We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with great presentation”

Restaurant Bouchard
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Bouchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Bouchard Restaurant, a warm relaxed ambiance and gracious welcome signals your arrival. The restaurant serves fine French cuisine in a 1785 Georgian-style house.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious food with great presentation”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband picked the restaurant because of it's ratings on Trip Advisor and I'm happy to write that our fellow Trip Advisor travelers were dead on! The restaurant is set in a historic building in the heart of Newport's entertainment district which gave us the chance to walk to the place. The restaurant is charming and the service was very nice. The staff understand the ambiance and expectation of their proprietor. The food was amazing. The combination of tastes and presentation made every bite brilliant. You'll spend more money but the meal was absolutely worth every penny. They offer a very nice wine list as well. Come hungry!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaK313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    95
    37
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, great service!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We ate 'outside' at the funky little bar, off the sidewalk, simply because we didn't want to wait for a table. The food was excellent. Very tasty salmon, and veggies with just the right amount of crunch. This is a very popular place, so make reservations...or eat at the bar, the service was great. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Stupidly Pretentious, But The Food Was Good.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

.

Maybe we had a bad table? Move the curtains and you're looking at a carpark.

Maybe we were sat too close to the music speakers? Certainly the odd selection of music ruined conversation. As a result there was zero atmosphere. People seemed to eat in silence.

Was the food good? Yes, most of it was. But we ate far better food at The Spiced Pear.

What really irritated me? The waiters do a ridiculously pretentious stunt of pouring wine in to your glass whilst holding the carafe 3 feet up in the air. What's that about? As a result I had an expensive dinner shirt ruined by little spots of red wine splattered all down the front.

Nice but over-priced. I didn't tip - I saved the money to put towards my dry cleaning bill.
.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Serial_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of our best dining experiences”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. We had brunch at Bouchard many, many years ago and after reading the wonderful reviews we decided we would like to celebrate our anniversary here. Unfortunately it wasn't that simple seeing as it was impossible to get a reservation even weeks before our arrival. To be fair though it was jazz festival weekend although we had no idea!! We put our names on the waiting list and hope for the best. When we didn't get a call we decided to take our chances anyway as we were eating later on in the evening and their other restaurant (revolving door) does not accept reservation so we could always wait for a table there. We lucked out after a bit of confusion and possibly because of the timing and the bad weather we were able to get a lovely table.

Our waiter was amazing and knowledgeable. His suggestions were thoughtful and he was remarkably experienced in traditional fine dining. We had a wonderful bottle of wine. Beet salad was good and both the fish Provençal and veal chop specials were cooked to perfection.

The raspberry sorbet and grand manier soufflé were also perfectly prepared.

The show stopper though was the fois gras. Seared and glazed traditionally french. The recommended Sauternes was complimentary to this dish and enhanced the flavors appropriately.

It has been quite awhile since we have had a fine dining experience. We were not disappointed and we truly impressed by every detail.

Helpful?
Thank Beachfamilybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
440 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Didn't blow us away ”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had high expectations. We actually went to sister restaurant for drinks and apps next door -the revolving door. Great draught options , nice bartender, and amazing clams! The restaurant was dull. Old fashion decorated. Tuna carpaccio was so so..horseradish filet was good but nothing to remember. Veal chop was good but again nothing special. Service was fine but boring

Helpful?
2 Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Restaurant Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing