We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“France on Thames Street Newport RI”

Restaurant Bouchard
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Bouchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Bouchard Restaurant, a warm relaxed ambiance and gracious welcome signals your arrival. The restaurant serves fine French cuisine in a 1785 Georgian-style house.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“France on Thames Street Newport RI”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The food and service here is first rate and excellent. One of my favorite restaurants!

If you have ever been to Paris France, Bouchard will take you back in time.

The French Continental Food is excellent. Small portions however great quality and preparation. Superb wine list and fantastic desserts made fresh daily. Order the souffle before your meal as it takes 45 min. to prepare but worth it especially if you like what is being featured.

It can be characterized as expensive so you will feel just like your in Paris.

If you have exceptional taste you will love this place as well as the ambiance!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antony359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    95
    37
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The #1 restaurant in Newport”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We cannot say enough positive adjectives about the delicious food we enjoyed at this restaurant. If you want the best meal in Newport, visit this establishment. The staff was excellent too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robind58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Deliciously elegant.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Best duck I have ever had.Partner had the pork entree and was moaning with delight.It is a French restaurant and Max our waiter was in a tux.They have a dress code so no shorts and flip flops.Little pricey,but worth it.My only complaint was we were given the worst table in the restaurant and we made reservations 2 weeks earlier through Open-table.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Budd199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the top Newport restaurants”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is an excellent restaurant and agree with the high ratings of most Tripadvisor reviewers. The only reason I did not give it full stars is that the ambiance is good, but not great, and I had a dish that was a bit dry---although still very good, it wasn't perfect. This was a few months ago so I can't remember exactly what it was I ordered. However, I still highly recommend this place. The 2 restaurants I would recommend more should you just have one restaurant to try are Spiced Pear (dressy, fine dining) and Tallulah on Thames (casual chic and whimsical).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlenejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We picked restaurant Bouchard to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed! The service was outstanding - even down to the salted butter for the beautifully warm rolls! The food was exquisitely presented and the flavors were amazing! It was definitely one of the best meals we have ever had. But the best part of the dining experience was the treatment from the staff! They were fun, sincere and made us feel very special for our anniversary celebration! We would highly recommend Bouchard restaurant to anyone visiting Newport.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ckennedy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Restaurant Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing