We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our Italian dinner in Newport”

Lucia Italian Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 233 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Italian dinner in Newport”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Entrance to this restaurant is a little confusing because you go up a set of stairs and you can enter the restaurant through doors on both the right and left - same menu, same food, but not physically connected to one another.. we chose the right side since the left side had less seating available. Saturday night at the end of February vacation around 6pm and no wait - we considered ourselves quite fortunate. The best part of our evening was our entrees. We ordered the Spahghettie al Pesce (sphaghetti with shrimp, scallops, and green beans in a light saugce) and the Penne al sapore di Romagna (penne with sausage in a red sauce). Both were delicious, although I would say the portions were on the small side for the prices ($19.95 and $14.95 respectively). We both ordered side salads for $5.95 and felt the balsamic dressing was lacking in flavor. We were charged a few dollars for the extra sauce that I requested for my meal- although forewarned this extra charge seems unnecessary and reflects poorly on the restaurant. The service was attentive. The table was set with cloth linens. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAbelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    96
    36
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Probably the best meal I had in NPT...”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I know, the seafood in a RI coastal town is supposed to rule - but this is my favorite here. A traditional Italian restaurant, with some of the old-school dishes you rarely see anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No wait and very good food”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This restaurant is a bit out of the way as you have to climb a stairs off the street to reach it. There was no wait on a Saturday night when other restaurants had hour waits so we were wary, but we were not disappointed. Service was attentive but not intrusive. I had a gnocchi in a pink sauce and my companion had a chicken dish and we were both satisfied.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Mass.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice surprise on a cold winter night”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We didn't expect to find a great little restaurant on the main drag, up a few stairs in an area with upstairs & downstairs businesses, but we did on one COLD December Saturday night recently. We got a table for 4, right around 6 p.m. (without a reservation), & before long, our drinks were delivered to the table along with a basket of the most delicious FRESH bread!!! Our meals were ALL delicious! Desserts were pretty good, too--we'll be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerCentralMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
259 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Italian food ”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

RI has more Italian restaurants than any other kind. In that context, this one is OK but not much better than average. It was a quiet Sunday night so we were seated quickly. The bread is served warm but it's a light bread , no density. I had an OK mixed salad , and cheese ravioli with a meat sauce. The ravioli and sauce was tasty and I enjoyed it. My wife had manicotti with a marinara sauce. The sauce was somewhat thin with a lot of tomato pieces. There were not many meat dishes on the menu. We did not have desert so can't speak to that. Prices were reasonable and food OK just not memorable.

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucia Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lucia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing