We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise on a cold winter night”

Lucia Italian Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Central Mass.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice surprise on a cold winter night”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We didn't expect to find a great little restaurant on the main drag, up a few stairs in an area with upstairs & downstairs businesses, but we did on one COLD December Saturday night recently. We got a table for 4, right around 6 p.m. (without a reservation), & before long, our drinks were delivered to the table along with a basket of the most delicious FRESH bread!!! Our meals were ALL delicious! Desserts were pretty good, too--we'll be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerCentralMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    95
    36
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
258 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Italian food ”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

RI has more Italian restaurants than any other kind. In that context, this one is OK but not much better than average. It was a quiet Sunday night so we were seated quickly. The bread is served warm but it's a light bread , no density. I had an OK mixed salad , and cheese ravioli with a meat sauce. The ravioli and sauce was tasty and I enjoyed it. My wife had manicotti with a marinara sauce. The sauce was somewhat thin with a lot of tomato pieces. There were not many meat dishes on the menu. We did not have desert so can't speak to that. Prices were reasonable and food OK just not memorable.

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet atmosphere, good food.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place is a up a few stairs from the street but once you go inside, the décor and atmosphere are very nice. It's small, cozy and quiet. I had the salad special of the day which didn't have the typical salad ingredients, and it was delicious. The pizza was very good as well. The bread wasn't anything to write home about. I'm not sure if they were short-handed that night, but the service was a bit slow. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delightful Pasta”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Unassuming entrance, you might even miss it, but it is worth finding. I had the farfalle in a white sauce with mushrooms and peas. It was delicately flavoured and very tasty. A bowl of freshly grated parmesan was placed on the table, which is really nice because you don't have to ask for a second helping. My friend had the manicotti, which she enjoyed too. We did feel a little rushed while having our coffee as people were coming in and we were close to the door. Our server was a little stiff, she could have been friendlier. Not sure if this is a Rhode Island thing, but everywhere we went, people were cold and unfriendly...... perhaps it is because it is the end of the summer season and they are tourist tired?? Too bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
152 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice Italian”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I tried to get an idea of the food here from reviews on Tripadvisor and Yelp, but was confounded by the usual dumb comments like 'bad service', 'frozen pizza' etc. As it turned out, the food was pretty good. The supermarket white-white Italian bread was the only bad part of our meal. Salads, fish, wine, and ravioli were above average. It helps a lot to see most of the clientele were Italian paying a return visit - always a good sign. Bottom line - don't expect a little bit of Rome in Newport and you won't go away dissatisfied or hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank West46th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucia Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lucia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing