We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to it's usual”

Mamma Luisa Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 235 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“not up to it's usual”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

we have been tomamma's several times over the last few years, we return because it has always been really Italian, not an american version. however on this visit we left feeling the food lacked it's finish and the service was friendly but not good, both with the order accurancy and it's execution. we were there in late september and it was not very busy, prehaps we just chose the wrong night. we will probably try again next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    112
    47
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Ambiance and Superb Flavors”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Having lived in Newport years ago, we decided to search for something new by meandering down Lower Thames Street and discovered Mamma Luisa's. Sitting upstairs, in our own corner of the candlelit room, we were pleased by both the ambiance...and even better, the menu. It was dificult selecting both antepasta and secondi. With a nice selection of half-bottles of wine, perfect for a weekday evening, we found a nice match for our meals. My clams over linguini with Mamma Luisa's spicy red sauce, and my wife's perfecly cooked and spiced fresh fish have ensured that we will go back to Mamma Luisa Restaurant the next time we are in Newport. Bravissimo! A delightful evening with wonderful service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOCALGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Newport”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Eight of us dined here at 5 pm, which is when they open, before the Italian aria opera concert that closes the Festa Italiana week each Columbus weekend. As always, the food and service were extraordinary. This gem is at the less traveled end of Thames Street, and it is a Newport treasure. Try the penne del pastore!

Helpful?
1 Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Everything about this place is excellent. It's in an old building along Thames street, a good walk from the main part of town, maybe 15 minutes. It is small with tables closely spaced, but fairly quiet if it's not crowded. Overall, it was very comfortable.

The food was outstanding, the best Italian we have had in years. We started with caprese bruchetta, which was great, but I wish we had ordered the regular caprese salad so I could have had more tomatoes and mozarella and less toast (which was good, but the bread they served was enough). My wife had veal scallopini (Picatini di Vitello). The veal was very tender and the artichokes, capers and lemon provided a fantastic flavor. Zucchini was served on the side. Don't know what they did to it but it was cooked perfectly, not the usual soggy pieces many places serve. I had the daily special pasta. It was a penne with an unbelievably delicious meatless sauce. I wanted to lick the plate. We also had a side of sauted spinach, more than enough for two people.

We split a fruit tarte. Just right after a pretty heavy meal.

The wine list is extensive, almost all Italian. The waiter recommended an Amarone called Palazzo della Torre at $45.00.

Afterward, we had a very pleasant evening walk back to the B&B.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Great meal"”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Found this place on this site while on a golf outing with a group of 12 guys.
We called the day before, Mon. and was able to get a reservation for our group the next evening (off season). In fact we got our own private dining room upstairs. The room felt like we were in an Italian villa. Service was excellent and so was the food. All of us enjoyed our experience there. If our group goes back to this area we will certainly try Mamma Luisa's again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazy4NYGiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Luisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Luisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing