided we would like to celebrate our anniversary here. Unfortunately it wasn't that simple seeing as it was impossible to get a reservation even weeks before our arrival. To be fair though it was jazz festival weekend although we had no idea!! We put our names on the waiting list and hope for the best. When we didn't get a call we decided to take our chances anyway as we were eating later on in the evening and their other restaurant (revolving door) does not accept reservation so we could always wait for a table there. We lucked out after a bit of confusion and possibly because of the timing and the bad weather we were able to get a lovely table.

Our waiter was amazing and knowledgeable. His suggestions were thoughtful and he was remarkably experienced in traditional fine dining. We had a wonderful bottle of wine. Beet salad was good and both the fish Provençal and veal chop specials were cooked to perfection.

The raspberry sorbet and grand manier soufflé were also perfectly prepared.

The show stopper though was the fois gras. Seared and glazed traditionally french. The recommended Sauternes was complimentary to this dish and enhanced the flavors appropriately.

It has been quite awhile since we have had a fine dining experience. We were not disappointed and we truly impressed by every detail.

Helpful?
Thank Beachfamilybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Didn't blow us away ”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had high expectations. We actually went to sister restaurant for drinks and apps next door -the revolving door. Great draught options , nice bartender, and amazing clams! The restaurant was dull. Old fashion decorated. Tuna carpaccio was so so..horseradish filet was good but nothing to remember. Veal chop was good but again nothing special. Service was fine but boring

Helpful?
2 Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“There is a reason they are voted #1 in Newport.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went to Newport to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have been to Newport many times and eaten a several different restaurants. I wanted something different so checked the reviews on Trip Advisor. Checked the menu on-line and decided to give this place a chance. Wow. What a perfect find! We arrived early and had a drink in the wonderful little bar that is sort of inside but makes you feel like you are outside. Service was top notch from the moment we stepped inside the front door till we left. Food was outstanding. The inside of the restaurant is very romantic and classy. We mentioned to the bar tender when we ordered our drinks it was our anniversary. From then on everyone we encountered wished us a happy anniversary. They even delivered an after dinner complimentary glass of champagne to our table. It was a wonderful experience from start to finish and we are so glad we chose this restaurant over many others. It is pricey so be prepared for that. But in our opinion it was worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dining to perfection in Newport, RI”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband & I recently returned from a lovely vacation in Newport, RI. We love to eat good food and were rewarded by a wonderful experience at Restaurant Bouchard. It's already #1 with trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. We did not have a reservation and were happy to accept a last minute very small table on the sidewalk patio. The chef's wife, Sarah, came to our rescue and offered us a table indoors. What an evening!! The menu choices were awesome and the preparation was superb. I had lamb medallions and my husband had the duck. They were both excellent choices. The staff was marvelous and treated us royally. Sarah was a dear and took such care of us. Our meal ended with a gorgeous souffle. Wine choices were wonderful and chosen carefully with the help of our very capable waiter. This was definitely one of our finest dining experiences ever. Thank you Sarah and staff for your kind attention.
Be sure to think ahead and make a reservation for this fine establishment. You will not want to miss it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aztour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Restaurant Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing