We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasent Surprise”

Mamma Luisa Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasent Surprise”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Me and my husband just recently had a little get away to Newport, Road Island. When it was time for dinner we started searching for restaurants with vegetarian choices.Mamma Luisa's came up with some nice reviews so we wandered on down Thames street to check it out. To our surprise this cozy converted house was a fantastic authentic upscale Italian restaurant.The staff was very accommodating to find us a nice table without a reservation. ( If you go make one, the place was packed!) We sampled a couple of kinds of pasta, salads, dessert and wine. Everything was top notch, from the wait staff to the food.We notice how happy all the diners were too, complimenting all the food and service. This not a vegetarian restaurant, it just has many nice choices for someone who is. It seemed as if quite a few of the diners were locals, so for us that is always a plus too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Libby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    111
    45
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Itialian”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Best Italian Restaurant in Newport .Good food and good prices, plus great service what's not to like. Go you wont be sorry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFJC32013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“not up to it's usual”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

we have been tomamma's several times over the last few years, we return because it has always been really Italian, not an american version. however on this visit we left feeling the food lacked it's finish and the service was friendly but not good, both with the order accurancy and it's execution. we were there in late september and it was not very busy, prehaps we just chose the wrong night. we will probably try again next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Ambiance and Superb Flavors”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Having lived in Newport years ago, we decided to search for something new by meandering down Lower Thames Street and discovered Mamma Luisa's. Sitting upstairs, in our own corner of the candlelit room, we were pleased by both the ambiance...and even better, the menu. It was dificult selecting both antepasta and secondi. With a nice selection of half-bottles of wine, perfect for a weekday evening, we found a nice match for our meals. My clams over linguini with Mamma Luisa's spicy red sauce, and my wife's perfecly cooked and spiced fresh fish have ensured that we will go back to Mamma Luisa Restaurant the next time we are in Newport. Bravissimo! A delightful evening with wonderful service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SOCALGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
440 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Newport”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Eight of us dined here at 5 pm, which is when they open, before the Italian aria opera concert that closes the Festa Italiana week each Columbus weekend. As always, the food and service were extraordinary. This gem is at the less traveled end of Thames Street, and it is a Newport treasure. Try the penne del pastore!

Helpful?
1 Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Luisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Luisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing